We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, fantastic neighbourhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
You added Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel to your Saves list
Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65/19 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Takuapa,, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, fantastic neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

When I read reviewes at trip advisor from this hotel, I was a bit sceptical about staying at mohin tara, but as it turned out, we had the best vacation ever, and we really want to go back there later. The hotel is not a very fansy hotel, but a simple and cozy hotel. The room was good and the breakfast was simple but very good. We really liked the location. Hardly any bugs and in the middle of a smaal town with some nice restaurants, and shops of different kind. It is a taxi stadion next to the hotel, where the cars take you where you want to go for a smaal amount of money. The staff also drove us different places, for free (offcourse we gave them a tip thoug). All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
8 Thank tine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My partner and I booked this hotel as a stopover for one night before heading to the Similan Islands. Unfortunately, due to a change of dates supplied last minute before our boat trip we had to change the date we stayed at the Tara Mohin to the night we returned to Khao Lak. Originally we paid approx AUD $55, the change of date set us back an additional AUD $65. At $55 it's ok but it's definitely not worth paying $120 a night for due to it being so far away from everything and you'd have to rely on their songathew transfer or taxi to get anywhere.

We arrived to be given a room on the third floor, loads of steps which were heinous (we both had wobbly legs after spending 3 days at sea). I'd asked for a double in the booking but found a twin bed setup when we got to the room which was annoying after spending 3 days in a single bunk bed setup.

It didn't help that it was pouring rain the entire time we stayed at Tara Mohin and that we were sunburned and tired. The rooms are clean and tidy, the bath was a decent size, and tea, coffee and cable TV are available in the room.

The receptionist was very friendly, we asked about dinner and they supplied us with a free transfer to their sister hotel Suwan Palms on the beach at Khao Lak (6km away). The food was good, however, it was raining and the driver made us shiver in the back of the songathew while he picked up his girlfriend to sit in the front, we found the staff to be self orientated rather than customer orientated during our stay.

In the morning we had breakfast at the building next door, it wasn't easy to find as there is no signage - we asked a staff member at the reception but he was on the phone and busy so he pointed in the direction we should go but wasn't bothered to actually show us where to go. It was pouring rain still so we got a bit wet getting to the breakfast building, not a big deal but didn't help our impressions of the place. Staff inside were very friendly if not a little disorganised, there is juice, tea/coffee, toast, eggs, sausages and fruit available. There is a swimming pool next door, ok for a quick dip but not a pool you'd want to lay besides all day.

We stayed at the Ramada prior to our boat trip which I gave a glowing review to (you get what you pay for!).

If you're looking for a new clean tidy budget hotel this is great but it's not somewhere you come if you're looking for a relaxing beach holiday in Khao Lak.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank rycegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

My finace and i visited khao lak mohin tara for 2 weeks last month. We didnt know what to expect mainly beacause of the low price and the location. Once arrived all our fears dissapeared in an instant. We got greeted the traditional thai way by the receptionist who gave us the key to our room. We asked if we could get a room with entrance to the pool, this was arranged in a split second with no difficulties at all. She ordered our bage to be moved to the room while we completed the arrival form. Once in the room we were amazed by the space and the facilities in the room, everything was there to the smallest detail. The coffee, the lazy chairs, the hairdryier, waterboiler, the minibar and the phone and everything was spotless. Beds were sooooo comfortable!! There were some nice figures on the bed to welcome the guests. The entrance to the pool was great, to take a dive at 9pm or 7 am was no problem at all just out of the room and into the pool. Very clean pool area with wooden anti slip floors.

The rooms are cleaned 7 days a week and the minibar is refilled during cleaning aswell. The hotel offers a great thai roomservice menu which tastes great for little money. Everything is presented to you with a great smile and a big thaik you. I can not imagine how someone could call this staff rude or unpleasant at all...

The breakfast etc occurs at a samller building about 50 meters from the hotell. The variaty of food is very good from cold sandwitches to warm thai meals. Clean as anything and no problem with stomach. Now..the location of the hotel is not perfect but not half as bad as the previous comenter claims. There are 2 small stores nearby and a pharmacy, and then there is a large 7-11 store about 5-7 minutes walking distance.The hotel offers free of charge (many times a day) taxi transport to beaches and city center which is so amazingand cheap lol:)

I dont really know what to write about the hotel, it been a great and amazingly priceworthy experience, we loved the room, the facilities, the tours, the staff...yeah the staff they really go over hell and high water to make you feel as comfortable as you can be.

Try Mohin Tara, you wont be dissapointed!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
7 Thank Daxman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

We had booked and pre-paid five nights att Suwan Palm Hotel, a sister hotel to Mohin Tara, since we wanted a hotel at the beach.
But when we arrived, they wer fully booked, so we had to stay one night at the Mohin Tara instead. This was really disepointing...the location of the hotel was deep in the middle of nowhere, far away from the beach, resturants and shops. Nothing to do in the area. We talked to several disepointed guests.
The food in the hotel-resturant was expensive, breakfast was cold and bad and the staff was very rude.
They wanted to charge us for breakfast even since we already payed. We had to call the Suwan Palm Hotel to sort it out. They also wrongfully charged us for taking drinks in the minibar. Very annoying!
Couldn´t wait to get out of there!

No complaints about the rooms what so ever, they were big, clean and nice and the pool was clean and OK. But this didnt compensate the really bad location of the hotel and the rude staff.

But I have to say that Suwan Palm compensated us, when we checked in the next morning we were upgraded to a nice minisuite with seaview.

  • Liked — The nice room
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
2 Thank Nattfari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
Krathom Khaolak Resort
Krathom Khaolak Resort
#54 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#46 of 61 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
3.5 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#44 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tony Lodge
Tony Lodge
#60 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Baan Krating Khao Lak
#48 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
10.0 mi away
Loma Resort
Loma Resort
#47 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel

Address: 65/19 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Takuapa,, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner has retaken the hotel back from the tenant. He used to rent this hotel to other for more than 5 years. He has renovated and improved many aspects and will continue to make this hotel as the Boutique Hotel. It is located about 3 km away from Khaolak city but the hotel provides free shutter service to the city and to sister hotel the Suwan Palm Resort, which is located at the Nang Thong beach, the best beach in Khaolak then why to pay more. You stay at Mohintara and getting both different experience of local community and beach front feelings. The hotel is located near the fresh market and Khaolak Bus Terminal. It is quite windy as the hotel has big tropical forest garden at the hotel. We provide massage at our garden. We all will love this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Low Cost Holidays and Odigeo so you can book your Khaolak Mohin Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing