We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host but it needs updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Resort
56/6 Moo5, Tambon Khukkhak | Amper Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 Khao Lak B&B and Inns
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great host but it needs updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights about a week ago ( booked in advance).

Good points - the owner Kees is very helpful and friendly. It is only a few minutes to the beach, which is a nice beach, check out Lay restaurant on the other side of the channel.

Bad points - we were in the main building and our room was very hot. The bed and the pillows were too hard, the walls were dirty and had not been decorated very well at all. I am afraid out of 4 people no one had a good nights sleep for almost three days.

I got the feeling that Khoa Lak was quite expensive as there were quite a few resorts so you could argue that Amsterdam is good value for money, but I have stayed in much nicer places for less than 500 baht a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdamresort, Owner at Amsterdam Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank the reviewer for her input.

The reviewer and her party wanted the cheapest possible accommodation by all means, so they really couldn’t expect so much. Nowhere in the Khao Lak beach area they could have found anything cheaper.
We have a range of different rooms and bungalows, and of course the rooms in the main building, which are under the restaurant, can get a bit hot and stuffy, but you get what you pay for.
As far as the beds being hard, we use spring mattrasses, which cost more then any other type of mattress you can get in Thailand. Besides that, a hotel mattress will always be too hard for one person, and too soft for somebody else.
Khao Lak is an extremely humid area, so especially outside walls will show marks left by the climate. We will give them a new lick of paint though, thanks for the suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our little bungalow was quite spacious, private bathroom, no air-conditioning but mosquito nets, little terrace, all in all pretty clean; it's very close to the beach and little restaurants.
The owner will help find you anything you need and you can reach most of the places with a rented bike!
For us, it was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently on tour...
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in Amsterdam resort for two nights in early Oct. Owner Kees was very helpful, gave us a home made guide book with descriptions of local sites with detailed directions. Also sorted us out scooter rental and gave us a lift to the bus stop when we left.
The bungalows are spacious with all you need (double bed, a/c or fan, hot shower, etc) but although the bedding was clean, the whole place felt like it needed a good deep clean. Room was dusty, bathroom grubby and didn't smell too sweet. Also needed re grouting as worms came up from the spaces between the floor tiles after using the shower. During our stay bar was closed, looked like some work was being done on it. Can probably put some of these negatives down to it being off season, but at 600B a night for an a/c room and 150B a day for scooter hire its hard to complain.
Being on a tight budget, for us price came first and unless we came into some money I would stay at the Amsterdam resort again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The owner is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are reasonably spacious, clean and well-equipped. Honestly, in terms of the price, the place is steal! At the end of the lane, just round the corner, you even have the option of hiring bicycles and roaming the town...was a lot of fun! There is also a queue of bars and restaurants along the beach, barely a 10min walk...I would strongly recommend this place to anyone who intends to stay at Khao lak..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

It's ten minutes walk from the beach, and ten minutes from the main strip, but it's simple clean and nice. The best bit is definitely the helpful owner who can tell you lots. Rooms are good value, but you get what you pay for! They are a bit dark and hot, but there is a verandah with chairs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I only just learned about Trip Advisor. We loved this place. It was home for us. We were so well taken care of that none of the minor things others have mentioned mattered. We were even invited to spend the family New Years celebration with the owner and his family watching the fireworks from the roof. Just wonderful. We had initially planned to travel more but felt so settled, we stayed for a week. When we went to khao sok for a couple of days, Kaas let us leave a bunch of our stuff in hisnown quarters. If we ever go back, we wouldn't think twice about staying here again!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Only Down side is that it has no pool but you don't need one when the sea is calm en warm!
Good value for your money,
The owner helps you perfect with planning daytrips.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Resort

Address: 56/6 Moo5, Tambon Khukkhak | Amper Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low budget resort 200 meters from Bang Niang Beach. The resort features a variety of bungalows, and rooms in the main building. There is a breezy open air restaurant on the second floor, which offers Thai and international food. There is an attached travel agency, and there are motorcycles for rent. Free wireless internet, or the internet room can be used for a charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Resort to your Saves list