We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chongfah Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chongfah Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
The world
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Chongfah management team have got it right - from the time we arrived in a rather weary state after a long journey from the UK to our departure, all the staff here were really friendly and helpful. We're not usually hotel lovers but this one is outstanding! It's small and personal and wonderfully comfortable. We stayed in 2 rooms over 9 nights, one was a ground floor one which is the cheapest style but very nice, a good size, well equipped and comfy and then moved to a sea view bungalow which was gorgeous. The beds are firm but not rock hard and the pillows wonderfully soft and there are lots of lovely touches like the electric mosquito holders inside the rooms, ceramic mosquito holders for the external sitting area - they even provide fresh coils each day, plentiful supplies of towels for beach and bathroom but with an eye on the environment so guests are encouraged to use towels for more than one day and as much waste as possible is recycled, daily supplies of drinking water and in the bungalow a rather good coffee machine and personal sun beds just outside your room. Every evening staff come round to check that have all the supplies you need in your room and to leave a couple of sweets (cookies etc) and good night wishes.
The breakfast is excellent with a wide range of food including European and Asian, lovely fresh fruit, a choice of teas and coffees and eggs and pancakes/waffles freshly cooked to order.
The beach is just steps away from the hotel though the Tsunami precautions mean that there's a high wall between beach and hotel but unless it's high tide it's easy to walk down to the beach and it's a great one. The hotel also has a fabulous infinity pool - warm and hardly chlorinated so it's a wonderful place to cool off and spend time looking over the sea.
The only small criticism we'd have is the food in the restaurant - we ate one evening meal and one lunch and both were relatively expensive and poor quality compared to the food on offer just a short walk away. To be honest this didn't matter as we'd prefer to eat and out and it's easy to do so with a good range of restaurants within walking distance.
We were wonderfully relaxed at the end of our stay and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The sea view bungalows opposite the beach are wonderful but if too pricey go for an upstairs room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    33
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
191
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just got back from a long weekend at this hotel and I absolutely loved every minute of it! Everything was perfect, from the pre stay email communication, to the pick up at the airport, super comfy car with lots of drinks to help yourself to, the staff, who were very helpful and friendly, the room - just perfect, towels - massive and plenty, breakfast, pool, and location, ideal to walk to many restaurants, shops etc, it was all excellent. The hotel has bikes (really good bikes) which you can borrow and take out which was also a great touch.

We were unable to get a late check out, but the staff came to find us by the pool to advise we could use the shower room before heading back to the airport, which turned out to be a guest room, better than the one we'd stayed in, so was a really lovely way to end a perfect trip before heading back to the airport.

We decided to stay in Khao Lak, as was advised it was a less touristy area, and as a weekend break, didn't want to go far from the airport, so this was only an hour away from Phuket airport. There is tourists there, many Europeans, couples and some families, but what it didn't have was a lot of young people that you find in other areas in Thailand, which was really nice.

The beach in front of the hotel is not big, it is long and makes for a nice evening walk when the tides out, but not by far one of the better beaches in Thailand. We went on a day trip to the Similan Islands where the beaches made up for it, such incredible islands, and waters a colour I have never seen before on any other island in Thailand. However, just wish there was a way of going to these places without 40 other guests on the same boat, and about 8 other boats all going! I am not one for these mass day trip excursions. But it is worth going to the Similan Islands.

The sun sets right over the sea in front of the hotel, and its just wonderful to sit there in the evening and watch it. Make sure you make time for this if you are staying here.

Go for a massage next to the resort by the beach, but ask for a soft massage, otherwise they half kill you! just lying there listening to the waves is magical!

Room Tip: All rooms are great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The place was very good, near the beach, the street market, the khao lak market, many restaurants. The rooms is cool, clean, we ave jacuzzi a and shower outside. The view from the pool is awesome. The restaurant is good not the best place but many choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Whoever owns and runs this place has mastered the art of hotel guest services. The service is truly top notch, rooms tastefully decorated, pleasant amenities, comfy bed...the list goes on.

The rooms are good size, nice wood floors, separate area for dressing and bathroom. The shower is a modern rain shower, water pressure was excellent, temperature remained hot throughout. Abundant bathroom amenities generously replenished each day. Great bath towels and separately provided beach towels, refreshed each day. The bed was nice and comfortable, fim mattress and on offer is a pillow menu, you can choose any of the six types of pillows to aid in your nights' sleep. Linens on bed are high quality, fresh and comfortable. Nightly turn down service with a small treat and bottled water restocked twice a day.

