We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Andamania Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Andamania Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Andamania Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   63 moo.3 Tambol Kukkak | Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful and very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Not too busy, close to the beach, nice pool and good facilities. Almost every night we walked along the beach to the first restaurant (close to JW Marriott) and we had a lot of nice meals there. The kids loved this place and the pool were perfect for them. The sound of grasshoppers, frogs and bugs was nice, beautiful garden and dreamlike view from the breakfast balkony. The staff was always smiling and very helpful. Small, but good spa. Good thing we were 10 min drive from the noisy Khao Lak city.

Not top grade due to strong smell in the room (not sure of what), a bit boring breakfast (who cares, I ate the view for breakfast), no nearby supermarked (you have to go to town by taxi - 200 bath one way) and the beach bar was a bit boring.

Great place for families!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    61
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
61
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is a beautiful and very well kept resort, right on the beach. The beachbar was awesome, and so was the staff workinh there. Achii (sorry if the name is completely wrong) was the coolest. We had tons of fun. The poolarea, and garden are both beautiful, as are the rooms and the rest of the resort. Mr Ting (and the rest of the great staff) will take good care of you, and Mr Ting knows alot about Khao Lak. Ask him and he'll know, or arrange it for you.

I had a personal problem with one (of 4 or 5) of the resceptionists... thats it. Otherwise Awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Andamania is a lovely place but... Its location is its biggest advantage but we could't help but feel isolated. It is a bit too far to walk to the village, taxi one way only costs 90 baht but you will pay doubble the price to come back so sometimes it was just better to pay a bit more and eat at the hotel or in one of the beach restauransts then bothere with the whole trip to town which didn't have much to offer any way. Hotel has the biggest rooms we ever enountered in a hotel, they are nicely decorated and have nice feel to them but would certainly do with a bit of a face lift and definitelly would benefit from a bit more thourough cleaning (lots of dust on ornaments and lapms). As in previous review the reception staff didn't seem to engage with the guest too much. Other staff seemed very nice but we felt as if a lot of them were at a loose end and the hotel and guest would benefit if they cared a bit more e.g. during our whole stay the pool area was never tidied up, there were empty glasses, cans etc. We never had the pleasure to meet famous Mr Ting - he didn't quiet make himself knowen as 'the man' to us so we don't really know what all the fuss was about in the previous reviews. Lovely gardens, nice beach, few good eateries on the beach, hotel food rathere nice but we only dined there once so maybe we were just lucky as we have heard few bad comments about it. Breakfast was nice at the beginning when there was a buffet but after few days most things were taken away and were replaced with a la carta menu which baffeled us a bit, we still got nice food but I was disappointed withe the lack of choice - could be down to the low season approching. Hotel would benefit if it provided any kind of entertainment for the guests but there was nothing, very limited choice on the telly and only the beach bar to keep you amused during rainy day. Not even table tennis, nothing for the kids so when it rained we were getting really bored. We would definitelly recommend massage at the hotel - very good and reasonably priced and the staff was fantastic.
Alltogether nice hotel but if the staff and management cared more it would be a better place. It would be also nice if staff has made the effort to remove some of the rubbish and debris from the beach.
We recommend booking Thai cooking course at the Everyday House with fantastic chef and teacher Goi (not the Everyday Lazy House).

