We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Bite-best and most tasty experience in Tanzania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bite

Big Bite
Swahili Road, Arusha, Tanzania
+255754311474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: $5 - $7
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Jerusalem District, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big Bite-best and most tasty experience in Tanzania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After travelling around for 3 weeks I and my daughter discovered this marvelous place.Besides the great food,the very creative owner has all sorts of other surprices(go and find out).The last one was that he arranged someone to take you to your hotel after it becomes dark.Should not be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahoul J, Manager at Big Bite, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for writing a review. It was our great pleasure to serve you. I am very grateful you mentioned our new service of walking you back to your destination. I am happy you and your daughter enjoy. We look forward to meeting you soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jönköping
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had the most delicious indian food served with warm and professional service mindedness that exceeds international 5 star restaurants. Go here. Eat here. It is the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahoul J, Owner at Big Bite, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank You. It was wonderful to serve you and we look forward to your next visit. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spot on, authentic Indian Cuisine, even in a power outage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Although may not look up to much from the outside, do not be fooled by this. We were quite dubious before entering as looked rustic and unclean from the outside, However, when we entered it was clear that it was a nice small restaurant and the owner spoke great English and quickly made us feel welcome. After about 10 minutes of enjoying a few beers and some poppadoms the whole city of Arusha plunged into darkness. This didn't seem to phase anyone within the restaurant and before we knew it small LED lights kept the place mildly illuminated. The food took a bit of time to come but nothing drastic and when it came was agreed that the wait was due to everything being freshly made there and then. we each had a naan, rice and curry dish each and was fantastic. All left full and more than satisfied. The amount of spice that anyone wants can be selected so can suitable for chilli lovers or those not so fond on the spice. Would recoommend to anyone visiting the region and looking to try some Indian cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“You will enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

we ate at this restaurant one time the food quality is good and prices is acceptable but the best things of this restaurant is the good environment and good design of every thing .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrahdale, W.A.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big bite! Big thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was so pleased to stumble on this little gem. We walked into this tiny restaurant and were not sure what to expect. There are not many tables and we were the only on there (we were early and it filled up so we gave up our table when the bill came to accommodate the new arrivals.)
Rahul, the owner greeted us very warmly and guided us through the menu. Both my friend and I followed his recommendations and were blown away by the flavour and the texture on the food.
Rahul also offers a take-away service and he entertained us with story of delivering Indian food in Arusha. This included encounters with leopards and buffalo!
If you are going to Arusha this is a MUST! The very best Indian in town - maybe the country!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bite also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Big Bite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.