We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamuan Seafood Restaurant

Lamuan Seafood Restaurant
Nang Tong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 194 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Favourite for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We ate in lots of restaurants whist in Khao Lak and whilst this one had probably the worst table cloths ever - plastic in the heat at lunchtime - sticks to legs everything - but we had the best lunches and 2 excellent evening meals a real taste of Thailand. Baked chicken in a pineapple with cashew nuts was one amazing dish or coconut rice served in a coconut - absolutely delicious. We had a Pad Thai, beef spicy salad, said pineapple curry, rice, green curry (to die for) couple of glasses of wine and few Changs - all for around £25. Loved it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Eaten at much better places in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We went last night, the fishcakes were lovely but what followed let the place down. The whole red snapper looked very fresh we had it with garlic and lemon. It was okay in a place where most food is amazing! We also had chicken panang curry, it was overly Salty and a very small portion. It was in expensive but we would prefer to pay a little more and have better cooked food. I wouldn't go back as other places are far better there would be no need to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We eat here twice and found it good value food, nothing outstanding with plenty of options and reasonable price.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in Khao Lak for two weeks and so tried many restaurants in the area, and this one was recommended to us by a thai tailor so we gave it a go. In terms of quality of food vs value for money this was definitely one of the best. Yes the tablecloths are plastic, the decor a bit lack lustre and the service a bit hit and miss, but for a tasty, cheap, no-frills supper or lunch this place hit the spot on several occasions. We loved the coconut shakes, pad thai and papaya salad (non spicy as requested!),

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Finally! Local place we realllllly like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After trying out a couple of restaurants in Khao Lak, we finally found THE place! One of the guys at local dive shop recommended the place for the very good coconut shakes and we went there. It was AWESOME. So I took my family there tonight and I can only say, it was really really nice. Selection of food is huge and what is most important, they DO NOT HIDE kitchen. You can see straight in the kitchen when going to the bathroom and you will see all this fresh ingredients nicely sorted out and all this nice ladies preparing the dish just for you.

The price was as it should be and I just can't say enough about their shakes. Coconut is heaven!

Somebody complained about plastic tablecloth....man this is Thailand suburbia! Did you see everything else around you!? If you fancy an expensive chick restaurant there is some choice in Khao Lak and even though many people recommended some of this places we were heavily disappointed.

In Thailand this is the way I like my food! Will go there again tomorrow for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamuan Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Lamuan Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamuan Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.