We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort & staff (but annoying wifi and booking policy)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Chongfah Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great resort & staff (but annoying wifi and booking policy)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here at the end of season (Apr 2014), and loved it. The resort is well designed and maintained, but it's the staff that really make this place awesome. Thailand has many great resorts with amazing staff, but these guys really raise that bar.

I did have one complaint though - we ended up staying only 6 out of the 7 nights that we booked - we had to leave because the wifi is slow and I had to send some files across - but I wasn't refunded the last night, with the excuse being 'policy', which left a bad taste in my mouth as we left.

Outside of that, I had a great time, thanks.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the ground floor at the back have poor light and even worse wifi. I don't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    33
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
182
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We travelled to Phuket for a friends wedding and wanted somewhere quiet for a few days break afterwards. We chose Chong Fah based on Tripadvisor rating and we were not disappointed. This place is very relaxing with only a small number of guest rooms. The staff are really friendly and keen to do whatever you ask but they are not pushy and in your face. The breakfast was really enjoyable and the evening meals and drinks from the bar are excellent and very reasonably priced compared to going outside of the hotel. We think it is a must to have the sea view bungalows as they offer privacy and dedicated sun loungers as well as the sea view. The beach itself is nothing to write home about but the infinity pool at the hotel is great. There are more sun loungers than guests and there is no rush to reserve beds by anyone. When we stayed most of the guests were from Germany and Switzerland and it is clear that the resort is geared towards tourists from Europe. The only reason for writing this is to say if you are looking for British or Aussie people to hook up with and party then this may not be the place for you. Taxis to Khao Lak centre are available outside and inexpensive if you fancy getting out to eat or go to the market which is on 3 days a week. In summary take a few books and some DVD's to watch when you retire for the evening and you will have a great time (there is a book and DVD library at the hotel provided free of charge). Oh and another thing the wireless internet connection in the hotel rooms and grounds was absolutely excellent. I will definitely go back to Chong Fah

Room Tip: The Sea View bungalows are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Make that 189!. Although we only came from Hong Kong, bad planning on my part meant that we'd spent nearly 12 hours travelling including a slightly fraught transfer at Bangkok (I'd forgotten just how massive that airport is!). We were, therefore, a little tired and bothered when we finally arrived in our room but that tiredness quickly evaporated when we saw just how lovely it was.

There is obviously a good reason why this is rated #1 on TA for the area. It's stunning: a boutique hotel, immaculately designed and maintained with personal touches and smiling staff. The pictures on the hotel website don't begin to do it justice and we loved the private, outdoor shower and bath/ jacuzzi.

It is true that the hotel doesn't have much of a beach although the sea is accessible and anyway I'm not sure why anyone would want to stray too far from the infinity pool and bar. Each evening, before heading off to the bright lights for supper we would sit and watch the sun set with a cocktail or a cold beer and then, on our return, enjoy a nightcap with the silver moon reflecting off the calm sea and no more than the lapping of the waves on the shore to disturb the peace.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are obviously the best but if you can't get in there (or they are too expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here in Jan.2012, but I can see from the ratings the place hasn't changed a bit. We stayed over New Year's Eve, and the staff put on a fantastic dinner and show. The breakfasts were amazing, the pool relaxing, and with the beach right on your door step you can always go for a walk or dip in the ocean. Fantastic place to relax in Khao Lak....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I so agree with the other reviewers on this resort, it is small and that is one of the great benefits in my view. We always found the staff smiling and completely dedicated to giving the best service and have pride in the resort. The food was fantastic and the staff in there especially the head of staff there [unfortunately can't remember his name] but found them all so lovely and so helpful. It is located close to other restaurants... I would go back again in a heart beat...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is well deserved of the Number 1 ranking on TripAdvisor. A boutique hotel that has got everything right. Spacious rooms, with a huge private verandah, complimentary desert and they really take eco-friendliness seriously. The infinity pool is awesome and the complimentary ice tea to cool off in the afternoon was a nice touch. They offer free cycles to roam about the neighborhood, provide a news summary in different languages during breakfast and have a vast library. The service is excellent and sitting by the sea during sunset is a real treat. There are not too many people around so its really peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This will be a lasting memory, Happy Smiling People refer to both the staff and the guests at this wonderful resort.

We stayed in this small family run resort from the 23rd August for seven nights. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a Bungalow, but we did look at the rooms and the only difference is the bungalows have an outside spa bath and shower.

The rooms were very clean and spacious and everyday we were given plenty of complimentary bottles of water and in the evening a little treat of cakes or biscuits. The breakfast was plentiful and on Thursday night they had a banquet,which was superb, so much choice. We eat out most evenings and found all the restaurants were very good quality. Lunchtimes we walked down onto the beach and eat in the first beach bar if you turn left along the beach, the food was cheap and very good.

The staff were exceptional, especially in the restaurant, always smiling and happy.

Khoalak has fortunately not been too spoilt by over tourism, but there is still lots of bars and restaurants to choose from, within walking distance. The beach is very clean, but take care if you go for a walk, as it is tidal and the sea does come right up to the wall of the resort at high tide, but if you do get cut off you can gain access to some of the restaurants and bars further along the beach and walk back to the resort.

All I can say is this resort deserves it's rating, and Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay very special Annette and Michael

Room Tip: Oceanview bungalows are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including beachfront bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongfah Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.