The resort staff have an amazing approach, they pay close attention and are not at all overbearing. They stay out of the way to allow you to enjoy everything available yet are around if you need anything. Several staff spoke English quite well. So friendly and accommodating. Breakfast service very pleasant, overlooking the Andaman Sea and the full spread of food available. About midday, a staff member walks around the beach lounge area with cool refreshing complimentary beverages.

Infinity swimming pool is a good size, crystal clear and lounge chairs about. The common areas of the hotel are well maintained, staff busy caring for the immaculate facilities throughout the day. There is direct access to the beach (stairs) and during low tide there is plenty of space for walking or jogging. Sunsets are spectacular from the hotel.

Good location, easy walking distance to the main area of Khao Lak with small shops and restaurants.

This is a quiet, peaceful place and the ambiance offers opportunity to relax, read or watch the sea without having to hear loud intrusive music. In fact, no matter how stressed out you are you cannot help but take advantage of the opportunity to sit back and take it easy.

There is only one flaw -- nearly all of the other guests were smokers and the hotel accommodates smokers by placing ashtrays in all common areas and allows them to smoke just about anywhere on the property. It barely affected me, though I would occasionally get annoyed during breakfast out on the deck or near the swimming pool.

A near-perfect hotel and i join numerous others in giving Chongfah a well-deserved excellent rating.

Room Tip: We did not have a beach view from our room but it didn't matter, seems all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for one week for our honeymoon. I booked directly with the hotel and I am really pleased about the choice of this hotel.
As already mentioned by others, the infrastructure are good and nice situation. Above all we appreciated the staff. Everything went smoothly and they really take care of our wellness. Even at the reception desk, ladies are really nice. For example, I have been burnt by s selfish at my first bath in the sea and they took care of me, applying vinegar, so nicely. We also enjoyed the romantic dinners in front of the sea, on the nicely decorated terrace of the restaurant.
The only inconvenient is that it is really hard to come back home and work :) I wish every member of the staff my best wishes for 2014 (China new year included)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as the first stop on our SE Asia honeymoon. It was the perfect choice! The staff is lovely, and very helpful without being cloying. We arrived quite late and were exhausted from our day+ of travel - so I really appreciated that the check-in was no-nonsense but very welcoming (e.g. She gave us a refreshing welcome drink and showed us our room, but didn't linger or make us sign ten billion things - just a quick "goodnight & enjoy!"). We chose a Seaview bungalow and it was so nice to wake up to the beautiful view of the ocean and we loved having our own little terrace to watch the sunset from. The outdoor private shower and bath were also nice after taking a dip in the ocean or the small but refreshing pool. Yes, when it's high tide it can be tough to swim in the ocean as it comes right up to the sea wall - but it didn't bother us at all. At low tide you can walk up and down the beach a ways. The air conditioning was quite loud but it was white noise to us - no problem sleeping with it on.
Breakfast was delicious with a huge variety, and we also ate lunch at the restaurant our first day and enjoyed it (you can get cheaper in town but it was still good value).
The guests at the resort seemed to be a mix of young & old couples and small families. I didn't get the sense that loud partiers choose to stay there - which is perfect for a serene beach trip.
We had such a great, relaxing stay - and we hope to be back someday soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Chong Fah was a true discovery and a pleasant surprise offering more than we expected. It is a modern but small resort with some traditional and local touches and it has a beautiful setting: lush garden, beautiful sea view, nice infinity pool and a restaurant with a stunning view. Even though this resort is very much in the centre along the beach, guests here can feel like miles away from the noisy tourist attractions. It's is a truly wonderful oasis of calm and tranquility.

Even tough the resort is directly located at the beach front, due to beach erosion Chong Fah has built a big rocky sea defence and there is only some limited beach left at low tide. Even tough this might sound like a bit of a turn off first, it has the advantage that they have created a wonderful grassy and sandy terrace on top of the sea wall, which gives you full privacy and and amazing views over the sea while relaxing on your sun lounger or while enjoying an amazing cappuccino on one of the sofas. If you are looking for a sandy beach, walk left or right and in a few minutes you will find just that.

We stayed in the a deluxe room (No 2201) in the third row of bungalow. The room is very spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom is really large, modern and nice. Also the breakfast buffet is wonderful, great choice of freshly cooked food as well as fresh fruits, cereals and what ever else you might desire to eat. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#9 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including beachfront bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongfah Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.