We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silence, peace and joyfulness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa

Save Saved
You added Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   45 Moo2, Kukkak | Khao Lak and Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Silence, peace and joyfulness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have now stayed in Apsaras Villa with private pool for 2,5 weeks and have 3 more days to go. This place is fantastic! It is so clean, calm and beutiful. They have so much people working in and around the area to keep it really clean and fresh.

The staff here is wonderful, so friendly, polite, always smiling and gives us the best service. The activity manager Rabi is someone you should look for the first day and be friend with. He has helped us with a lot of fun to do (beach party, fruit carving, Lobster night, Tailor service, etc...), very caring that all is okey, and a great guy to chat with :-) He even set up yoga- and meditation classes for us two (while listening to the waves) just because we wanted to learn.

Breakfirst is lovely, we can stay almost until lunch just relaxing and having fun with the cute girls Mind and Porn. The hotel has three restaurants and we ate mostly in the one in the Villa area but also in beach bar restaurant Zeus. The Villa restaurant is lovely in the evening, calm, soft music and light, perfect service and lovely food (don't miss the red snapper with tamarind sauce). And not to forget sweet Ann, Gift and all colleagues in the receptions who always are happy and helpful in whatever questions we have.

The beach is amazing, long soft sand, clean and almost no people!!! You hear only the waves, not overcrowded, no one try to sell you stuff, etc... Lovely <3

This is a place for peace and calm in body and mind, just what we wanted for our honeymoon. We will be back to "our" Apsaras Villa :-)

Many thanks to everyone in Apsaras, no one is forgotten <3

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Villas with private pool and will recommend anyone to do the same. The villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsara. We hope that we will see you again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    181
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
102
275
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and found it just what I was looking for we wanted a relaxing holiday and that is what we got. We ate at the beach front bar and bistro the meals were very nice the Pad Thai was the best I have tasted in Thailand (i have stayed in a few resorts), we also walked along the beach to Memories Beach Bar for meals and drinks which was cheaper and nice but I prefered the hotel beach bar. There was a bus service which would take you into Khao Lak three times a day if you wanted to shop and try other resuarants.

The rooms were modern and cleaned each day - although I found the beds a bit hard for my liking.

There was always a variety for breakfast so you couldn't go hungry (i should know as I am not a cooked breakfast person and always found something I could eat).

The beach is fantastic we walked along every morning and walked for miles, sometimes we didn't pass anyone at all. We always got a sun bed but put our towels out when we went for breakfast as did others, The umbrellas could do with being a bit stronger as they are a bit flimsy.

Room Tip: If you love beaches this is the place to be and relaxing in quiet surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras. We hope that we will see you again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after staying for 9 days, and whilst our time there was good, there are much better resorts in Thailand for the money. This hotel was offered to us as an alternative to the one we chose, due to a promotion.
The hotel is set in a remote location, which requires a taxi (£7 each way), or the shuttlebus service (which becomes very busy), in order to get to the centre of Khao Lak, where all the restaurants and ATM's are. There are some local restaurants around 15 mins walk away, where the food and prices are very good. There is also a restaurant on the beach next door called "Memories", which is very good, and gets very busy due to most of the hotel heading next door for dinner, so you will need to book a table to avoid disappointment.
One major issue with the resort is the beach, the hotel is next to a river that runs directly into the sea, and twice a day when the tide goes out, the water turns brown and frothy as sewage is drawn down the river. On one day the smell was terrible, and the beach was littered with dead fish, which even the local birds wouldn't eat!
Overall the hotel is ok, clean and well maintained, but it is not being used to its full potential. The swim up bar was never open, and when we enquired as to why it was not open, we were told that there had been complaints that other guests were getting too drunk there?? The bar prices would have prevented this, as their drinks were the most expensive that we have encountered in our travels around Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously.

We take your comment seriously and have raised the situation in the meeting. We contacted and discussed this issue with our neighbour and asked them to take further action.

Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras.We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a deluxe room but on arrival we were upgraded to a villa - which was lovely. The resort area for the villas was really good - a restaurant, bar and great pools. We did go over to the main hotel which was busier in comparison to the villa resort area for dinner at the beach bar one evening - the food was reasonable, not brilliant. The breakfast was excellent - good choice and quality. We used the spa which was good value and a really good treatment and experience. The beach was lovely, really quiet and a long stretch of beach so never crowded. There was a good beach bar and restaurant on the beach (not part of the hotel) - Memories - which was very nice. There were other restaurants and hotels in walking distance also.
We had a car, but the hotel runs shuttle buses into the main part of town - the hotel is outside Koh Lak.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the main hotel rooms - but the villas were lovely. We had a garden villa but so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras. We hope that we will see you again.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a great time in the hotel, Lovely staff, nice and clean room with pool access. Take us about 15 mins to the city. There are shuttle bus 3 times a day and motorbike for rent. WIFI free in the public area. The food is not bad,there are 2 restuarants in the hotel with 2 bars. Outdoor Thai massage is fabulous,Overall is very good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Pool access is nice if you want to be in close to the pool area with a bit of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras. We hope that we will see you again.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Can't fault the holiday at all, really had a great time in Thailand, people were so friendly and a pleasure to be around. However, The hotel..... On arrival after more than 24hrs travelling were told we couldn't check in to our room for 1.5hrs not a good start if I am honest. When we did finally get to our rooms the baggage still hadn't arrived so still had to wait to have a shower! Room was spacious, clean and tidy if a little dated but certainly comfortable. I loved the Hard bed but thats just my preference.

Communication within the hotel was poor, we were booked for the free Thai cooking class and when we arrived at the restauarant just before 10am (when it was due to start!) no-one came. so after 40 minutes I went to reception to be told the venue had been moved to the Villa restuarant, Well thanks for telling us. Because we were 40 minutes late we said it's not worth attending but then was told by Rabbi (guy taking the lesson) that we could've turned up late! Well what a waste of time that was!

The parasols around the pool area were certainly not adequate for the job, at least 12 times in the fortnight we were there parasols blew out of the holders and either hit other guests or ended up at the bottom of the pool!! There are lots of areas that need attention, including the decked areas that are deteriorating in the heat but have not repaired or replaced. Steps down to the beach are dangerous, the stairwells could do with more cleaning.

Don't get me wrong it sound's like I am making the hotel out to be something out the dark ages. It was comfortable and quiet and a good location to relax in, it was just not up to the 4 star standard I was expecting and this I will be taking up with Thomson.

Now for the good points - don't eat or drink at the hotel, cross the little inlet or the bridge over to Memories! Oh my what a place, the food is out of the world, the beer/drinks are cheap, the staff are fantastic, especially, Bibby, Bea, Oi and Dom. The Atmosphere is amazing the best place to be when you are relaxing and want to enjoy some good old traditional Thai life!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. Your comment is very useful for us.

Regarding to your comment , The hotel standard check-in time is 2 pm and we would like to aplogise for an inconvenience that occured. We have checked with the housekeeping department and they have do their best to every guests to get their room on the arrival. We are also comment to our Front Office Manger on what had been happended upon your arrival with your luggage.

We take your comment seriously and have discussed with all related departments in our organisation.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in a pool villa. It was a very great experience. The Villa was equiped very well, we didn't miss anything and we enjoyed this marvelous stay. If you like thaifood you have to eat at Kay's seafood directly on the beach. It's a little restaurant just a few minutes to walk. We had beautiful sundowner dinners there.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa

Address: 45 Moo2, Kukkak | Khao Lak and Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior room Deluxe room Pool Access room Garden Villa room Pool Villa room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsaras Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Apsaras Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;