We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moracea by Khao Lak Resort to your Saves list
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Taste of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Khao Lak Resort was my first taste of Thailand and definately a beautiful welcome.

The resort in itself is beautifully located on the beach with well appointed bungalows which are clean, comfortable with a hint of paradise luxury.

We visited in the wet season which meant water sports were not really on the agenda as ocean was considered unsafe during this time. However the resort spa and location made for a perfect relaxing break and the staff there ensured we had a lovely time.
The staff assisted us with booking activities , excursions and information of the destination.
We experienced lovely local restaurants in which food was authentic, tasty, in expensive and served with a warm smile.
Excellent service, great location and by far the nicest resort and hospitality we received in Phuket.
Well worth experiencing in any season.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    74
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
133
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a long Memorial Day weekend (5 days/4 nights), and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It might have been the relaxing time we had, or the lack of tourists, or even the fact that we were blessed with a little swell on the morning of the 31st of May (so we were able to surf all morning), but this was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had.
The hotel itself is beautiful. It's right on the beach, but it's not a very "touristy" beach, so you won't get a lot of people just laying around. On the contrary (particularly during the "rainy" season), you will get a little wind, some rain, and some sun. But when the sun comes out, it's fantastic.
The food is great. It may take a little longer than Americans are used to, but then again, you're not in Thailand to hurry, so just relax and enjoy the scenery.
Our first room's air conditioner went on the fritz the second night, and the hotel management graciously moved us to a nicer room.
If you're looking for a Four Seasons, this isn't the place. But if you're looking for a charming, relaxing, exotic, romantic hotel, one with great, personal service from friendly staff, this is the place. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are relaxing, the food is very good (although the wine selection is a bit lacking), and the view is amazing.
As far as stuff to do around there, do go ride an elephant (but make sure you tell them you want a driver who doesn't smack his elephant with a stick...ours was a bit of an ------- to his elephant, and I felt quite bad), do take walks into town (but if you go during the summer, bring an umbrella and expect to get wet), and do visit some of the local small businesses.
If you have an afternoon free and want an amazing lunch with really, really sweet people, visit "Hill Tribes" restaurant in Phang Nga. It's a family-owned restaurant specializing in northern Thai food. It is outstanding. And if, like us, you wish to ride waves, go see the folks at Pakarang Surf Shop. They've recently moved (they're now on the beach right next to Apsaras Resort, and a little difficult to find)...but Ching and his crew will hook you up. They have boards to rent (cheaply) and will likely paddle out with you to show you the ropes, or just have fun in the water.
Also, hire a cab driver, get his number, and use him exclusively. Your loyalty will be rewarded when he (like ours did) points out the truly good places, and steers you away from the tourist traps.
Also be aware that there is wildlife here...we saw a large monitor lizard, as well as several snakes, and various other animals. Don't touch them, and they won't bother you.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks and get the rooms closer to the pool and beach. They're worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This resort is in a lovely setting - but still in walking distance to the town centre - less than 10 minutes walk. The little huts all have 2 units to a house, but you couldn't really hear the people next door. The rooms were large and very comfortable, and we felt very at home.

The long pool is lovely (in fact the long pool is broken up into 3 long pools) - plus there are two other pools that are just as nice in the resort. But we also enjoyed swimming in the beach, and there were sun beds under trees over looking the beach as well as around the pools.

Khao Lak it's self was very quiet, and even though there were markets and shops similar to kata beach, it was only a small township. So if you're looking for a relaxing time - this is definitely a place to put on your agenda.

We were there at the slowest time of the year, but we had to take a photo of the main street at 9.15pm cause there were no cars, only a couple of restaurants and a few shops open. It was very different to Patong or kata beach - but a similar distance from the airport.

the beach was nice to swim in (except when it rained heaps, it was cloudy from the streams), and at high tide, the waves came right up to the resort. It was a really long beach, so if you enjoy walking or running - it was ideal.

The prices at the shops / restaurants etc were similar to Patong / Kata - or maybe slightly cheaper on some things, and the people were lovely.

All in all - we'd go back here, and we'd recommend it to others. Note the spa wasn't open while we were there cause it was low season, but we did have a few massages on the beach and they were better than any I'd had before - there were just south of our resort - about 2 down and there was a little restaurant there as well (but we didn't eat here).

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here for the last 2 weeks of May, 2 in 50's, daughter in 20's, grand-daughter of 4.

it was the start of the green season so plenty of overnight rain & 2 wet afternoons which are a great excuse for a massage and a beer.

The resort is very well laid out with a really natural feel to it, with lots of mature trees and shrubs it feels like you are in the forest. There are plenty of birds, butterflies & lizards around including the 4 foot monitor lizard which lives in the pool under the restaraunt which always caused a lot of comment.

