We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7/9 Petchkasim Road | Laem Kaen, Thai Muang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 59 hotels in Khao Lak
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We wanted a lazy laid-back start to our holiday with room to unwind
and this is exactly what we got at Luckanawadee. A small beachfront resort with no frills, set in gardens with a good-sized pool with plenty of room for relaxing . It is a small resort with nothing in the way of extras, but what it does have is charm , very relaxed atmosphere , friendly helpful staff, no formalities , a great place to start a holiday. No restaurant is not a problem, as there are numerous local restaurants a short stroll away, There is however a communal dinning room and kitchen where guests can help themselves to tea, coffee or juices anytime , and this is where breakfast is served, home cooked, made to order breakfast, a nice touch and very informal . A wonderful find , we will back for another taste of Luckanawadee's unassuming hospitality .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a lovely boutique resort, just 10 rooms. We stayed in a beachfront suite which was very spacious with a large bathroom, we also looked at the garden suites which were just as good just not quite such a good position.The resort is right on the beach with a lovely pool and gardens.They only offer bed and breakfast but there are plenty of cheap restaurants very close by.The breakfast is made to order and you can order anything you want. There are a few things this resort doesn't have,like no phone in room,no dressing gowns,no room service and no tea and coffee in rooms, but these are all things you can do without, In the kitchen just steps from your room there is tea and coffee machines,which you can help yourself to anytime of the day or night also juice and fruit. This truly is a unique resort, and feels like home away from home. The staff are lovely friendly people,there if you want anything but stay in the background, which makes this a really laid back resort. We enjoyed our stay immensely and certainly will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We decided to splash out on a bit of luxury for New Year's Eve this year and stumbled across this resort. Boutique is a very good description of it, as compared to the other resorts up the beach it is tiny. This is much to its advantage, however! What a lovely, relaxing little place. No jostling for position by the pool....free drink on the beach when you arrive. Jacuzzi bath, air con and a beautiful gardens all made one night very special. The beach is on the doorstep and there is a bustling little town just a stroll the other way. A wonderful little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: The garden suite had the jacuzzi bath and a little terrace to watch the birds and the fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This is a unique resort but beware of reviews that major on the personal touch. Most reviews talk about Zack or Luke or ? as making this a special experience. We stayed 3 nights with friends and didn't sight any of those named in the reviews. Not that we weren’t looked after. The experience was polite, casual, unassuming, refreshing and everything worked in a most relaxed and friendly fashion but not to the level expressed in previous reviews.
With that out of the way, the 9/10 room beachfront resort is wonderful for a casual relaxed holiday. Low density assures you of room to move in a relaxed, peaceful, and friendly environment.
As to facilities the previous reviews cover this well although unlike a previous review there are safes in the rooms, however on or stay the key to change the codes was locked in the office safe and Zak or Luke or Luck had and they were not there so, no safes. This probably sums up how casual it is.
Yes booking is a problem and you probably need to factor in your time to confirm a booking; it was quite exhausting; although for mature travellers it ended up well worth the effort.
Khoa Lak itself is quite and slowly getting more touristy. It is still a long way away from the activity of Patong, Kho Samui, etc.
Luckanawardee provides breakfast only which are made to order and quite good. Local restaurants are generally accessed by taxi/car and are OK.
Well worth going and only about a 1 hour drive north of Phuket airport.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a casual and relaxed experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Luckanawadee is a unique property in South Khao Lak - even with a couple of hiccups, I will never forget our 4 night stay. Hubby & I got a fantastic rate dealing direct with Luckanawadee, and we stayed in one of the 2 beachfront villas. The pool was just outside our door, and the lovely beach just a stroll over the grass. We were met late at night by Adam, one of the owners - he had a beautiful cocktail waiting for us. Our room was gorgeous with one of the best kingsize beds I have ever slept in. Beautiful bathroom with lovely ammenities - so spacious. The little things that weren't perfect:
Satellite TV at the time didn't have any English speaking channels at night - apparently this is going to change.
Water pressure in the shower was not great - but this was rectified during our stay.
Air Conditioning was placed in the wrong area, as it became a bit hot in bed sometimes. There is a bit cooling fan as well as the air-conditioning.However, every room/villa is different, and the other beachfront villa had the a/c near the bed, which was great - completely different layout to our villa. Both villas are beautiful though. I had a look at the Junior suite & Garden villas - each one is unique in it's own way and beautiful touches throughout.
Breakfast - what can I say! Amazing!!!! You get asked what you would like, with suggestions being made - the staff will make anything you want. We usually had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (lots of it) and the other couple on their honeymoon often had magnificent pancakes - Yum. All served with beautiful coffee & fresh fruit etc.
Just across from our villa was the "communal" kitchen/restaurant table/free computer/lounge/dvd's etc where you could help yourself 24/7 to whatever was there - just amazing - unlike any other place we have ever been to. No such thing as only 2 bottles of water per day - it's all there with fruit juice, flavoured milk, coffee maker, selection of teas etc.
Adam & Luck (the owners) have a lovely dog, Ghengis, who also greets you every day.
There is no other place on the beachfront that is like Luckanawadee - all the other resorts are quite large, with lots of sunbeds etc. We had the pool to ourself most of the time - Adam even threw in a great lilo to use in the pool.He told us we could keep it, but it remains at Luckanawadee now, for the guest to use.
The boys will go out of their way to make your stay a great one. The 1 day where hubby & I were both sick, Luck organised medication (at no cost) and kept on bringing over Jasmine tea for us.
Our stay at Luckanawadee was far too short - it is one place that we would just love to own and manage ourself - a couple of tiny things to change (only slightly) and I think this place could be an award winning "boutique" property. Luckanawadee is Paradise in every way.
Thank you Adam, Luck & Ghengis for a truly memorable stay - good luck in the future.
Sandy & John