Room Tip: Pool side ground floor rooms are great for easy access to restaurant, beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we arrived we experienced a very low engaged receptionist. The room was big but in a bad condition: stains on the bed sheets, very strong smell in the room and not very clean. We had absolute no privacy as it was ground floor and due to windows. When we wanted to change the room they did not react. we discussed about 2 h with the help of the travel agent. They just offered us the more expensive 'villa' with small pool. Only when we decided to leave the hotel and asked to get refunded they offered us an alternative room on the 1st floor. Room was ok but definitely not clean.
Everything is extremely expensive incl. shuttle service, taxi to centre, rental service and restaurant. There are some nice alternative beach restaurants with good prices and high quality. In particular Mamma's Greeting is very recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor - not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First off, completely ignore the "Dirty 1 star" review. Hilarious review from an obviously unseasoned traveler. This hotel is a little farther north of the action in Khao Lak. It's not the Four Seasons, and I wouldn't want it to be. We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the town. The hotel has a nice breakfast buffet that we ate everyday. The dinner is ok, but we preferred to get out and explore dining around town. Nice bar in the sand at the beach. The bar is a little over-priced, but you can't beat the view. The room was very spacious with nice character. Big shower and big tub! Large nice pool, but why not swim in the ocean? You're in Thailand! Great thing about this hotel is that the entire beach is mostly yours because the next hotel is a ten minute walk north. On that walk there are some other beach restaurants with great food. Finally, there's Mr. Ting. He's the "go to guy" for the hotel for just about anything . Just ask him. (Don't ask for anything illegal though) Mr. Ting is quite a character and one of the nicest people we've met in Thailand. I highly recommend this hotel for people who like an uncrowded beach and don't need anyone pampering them. Say hi to Ting for me! Also, walk on the beach south and have a cold beer at the Lek Bar...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights found the room clean and comfortable. I think it would be better if they had a cafe or shop on the premises open longer hours as it didnt appear to have room service, I also found the staff on reception not very willing to assist or offer advice, breakfast was just acceptable, but lovely meals of a night time and loved dancing on the sand. I was very grateful meeting Mr Ting who was very conducive to guests in assisting them to have a relaxing and hassle free holiday. Trish Foster

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wy wife and I visited The Andamania Beach Resort in March 2013 after being in Bangkok the week prior. Our week stay was just what we had imagined it to be - very relaxing. Manage your expectations and know that you are *not* staying at the JW Marriot. If you're looking for an upscale spa with activites, multiple places to eat and shop on site, a gym or business center and everyone who works there speaks English - then this isn't the place for you.

If you're looking for a locally owned, boutique resort with lovely grounds, immaculate rooms, non-intrusive polite staff, above average food, a tiki hut bar on a huge beach, a clean not crowded pool, outdoor massages from skilled Thai massage therapists then this is the place for you.

We met people from all over Europe, swam in the warm Andaman Sea, safely walked on the beach day or night and ate at some of the best local Thai family beach shack places ever.

One of the highlights of the trip was meeting the memorable Mr. Ting. He is the host of the resort and made our trip enjoyable. Need a quick lift to Khao Lak City? No worries. Need a place to purchase a womans sun gaurd top on short notice? He had "a guy". Need a birthday cake for a celebration on the beach? Got ya covered. Want to know about the devastating 2004 tsunami? He knows what happend and will let you borrow a DVD. Want a cold Chang beer or fruit smoothe? He can make that happen too. Just a warm Thai gentlemen who truly made our trip better.

The other highlight was eating at the local family owned places on the beach. Our favorite by far (and we ate at most of them) was Ma ma's Greetings about a 15 minute walk up the beach. If you love inexpensive, fresh, home cooked Thail food you will love this place.

Interestingly, but not surprisingly because it is so far away, we were the only Americans at the resort.

The best compliment we can give is "we'll be back"!

Room Tip: On a budget - stay in the least expensive rooms facing the Andaman Sea. You may not see the sea but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Lak
2.2 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#44 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.0 mi away
Takolaburi Cultural & Spa Resort
2.6 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sudala Beach Resort
Sudala Beach Resort
#48 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Baan Krating Khao Lak
#50 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andamania Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andamania Beach Resort

Address: 63 moo.3 Tambol Kukkak | Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andamania Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Andamania Khaolak, an elegant boutique beach resort by the Andaman Sea. Just one hour from Phuket International Airport, 51 guest residences nestle cozily under the canopy of coconut groves, surrounded by rich tropical rain forest and magnificent mountain landscape. Private access leads directly to an expensive sandy beach and the crystal clear waters of the serene Khuk Khak Bay, providing year-round exciting recreations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Andamania Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andamania Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Andamania Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.