The beach in front of the hotel is glorious and you can walk for miles - didn't like the look of some of the other resorts which seemed to be very concrete jungle. There are some grat pools in the resort which were virtually unused although I imagine if the hotel was full it could become very crowded around them


There was some minor refurbishment going on but this didn't cause any problems as it was more painting than building works.Likewise the works at the adjacent hotel are unobtrusive.

We had 2 rooms in the one of the main blocks which are spacious, good bathrooms, and lovely balcony views across resort to the sea. Only grumble is that the cleaning was a bit hit & miss at times.

Staff were fantastic, always helpful and treated our grand-daugher incredibly well. Yes sometimes the command of English wasn't great but still much better than our Thai!

Breakfast was good but choice a bit limited. We used the pool bar for a few luches and the restaraunt in the evening once, food was very good and not much dearer than in town.

Tried lots of the local restaraunts, Everyday 2, Siam star, Chang Fong, Kung Seafood, Bussadee, Dees Seafood, Hannae, Evergreen Indian - didn't have a bad meal there. Kungs Seafood for the hottest Sam Tom I've ever tasted. Dees Seafood was fun as it was the cooks night off and everytime someone came in to order the waitress was on the phone trying to get someone to come in and cook - a very funny evening but a good meal eventually.

We used Eco Khao Lak Adventures (next to Walkers Inn) for trips to James Bond Island, Khao Sok park, Takuapa - incredibly good value, great guide -'Otto' and safe drivers. Very knowledgeable and gave you a good feel for life in the area

went to the afternoon market which is fun for souvenirs and gifts even in a thunderstorm. Also went to Takuapa market which is strictly local and shows the real price of food but you need a strong stomach for the meat & fish area.

