We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE THIS RESORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Chongfah Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chongfah Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Islamabad
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS RESORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at Chong fah for a total of six nights in November 2012. I love this place. This is a gentle place with the most helpful , friendly staff you will ever meet. They know your name from day 1, and remember what you like just as quickly. The food is great, and there are a number of other restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Taxis are just outside the entrance for trips further afield. I loved the bungalow, particularly the outdoor spa tub--great place to cool down after a hot day. Rooms are lovely, large and welcoming. No spa, but massages can be arranged with 1 hour notice.

Room Tip: The bungalows are nice, and hte beach front ones are irresistible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
178
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall nice, friendly, clean, cortueous, good location. Much to our regret the end of our stay was less amusing.
For late check out hotel asked for 1.000,- THB for additional 3 hours at our room. This policy appears ridiculous for guests staying 16 nights in a row and having drinks at bar, food at restaurant etc and spend a hell of money extra.
It kills the reputation built up in 15 days in one moment. If they handle this policy for short time guests I have a certain understanding for it. Anyway I can not recommend this resort at a 100% rate.
The happy hour at the bar should also include wine and beer, not only cocktails.
Breakfast is nice serving Asian and Western preferences, however the fruits especially liked by the Europeans like Mango/Lichi for example are not offered.
Internet wireless is for free.
There is no fitness center and no spa.
Beach or swimming at high tide is risky, as you might be thrown to large beach protecting stones. At low tide it is fine and good access to sea.
Beside the disturbing last day the stay was good but there is still some acid taste and some angryness in me.

Room Tip: Try to get beach side villas or upper floor rooms to look over palmtrees and see the sea. The corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I were at Chongfah BEACH for our honeymoon from November 8 to 11, 2012.

First of all, be sure you book at Chongfah BEACH and not BAAN Chongfa since the latter is located a good twenty minutes walk from the beach and is more of a mountain side resort... we did the mistake and both hotels confirmed that it was not the first time people made this error.

Chongfah BEACH is really a wonderful small boutique beachfront hotel. The service is fantastic (special thanks to Rose at the reception desk for her smile, gentleness and super service and to Chai our designated resource person during our stay), from your arrival with collars of orchids and flavourful Roselle drinks to the visit by Chai of our bungalow that was decorated with many petals (on the bed, in the private exterior bath tub, etc.

Bungalows are spacious and clean with all the necessary equipment, especially an espresso coffee machine with included coffee capsules everyday.

The included breakfast is amazing with various choices such as fresh home made waffles and crepes, fresh juices (guava, lemongrass, pineapple, orange, etc.), thai currys, bacon, homemade omelettes, etc. Cappuccinos and lattes are also included as many as you want. The whole from 7 am until 10:30 am. My wife and I were having breakfast at 7 am, running afterwards, a little swim in the amazing infinity pool and another breakfast around 10 am! Service in the restaurant was also excellent, special thanks to Rong for its excellent coffees and to Meaw for her smiles and constant attentions.

The only reason we put 4 out of 5 for value and cleanliness is because there were insignificant small things that could have been better considering the fact that this is a high end resort in Thailand (200$US plus per night), but we would definitely recommend this hotel and come back.

Nico and Stefi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my second stay at Chong Fah and the first for my travel companion.... and I cant wait to go back for my third stay!
In 5 trips to Thailand and numberous resorts/hotels that I have stayed at, Chong Fah stands out as a clear leader.
The staff are amazing! so friendly, helpful , nothing is too much and they seem genuinely happy to have made you smile! I have never stayed anywhere were staff remember your name .. it really makes you feel not just a number but a valued guest...

On my first stay we stayed in the standard room with the seaview and i loved it... this time we had a beachfront bungalow and it was just perfect... there is nothing I could ask for more.. the beds we comfortable, a pillow menu, the spa is a great size and very peacfully set in the garden, the bathroom a great size and even the toiletries etc are of a high standard, coffee machine for the early morning coffee sitting on the deck chair taking in the most gorgeous veiw of the ocean...

houeskeeping were friendly, proffessional and not intrusive at all... with 3 ladies coming each morning they were quick but very thorough. .. and again in the eveing to deliver a tasty snack and offer more bottle of water if needed....

