We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail hour like no other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7/9 Petchkasim Road | Laem Kaen, Thai Muang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Cape Town
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Cocktail hour like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We did not infact stay at this 9-suite boutique hotel, as we were already booked in at a hotel down the way, but loved spending time at this beautifully situated and quieter hotel on the beachfront at Khao Lak. Our sunset cocktails delivered with a smile and served to us whilst lounging on couches on the beach and listening to cool vibes from Adam's vast music collection, were a daily treat. The cocktail list is extensive - try the Lychee and Lemongrass Martini. David and I were delighted at the personal service and uber friendly hosts, who treated us as friends, even inviting us to join them for a delicious beach dinner on our last night. Their restaurant was due to re-open soon thereafter. Luckana Wadee is a quiet, relaxed and beautifully appointed boutique hotel where you will be pampered and accommodated in very comfortable surroundings. Should we return to Khao Lak this would be our first accommodation choice.

  • Liked — The location, the vibe and the superb service
  • Disliked — we did not stay there, so cannot comment
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Since we went inside the resort we realize that we were in a great place. Luck, the owner was really friendly and helpful with us all the time and we really felt home. The few rooms are all aroud the patio and the swiming pool and all of them very very big and nice. Beautiful food and breakfast (the chef did a really good job. thank you !!). They have a nice bar on the seashore with table and chairs and sofa where luck's son makes really nice drink. We spend there 3 or 4 night and we really appreciate the atmosphere and the nice talks with luck untill late (he is really a special person). They look after us and they did our holiday special.

Vincenzo e Federica Italy

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We had booked ourselves 5 nights at the large Emerald Hotel via the web so that we could see if we liked the area and orient ourselves a bit, then choose either to stay there or move on. We were lucky enough to find a room and a warm welcome at the newly opened Luckanawadee almost next door. We nearly missed it because all you see from the beach is a stylish bar in a beautiful tropical garden and a glimpse of the marble infinity pool beyond.

Luckanawadee has been tastefully designed in an updated colonial architectural style with stunning use of marble, glass, teak and concrete offset with giant potted tropical plants and an avenue of bottle palms. It's designed as a collection of small buildings with a central kitchen-lounge where you can get a fabulous breakfast, personally prepared, and sip a coffee or a juice.

The beautiful pool has the latest water treatment system, so no smell of chlorine. The rooms have nice flat screen TV's and DVD plus satellite movies. The beds are comfortable and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well designed, with nice personal touches (like flowers laid on new towels).

Adam, Luck and Rinke welcomed us warmly and really made us feel instantly at home. You might be beginning to think that I'm getting paid for this but seriously, this place exceeded my dreams of a beach holiday in Thailand and I'm just really grateful to the staff for creating such a beautiful place and opening it to us humble punters - at very reasonable prices too. I could go on and on but I think I've said enough. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a more intimate style of hotel.

  • Liked — Stylish, comfortable, welcoming
  • Disliked — We managed to block the toilet!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

We have just returned from a week spent in southern Thailand. Great vacation, one of the best we ever had! During such week we spent one night at the hotel, which we found very pleasant. We arrived at the hotel via taxi to discover that the place is not very well known (it is in fact very new!) and we ended up being unloaded at the neighbouring Briza... After a little walk we then finally arrived at the hotel where we were welcomed by a north European lady (supposedly the manager...) which led us to our room. The room was very stylish (with a 42" plasma!) and we particularly appreciated the marble interior contrast with dark wood furniture. The hotel pool is again very stylish, but probably too shallow to be of any use... Bar and beachfront again very well designed and definitely breathtaking, when combined with the golden beach and fabulous sunset. The day of our stay kitchen was closed but the lady sent us to neighbour restaurant (Jo's) which was exactly as described (cosy and good!) Only negative was a strong odour coming from the WC which persisted despite the presence of various perfuming agents... Also, we could not find towels in the room and we got only small ones after a first request (large ones came after a second...) Now, why don't we give it excellent rating? The hotel is definitely very good, but we found it a bit "cold" when compared to great "warmth" shown everywhere by Thai people. This is further worsened by their much advertised “Feel at Home Philosophy”. The sensation we felt could be due either to the intrinsic management attitude or to the fact that we only spent one night in a place clearly conceived for longer stays... We prefer to think of the second reason. In any case, bravo the owners for creating such a place!

  • Liked — Style and beach
  • Disliked — Cold management attitude
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort

Address: 7/9 Petchkasim Road | Laem Kaen, Thai Muang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beautiful and exotic Khao Lak Beach and the turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, the Luckanwadee is the most exclusive and private resort experiences available in Khao Lak. We have a "Feel at Home Philosophy", making Luckanawadee the most inviting choice for discerning travelers, and with all the comforts of home. We want you to feel as if we were a family friend, and we invited you to come and stay at our Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.