Altogether a fantastic relaxing holiday in a pretty area - if you need to unwind this is a great place for it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We loved the hotel and it's setting on the hillside with nature all around. The previous review "Peace Personified" covered most of the points about the place. We were the other two Brits there I think! Just wanted to add to few things.
We were in a Superior Room, very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a lovely view over the resort and sea. Also mossie screens which made me happy.
All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Shame about the towel situation and most of the other guests - we know who we mean -they just can't help it! Majority of sunbeds reserved by towels before 7 in the morning, very odd obsessive behaviour...
If you are keen on snorkelling, go for a trip to the Similan Islands. We used the Land Discovery Company and as previous reviews have said, found them very professional and friendly. We went for the day, had several stops for snorkelling and a good lunch on one of the islands. Saw loads of fish but not so much coloured coral.
If you want to visit the Surin Islands, you need to go for more than a day trip, it's too far (maybe next time!).
We found that the best place to snorkel off the beach by Khao Lak Resort was around the rocks nearly opposite the Wanaburee Restaurant. Also found some small fish around the rocks by the headland to the south and the rocks to the right side of the resort.
Nice restaurants near the hotel - Wanaburee, next to the KL Resort on the beach, romantic and good food, may need to reserve as only a small place
Everyday 2 (Mountain and Sea) - first restaurant you come to walking from KL Resort down towards the town - the best food we had and very friendly staff. Went several times and were never disappointed.
Smile - in the town, good food
KL Resort food was generally OK but expensive
We also hired a scooter from Land Discovery 250B a day, cheaper for longer deals, and went out and about to see the local waterfalls, the countryside, the headland and other beaches. Also walked in the Lam Ru National Park.
Really recommend this place and the area. Very hot and humid, but that's Thailand!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My fiancee and I spent a week at the Khao Lak resort before joining a live-aboard to go diving with Khao Lak Scuba Adventures. We also stayed at the Khao Lak Palm Beach resort a few doors up the road a week later so were able to compare the two resorts (see other review).
The resort has a lovely back to nature feel with the bungalows going up the hill surrounded by palm trees and bushes. There are a number of steps to get to the rooms but this just adds to the character of the resort. The room we had was lovely and we had a balcony looking out to sea. We had a couple of massages in the spa while we were there which were very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. You can of course get cheaper massages on the beach and elsewhere, however, the spa was very nice and welcoming.
We ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings and were able to sit at tables next to the beach and watch the sunset. Very romantic. We preferred the a la carte menu to the BBQ choices. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them to help you.
If you want to go diving form Khao Lak you should be aware that you will need to spend a fair amount of time on boats to get to the dive sites since there are none that are very close to Khao Lak itself. We joined a live-aboard which meant we could get to all of the main dive sites in the area over a period of five days.
Having stayed at this resort and the Khao Lak Palm Beach we preferred this one since it felt a little more welcoming even though it is a bigger resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A truly beautiful setting with the main hotel cut in to the steep rock face that leads down to the golden sand beach. The whole resort is surrounded by indigenous trees and exotic plants, birds singing by day, crickets chirping by night.
We stayed in a superior bungalow which was sited second layer back from the beach after the sea view bungalows. We were 25 secs from the beach, they were 15 seconds! Both choices were cleverly positioned so that you all get a great view of the tree-lined beach and early evening sunset. Those in Superior Rooms I believe would also have great views as they were higher up in the trees and would have a more panoramic view, I suspect. Plenty of space in the aircon room, authentic in both design and furniture, and immaculately cleaned each day. We were on our belated honeymoon and the room was unexpectedly specially prepared with a scattering of red flower petals, in the bath and on the bed. Poses were dotted around the room and there was a bottle of wine thrown in, too. Wonderful.
The grounds surrounding each bungalow were laden with lush planting (banana plants, palm trees, birds of paradise) and the whole resort nestled naturally and peacefully in its environment.
The beach itself is golden sands and a little gritty in places - do not expect white, talcum powder sand here. This is not a criticism, just a fact. The beach is not particularly deep from resort fringes to the sea, but this isn't a problem as hardly anyone sunbathes on the beach! Sunbeds are not allowed on the sand (local ruling). This can be a bit of a dilemma for sunworshippers who like a sunbed (towels are often prepositioned by resort guest from around 7am, please note) - do you lay on a sunbed under the shade of the trees or "rough" it on a towel out on the sand? The ratio of beds to guests wasn't great, hence the clamour at 7am. The sea was clear and a lovely colour. A fair bit of seaweed here and there, but hey, it's an ocean and that's where it lives. BEWARE - there are rocks you can sit on that lead in to the sea but one or two have barnacles (I think) stuck to them which have been hit by the crashing waves, are broken and are razor sharp. I have the scars to prove it! The beach is substantial in length and there is a bit of passing trade of people out for a beach walk as the resorts all share the stretch. Again, this is not an issue - no busier than Skegness Beach on a warm day in April! Different class of clientele, I hasten to add.
We were B&B only and there was plenty to choose from at the resort's open-air restaurant - thai (noodles, rice, etc), european (cheese, salad, meat, fruit, yoghurt, croissant), or more englishy stuff (cereal, omlette, toast). Can't comment on the quality really as I stuck to cereal and toast. Oh, I had an omlette once - unless you specify different, it will be served rather on the raw, runny side. We had a sunset evening meal in the hotel one night (if you want the best table (unspoilt views of the sun going down), book it early in the day) and the food was fabulous. Typical hotel charges - about 3 times as much as you'd pay "downtown".
We found the staff to be curteous but not especially friendly, contrary to what others have posted here. The cleaners, leaf-sweepers and shop staff were lovely, but the restaurant staff seemed a little gloomy. The beach bar staff could barely raise a smile (which may explain why the bar was invariably empty).
We took advantage of the Spa at the resort. Lovely setting, very relaxing and comparable price to elsewhere (about 100 bahts extra each which is roughly £2). You could go down town but then you've got to make a judgment call on who to go with as there is so much choice.
Whilst we were there (first two weeks in Feb 11), we heard only 2 other native english speakers, the remainder were Scandanavian and German. In truth, we didn't want to go somewhere that was full of "Brits on Tour" but found ourselves missing the odd person to chat with about Blighty, etc. That said, western europeans flip-flop between their own language and ours at the drop of a hat, but when you are the only english in a group, it would be unfair to expect everyone else to speak "like wot we does". So we tended to leave them to their own company.
The 3 swimming pools are beautifully shaped and nestle perfectly in between the bungalows. Again, they are in the shade for most of the day and there are very few people sat around them and, more often than not, no one in them!
Final comment on the resort - it has a steep incline from top to bottom. Infirm people will struggle. The gym facility is poor - a couple of cardio machines in a non aircon room. You'll just have to run up and down the beach in your speedos.
Final comment on the guests - majority are in the age category of 50-70. And arrive with a better tan than we left with. Very few families but that is because it is such a quite location.
In summary, go here if you want peace and quite like sunbathing on a lovely beach or enjoy reading in the shade. Expect the odd cloudy day and brief downpours (swimming in the sea when its raining is a unique experience, though!) Khao Lak town offers everything a tourist can need - great restaurants at cheap prices (rice, noodles and a salad, 2 beers will cost around £6-8), tuk tuk taxis, alledged designer clothing and watches, tailor shops galore (my wife had a full-length thai silk dress made to measure for £75 in 4 days), cocktail bars, artists and soap carvers. A lovely atmosphere, slow in pace, friendly smiley shopkeepers. I'll write another piece on Khao Lak town as well as the day trips we enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.