We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Introduction to Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chongfah Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chongfah Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Introduction to Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand with Chong Fah resort being our first port of call after a long flight from Aus. Thoroughly enjoyed the personal touches that come with this beautiful resort. Impeccable service and patience provided by all the staff, particularly Sod and Rong, really made it a great first impression of Thailand. It was the little things which set it apart including the refreshments on arrival, nightly treats in room etc. Didnt actually have a spa or fitness centre at the resort but that didnt matter to us but we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this great small resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
221
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My review of Chongfah beach resort.

Highlights:
Room - spacious, smart design, lounge chairs and dining table on balcony, a view of the ocean, four different pillow options, good night sweets, refresh drink sent to your room during the day....
Housekeep - room was ready after I finished breakfast!
Resort restaurant - best fresh mango juice I had so far .... at only 90 baht. Amazing.
Service - friendly, helpful and details-oriented staff. Rong works in the restaurant but he asked me about my transfer one day before I check out.
Bicycle for rent free of charge to explore nearby area.
Care for the environment - you can see environment-friendly culture from the room. No bathtub and resort collects plastic and paper for recycling.
Location - very near to the city center and also convenient to go to white sand beach at 250baht.

Cons
Location - The resort sits on rocks next to the ocean. No beach in front when tide is high.
Restaurant outside - went to one called Mali for Thai food recommended by the resort. Food was overcooked and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Honestly, look no further. This is the place you want to stay in Khao Lak. My husband and I are proud of the amount of places we have travelled to, and we both agreed this was in the top 3 of all the hotels we have stayed at in the world. The beachfront room is perfection - you have uninterrupted ocean views from your bed, so you can sleep and wake with the sound and view of the ocean. Isn't there any greater joy in life? The room also has immaculate facilities, a beautiful outdoor shower and bath, and fabulous sunbeds both in your room and right in front of the water. It's a quiet resort (which was what I found appealing when booking it), so other guests never crowd you. The service is exceptional, the staff are so friendly! There is never anything too much trouble. We really enjoyed the little extras, like the free bikes to ride into town or just see the local area, we used them every day and absolutely loved it! The little treats in your room and the generous amounts of bottled water in your room, it's those little caring touches that make you feel valued and cared for. The food at the restaurant for breakfast was outstanding and we enjoyed dinner there on a number of occasions. The cocktails were a daily institution for us, love a good happy hour! The massage place just along the beach was some the best I've had in Thailand, ask for Pen, she will change your life. I had a massage every day... heaven!!!
Anyway, as you can see it's a very special kind of place. Don't hesitate in booking this place, I strongly recommend Chongfah.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a beachfront room, it's heaven. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is just perfect. I don't want to write too much about the service and the little things they do to make your stay great, so that i don't spoil it for you. If you are in Khaolak there is no better place. The Marriot and Kantary are very impressive, but they don't have the location or the personal service of this place.

The accommodation is excellent with the ground floor bungalow that we had having a bathroom with inside shower, and an outside shower, with an outside Jacuzzi bath, set in a tropical well kept garden. There was a balcony with two sunbeds. All the finishes are top class, no expense has been spared, and it is very tastefully done.

The best aspect of the resort for me was the restaurant which was the best food we had in Thailand. The pricing is rather good as well, with most dishes being less than 200B. We found most of the other hotels in Thailand charge crazy prices for food so you always have to try other places which is a hassle. The breakfast is done just so well, and the staff know what they are doing. At night they light up little red lanterns and it really does look great.

The only unfortunate thing about the resort is that it seems like the beach has been eroded by the tides and there is really no beach. You walk down a set of steps onto a small sand patch and then into the ocean. When you are here you laze by the pool and look out over the ocean.

At reception there are bicycles that are free for you to use to ride around town. The resort i in the middle of the town and it is very flat place so it is dead easy to get around on the bikes. There are plenty restaurants and shops nearby.

They have got the mix of service, quality and price right at this place and you wont find better accommodation at many places in the world.

Room Tip: Use the bikes, we saw plenty of other guests walking, the bikes are so easy because it is dead flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very nice hotel by the sea, with great swimming pool. We stayed for 5 nights and found the place to be fantastic. Pool area is overlooking a the sea and the grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers and tropical trees. Room is very spacious and clean. All rooms have a balcony or outside private space. Very nice touch are the little complementary snacks served every night during evening room service. There is also a morning room cleaning cleaning service. Complementary water tea and coffee in the room. Two min from the beach and close by activities. Staff is very friendly and go the extra mile. Wifi was very good in the room and around the garden, pool area and beach. Breakfast is extensive with a wide selection of thai and continental food, they even have baked beans and sausages, if you need to! Very relaxing place, many thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This place is in a perfect location - its close to other resturants, the town and has bikes to take for free to explore the area. This place is spotless! The food, breakfast the pool is great. The only thing is that there is no real beach directly in fron of the hotel you have to walk 200m or so to swim but this is no proble.
Checkin and check out was seemless and the staff wonderfully helpful and friendly. i only wish i could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here at the end of season (Apr 2014), and loved it. The resort is well designed and maintained, but it's the staff that really make this place awesome. Thailand has many great resorts with amazing staff, but these guys really raise that bar.

I did have one complaint though - we ended up staying only 6 out of the 7 nights that we booked - we had to leave because the wifi is slow and I had to send some files across - but I wasn't refunded the last night, with the excuse being 'policy', which left a bad taste in my mouth as we left.

Outside of that, I had a great time, thanks.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the ground floor at the back have poor light and even worse wifi. I don't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including beachfront bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongfah Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.