We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Andamania Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Andamania Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Andamania Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   63 moo.3 Tambol Kukkak | Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Davenport, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was a great place to stay for about 40.00 US dollars .
We had scooters so we got around okay. It is a bit far from shopping.
They could do a bit of maintenance & have a place to hang your wet clothes.
The chairs on the large balcony were horrible & there was no table on the balcony.
The food was good but a bit expensive for Thailand.
The service was very good. The pool was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room on the second floor. It's a bit far from the pool & restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
43
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Everything here is amazing. The beach is gorgeous, the rooms the size of a small flat and the restaurant is great.

One of the most friendliest staff I've ever encountered in a resort.
Beach bar is great and there is a tiny (tad bit overpriced) supermarket.

Once you're here, you don't need to go anywhere.
Which is good, cause you're quite far from town.
5 out 5, 10 out of 10 and A+.

This is paradise.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Andamania is an extremely good value hotel on a beautiful peaceful beach.
The rooms are very spacious and well equipped and look out on to lovely gardens or the pool.
The beach is quiet, but has a number of extremely good value restaurants scattered along it, so no need to go far to eat.
However there is transport down to Khao Lak, where there is a little market and adequate shopping plus bars and restaurants.
The hotel would be best suited to people who mainly want to focus on enjoying the peace and simple eating out in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are especially good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Not too busy, close to the beach, nice pool and good facilities. Almost every night we walked along the beach to the first restaurant (close to JW Marriott) and we had a lot of nice meals there. The kids loved this place and the pool were perfect for them. The sound of grasshoppers, frogs and bugs was nice, beautiful garden and dreamlike view from the breakfast balkony. The staff was always smiling and very helpful. Small, but good spa. Good thing we were 10 min drive from the noisy Khao Lak city.

Not top grade due to strong smell in the room (not sure of what), a bit boring breakfast (who cares, I ate the view for breakfast), no nearby supermarked (you have to go to town by taxi - 200 bath one way) and the beach bar was a bit boring.

Great place for families!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is a beautiful and very well kept resort, right on the beach. The beachbar was awesome, and so was the staff workinh there. Achii (sorry if the name is completely wrong) was the coolest. We had tons of fun. The poolarea, and garden are both beautiful, as are the rooms and the rest of the resort. Mr Ting (and the rest of the great staff) will take good care of you, and Mr Ting knows alot about Khao Lak. Ask him and he'll know, or arrange it for you.

I had a personal problem with one (of 4 or 5) of the resceptionists... thats it. Otherwise Awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Andamania is a lovely place but... Its location is its biggest advantage but we could't help but feel isolated. It is a bit too far to walk to the village, taxi one way only costs 90 baht but you will pay doubble the price to come back so sometimes it was just better to pay a bit more and eat at the hotel or in one of the beach restauransts then bothere with the whole trip to town which didn't have much to offer any way. Hotel has the biggest rooms we ever enountered in a hotel, they are nicely decorated and have nice feel to them but would certainly do with a bit of a face lift and definitelly would benefit from a bit more thourough cleaning (lots of dust on ornaments and lapms). As in previous review the reception staff didn't seem to engage with the guest too much. Other staff seemed very nice but we felt as if a lot of them were at a loose end and the hotel and guest would benefit if they cared a bit more e.g. during our whole stay the pool area was never tidied up, there were empty glasses, cans etc. We never had the pleasure to meet famous Mr Ting - he didn't quiet make himself knowen as 'the man' to us so we don't really know what all the fuss was about in the previous reviews. Lovely gardens, nice beach, few good eateries on the beach, hotel food rathere nice but we only dined there once so maybe we were just lucky as we have heard few bad comments about it. Breakfast was nice at the beginning when there was a buffet but after few days most things were taken away and were replaced with a la carta menu which baffeled us a bit, we still got nice food but I was disappointed withe the lack of choice - could be down to the low season approching. Hotel would benefit if it provided any kind of entertainment for the guests but there was nothing, very limited choice on the telly and only the beach bar to keep you amused during rainy day. Not even table tennis, nothing for the kids so when it rained we were getting really bored. We would definitelly recommend massage at the hotel - very good and reasonably priced and the staff was fantastic.
Alltogether nice hotel but if the staff and management cared more it would be a better place. It would be also nice if staff has made the effort to remove some of the rubbish and debris from the beach.
We recommend booking Thai cooking course at the Everyday House with fantastic chef and teacher Goi (not the Everyday Lazy House).

Room Tip: Pool side ground floor rooms are great for easy access to restaurant, beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we arrived we experienced a very low engaged receptionist. The room was big but in a bad condition: stains on the bed sheets, very strong smell in the room and not very clean. We had absolute no privacy as it was ground floor and due to windows. When we wanted to change the room they did not react. we discussed about 2 h with the help of the travel agent. They just offered us the more expensive 'villa' with small pool. Only when we decided to leave the hotel and asked to get refunded they offered us an alternative room on the 1st floor. Room was ok but definitely not clean.
Everything is extremely expensive incl. shuttle service, taxi to centre, rental service and restaurant. There are some nice alternative beach restaurants with good prices and high quality. In particular Mamma's Greeting is very recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor - not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Andamania Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andamania Beach Resort

Address: 63 moo.3 Tambol Kukkak | Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Andamania Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Andamania Khaolak, an elegant boutique beach resort by the Andaman Sea. Just one hour from Phuket International Airport, 51 guest residences nestle cozily under the canopy of coconut groves, surrounded by rich tropical rain forest and magnificent mountain landscape. Private access leads directly to an expensive sandy beach and the crystal clear waters of the serene Khuk Khak Bay, providing year-round exciting recreations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Andamania Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andamania Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Andamania Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.