We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen like perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Chongfah Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chongfah Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Gloucester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Zen like perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place has the most marvellous air of calm, and is just the spot for some rest and relaxation after travelling around, or just a bit of indulgence.

The resort only has 30 rooms (I think) 8 beachfront bungalows, another 6 behind them and then 16 more rooms set in the gardens. We had a beachfront bungalow room and it was great to lie in bed or on our terrace with a full view of the sea. The room was huge, with a separate dressing area, large indoor shower room and a garden spa bath and outdoor shower through doors to the rear. The pleasure of tea in the spa bath after a long lazy day is very memorable.

Although the rooms are not inexpensive everything else is. The restaurant is very good ( especially the Thursday evening buffet) Drinks - including cocktails - are very reasonably priced and you can drink the contents of the mini bar without extending your mortgage.

The service here is outstanding, friendly and unobtrusive.

I can't understand some of the reviews commenting on the lack of beach. You can reach the beach at either end of the frontage and the hotel has a large number of sun loungers up on sand just behind the "promenade" wall. You can swim when the tide is in from the steps. The sea was calm and very warm when we visited and although the pool is good too there is something special about swimming in the sea.

Don't go to Khao Lak for nightlife - there doesn't seem to be any, Go to experience the blissful charm, tasteful elegance and attentive service at Chongfah.

Room Tip: Go for a beachfront bungalow if you can, but the whole resort is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
177
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Relatively small resort, but the bungalows offer all you need and the staff deserves a gold medal for friendliness, hospitality and service orientation. Prices are steep though, so look out for special offers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Amazing service and beautifully appointed rooms. We had a seaview deluxe which had a great balcony looking over the pool and the ocean (obviously).

Breakfast was a highlight and the level of attention you received from Sod and Toom and team was wonderfully balanced between being attentive without being OTT.

Great pool. Great beach which you can access in the afternoon when the tide is out. And great restaurant with lovely thai food without hotel prices.

Very sad to leave after 5 days there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Chong Fah and believe me we did not want to leave. We had booked an ocean front bungalow and it was heaven, you can sit on your bed and just look out to the water, you also have a lovely outdoor spa which is just fantastic and you have your own 2 sunbeds outside your window that are for yourselves only. The staff at Chong Fah are so nice and helpful they seem to be very genuine and happy, the pool is nice and cold and though the hotel was full there were always sunbeds available. We ate at the Restaurant only a few occasions and the food was excellent and well priced. Breakfast in the morning is just delicious with plenty of choices to be made. The beach was excellent for swimming whilst we were there which was the end of October, and very clean. If you turn left on the beach and walk for a little while past the Ramada you will come to a little restaurant called Tonsons, great food and nice cold beer. Also a few nights a week they have the local market which is well worth going to and the food from the vendors is excellent, another nice place to eat is Green Pepper. We are looking forward to return to Chong Fah and advising our friends to do the same, you will not be disappointed. Happy holidaying.

Room Tip: Ocean bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having only around 30 rooms is a great advantage when it comes to crowd. Very peaceful and private.
Service here has such a pleasant human touch to it. They will go through great length to fulfil a request as we have experienced.
I wish to thank the staff and management for making our holidays there so memorable for my family and me. We 'Thank You!'

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subang jaya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just returned from a charming and refreshing 4 night stay in Khao Lak about a week ago. I spent two of those splendid nights at Chongfah. Check-in was easy breezy, it was minimal and appreciated after a long drive. As the reviewers have stated, this is a lovely boutique style hotel. The grounds are lush with vegetation.

Are room was lovely on the second floor. The room had a good dark wood traditional feel with high ceilings. The kingsize bed was the center of the room and it had two towels folded into a swan on it. There were two chairs and table to the side. The bed faces a large sliding glass door that leads to a sizable balcony that had a table and a built in couch. The fresh tropical sea breeze and the sound of the sea are therapeutic. I almost fell asleep on the coach, if it wasn't for a few hungry mosquitos. Note the hotel does provide a coil to prevent them, however we never felt them in the room. WiFI was good, but imagine a bit slow if full occupancy.

The bathroom is large and modern. Shower had good pressure and hot. The skylight was a nice touch.

Khao Lak in off season is a sleepy quaint place with not every biz open. Moreover, due to monsoon season the Semilian & Surin Islands are closed. Phi Phi Island was the only option for snorkeling tours. Due to the distance, trips to Phi Phi were higher than Krabi. In general, things are little more costlier in Khao Lak than Krabi, but Khao Lak is more laid back. You don't need transportation to get around the village that has many eating, massage and tour operator options. Renting a scooter or car a couple of times will open up many beaches and waterfalls both North and South of the hotel. Recommended for extended stays.

Breakfast at the hotel was gratifying both mornings. The restaurant is ideally situated to have a great view of the scene. Inside and patio seating is available. We found the breakfast selection extensive, offering both Western and Asian options. The daily waffles and a few vegetarian dishes were tasty. Good selection of fruit and breads. Lots of juices offered, the ginger juice was lip smacking good. On the second day one of the employees, Sud, pointed out one the chicken dishes was made with halal chicken. Breakfast was filled with lots of tasty choices and a beautiful backdrop of the sea.

The hotel also offers a few free weekly programs in the early afternoon. When I was there the schedule is as follows(please check with hotel for times and changes):
SAT Towel Folding into Animal Shapes
SUN Pandan leaf shaped into a rose
TUE Fruit Carving into wonderful shapes
THU Sea Turtle Conservation Trip
FRI Harlan making

My wife and I participated in the towel folding class and had two great teachers, Alis & Lead, thanks ladies for your patience and encouragement. My wife learned more than me, but I walked away learning how to fold elephant, caterpillar and bird. It was big fun.

There is no masjid in town, although there are at least two in Takuapa, which requires a 30 minute drive to the north. As far as halal food, on Monday, Wednesday & Saturdays there is a pasar malam (open air market) where you can find many halal food hawkers. Fried Chicken, chicken sate, sushi, pulut, corn and others. Tasty, friendly and a good value. Many restaraunts in Ban Niang offer vegetarian dishes.

Overall, the staff are friendly, the grounds are exuberant with vegetation, the room rocks and breakfast was enjoyable. Not to mention Khao Lak is a great location and this hotel is on the beachfront. Not only would I return again, I want to return again. Like I said, "I've got nothing but for ya!"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent 10 days in chong fah in May 2013 and it was fantastic ! we had a deluxe bungalow with external jacuzzi and shower :-)
The resort is very quiet and very well located, the restaurant is excellent and not over priced.
We explored the area with scooter - don't rent to the guy next door, more expensive than others and not friendly.
Very clean, very helpful staff.
Looking forward to our next visit !!

Room Tip: the deluxe bungalows offer very good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including beachfront bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongfah Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.