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This is THE place to stay in Khao Lak!
This hotel is beautiful, peaceful, and literally right on the beach.
The staff and the owners were friendly, helpful, and even sent us back home one small bag that my daughter had forgotten in the room!
When you see all the other resorts around absolutely crowded, you feel happy to be in your wonderful 9 rooms boutique hotel, with the pool almost just for yourself, with free Wifi so as to surf the Internet while the kids are playing!
The rooms are huge, spotlessly clean, with huge TV and DVD player (and loads of DVD to choose from in the kitchen) and best of all is the breakfast. You can get what ever you want for breakfast: from scrambled eggs and smoked salmon to fresh raspberry pancakes!
No rush, no queue at the buffet line...you ask and you get whatever you want, whenever you want (early breakfast before diving is not a problem).
And best of all, the open kitchen where you can go and help yourself during the day: fresh fruits, juices, cereals, fresh coffee...Everything is available for free all day.
Just one drawback: it is so difficult to book...the online reservation system on the hotel website did not work, and the answers to our reservations inquiries were long to come back...In the end, we booked through an online Agency.
But anyway, I am so glad we booked at Luckanawadee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Where to start with Luckana Wadee? Well, it really is a unique and memorable experience, the owners Adam and Luck make the experience more like a visit to friends at their gorgeous sea front villa, rather than a regular hotel. They took the time to ensure we always had everything we needed, but also spent their own time taking us to a local festival, and on a seperate evening organising a fantastic meal for all the guests of great seafood from the local market. But none of this is done with a hard sell or profit in mind (the meal cost us less than we spent in many local restaurants), just a genuine desire to meet people and make them feel happy.

The setting is also lovely, between the villas (which are spacious and have some cool furnishings) and the long sandy beach is a small garden with bar set to one side, which is a great place to watch the sun set, or just relax in the shade during the day, if the beach gets too hot. Also because there are only ten rooms/villas it never has that crowed feel of other hotels futher along the beach, no need to get up early for good sun loungers.

If you're looking for a low key, friendly place to unwind this place ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort

Address: 7/9 Petchkasim Road | Laem Kaen, Thai Muang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beautiful and exotic Khao Lak Beach and the turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, the Luckanwadee is the most exclusive and private resort experiences available in Khao Lak. We have a "Feel at Home Philosophy", making Luckanawadee the most inviting choice for discerning travelers, and with all the comforts of home. We want you to feel as if we were a family friend, and we invited you to come and stay at our Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luckanawadee Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.