In the afternoon it wasnt uncommon to find someone walking around the deck chair and past our room offering a cold drink, frozern treat... and speaking of deck chairs... this is one resort no one could complain about not finding a deck chair to relax on.... there are 20 rooms... along the beach front there are 40 chairs, another 20 around the pool area , each bungalow has 2 out the front.... no worry about having to get out early to claim your spot :)

Breakfast is plenitful, fresh and a good variety... we ate at the resort often which is not something I often do, but the food here was fantastic and really reasonably priced... always a lunch special for under 200 bht. Happy hour cocktails were 2 for one and there was a second happy hour at 10pm for a late night sip.

The pool is a centrepiece and it has a gorgeous view from the infinity edge...

On a thursday morning they offer a free trip up to the turtle consevetory and thursday nights is asian buffet night... the best 450 bht we spent all trip... it is a fantastic selection of food freshly cooked in front of you, with everything from sushi to stir frys, strongly reccommended for a nice dinner in.

The surrounding area has numberous restaurants, massage places and washing drop off points and to be honest you could find everything you needed within 100m of the resort... but it is so peaceful and quiet that you would think once you were in the resort you were a million miles from anywhere...

we sat on our last day and filled out our feedback card.. and there is a question about what more could they do or improve... we couldnt think of anything.... this is what I call a perfect resort... a big call .. but in 2 stays I can find nothing i think can be improved...

If your looking for somewhere to feel a little special... relax... enjoy good food.....want complete comfort from your room... want gorgeous views and staff that really want to see you enjoy your time there... Chong Fah is all that and more..

enjoy

:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in a waterfront bungalow with a girlfriend for 4 glorious days in October 2012. The bungalows are clean, spacious and beautiful, plenty of room to move about. There is a coffee machine as well. The staff could not be more helpful and when you arrive are greeted by your first name. The resort is small and quiet. The pool is just perfect with beautiful ocean views whilst swimming. My girlfriend and I mainly stayed at the resort and ordered room service for the 4 days and also had an hour massage in our room for only 400 Baht, food and drinks are amazingly cheap and the food is of 5 star quality. I would highly recommend this slice of heaven. There is a laundry service just outside the resort plus massages and bars/restaurants either side.. I am looking forward to returning one day..Wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: I would definately stay in the beach front bungalows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are looking for a small, luxery, quiet hotel, you are at the right place with Chong fah.
1 hour drive from phuket airport and the taxi service from the hotel is excellent (fresh towels, drinks, airco).

Good location, great rooms, very good food.
The staff is first class!

The food in the restaurant is not overpriced and very good. Singha costs 90 bath and dishes between 140 and 200 bath.
There are many restaurants nearby. It's about 15 minutes walk to the main road and during that time, you have many restaurants and massage salons (even during low season).
At the main road there is a small 7 eleven but you have small shops closer to the resort where you can buy the same stuff.

If you are looking for a beach, don't go because the beach is gone. They had to strengthening the front of the beach so they have putted rocks at the sand.
If you have luck with the tides you can make a walk at the beach to the nearby restaurant and massage salons at the beach (near ramada resort). You can always walk to those nearby restaurants on road but it's a 15-20 minutes walk instead of 5 minutes on the beach.

We've booked the beachfront villa but in low season I won't recommend it because the sea is beating against the rocks what is very loud so you can't sleep very well. The matresses are soft for Thais standards.

On thursday there was a buffet in the evening for 450 bath and it's totally worth it! They make fresh sushi, noodles dishes, appetizers, barbecue,...
You get every day fresh water bottles and in the evening the cleaning ladies come to make up your bed again en put some sweets or cookies in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you are looking for a small relaxing place to stay right on the beach in Khao Lak, Chong Fah is the hotel of choice. Totally rebuilt after the terrible Tsunami of 2004, the rooms, although not much to look at from the outside, are beautifully furnished and very comfortable with great shower rooms. Very caring and friendly staff, wonderful infinity pool, great restaurant with outside tables overlooking the ocean made our stay really memorable. This was the last of eight hotels we stayed on a four week tour of S.E. Asia. All were booked on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and I have now reviewed them all myself. I have given them all five stars - need I say more! Well done Trip Advisor!.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak takuapa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including beachfront bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongfah Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.