We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilboru Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ilboru Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Ilboru Safari Lodge
P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife, me and our two litte children ha spent this March two weeks int the Ilboru Safary lodge. From here we have made several trips to see Arusha, its surrounding and the landscape of Tanzania. It is a perfect place so start and recover from safari tours. The lodge has a good comfort, is very clean and has a very friendly staff. The manager, a Dutch, talks to each guest, each day. He always has som helpful advice and very good proposes. Because he is also a cook, the food is very good and has a big variety. The price of the rooms and restaurant is absolutely ok. We have enjoyed our holydays and wouldn't hesitate to go there once more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    119
    44
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
90
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We (three friends) stayed here for two nights - once before a safari, and once after. The staff was really friendly, the room was clean, and they had three beds ready for us. Food was great.

The pros:
Location - in a busy city like Arusha, this was very serene - lovely!
Staff - very friendly
Food - delicious
Provided mosquito nets

The cons:
The windows were not "sealed" (they were the rotating horizontal blind type of windows), so there were a few bugs in the room (but most were kept at bay with the mosquito nets).
The bathroom flooded very easily from the shower, since there was no lip to catch the water.

Overall, good value for the price.

Room Tip: If you are three people total, ask for a larger layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I originally did not want to stay at Ilboru Lodge thinking that other places sounded better on TripAdviser. Did not want to add any more expense to my safari so stuck with the original itinerary and stayed at Ilboru at the beginning and end of the safari (4 nights) and am grateful that we did!! The manager/owner (I assume he is the owner) was one of the nicest and most helpful lodge owners. We were treated with utmost respect and he seemed very concerned that we were well taken care of. Breakfast was nothing to write about, just a standard breakfast) but lunch and dinner were amazingly good. The choices were many, could not be faulted at all and were delicious, no matter what we tried. Go for the mushroom soup, it was outstanding.
The rooms were clean, spacious and pleasant to be in. If you rinse clothes in the sink, it is tough to have them dry because of the humidity so when we were outside by the pool reading we took a few items and discreetly set them in the sun to help them dry. The prices for the lodge to do laundry is reasonable.
We had no issues with hot water or pressure.
I agree with other posts about the front desk staff being the coldest I encountered in Tanzania. But the restaurant staff were totally the opposite, especially Emma. One super lady with one great smile.
The lodge is down a rutted local road, but walking around the community is a great experience.
Would definitely stay here again (and I hope I have the chance!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I had read about the road into the hotel, and wondering if where the driver was taking you. Well it's true, but so worth it. Once you bump around on the road, and then arrive at the hotel gates the whole picture changes. The gardens of the hotel are very impressive with lush tropical flowers. The front desk is very welcoming and the check in quick. We were greeted with a welcome drink that was refreshing. Our room was very clean and in a quiet area of the hotel. The rooms are in buildings that are round, with 2 rooms in each unit. The meals were plentiful, and you can order off a varied menu. The hotel's manager is a very friendly dutch man and he will most likely come around and welcome you to the lodge. There is a nice bar within the garden area, and a swimming pool. We didn't get to use it in May, as it was under repair. We didn't have time anyway to use it.
We also used this lodge on the return to Arusha at the end of our safari. We experienced the same great hospitality. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel based on our positive experiences.
Don't worry when your driver turns off the paved road and after driving 10 minutes you start to wonder have we been taken. You haven't been. The prize is up ahead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A fine place to stay while preparing for a safari or hike up Mount Meru or Kilimanjaro. Although bathrooms were clean the showers were poor with little water pressure, and temperature either super hot or cold. The service was fine, although very little interest in our lost luggage. Staff were all very friendly, and the food for dinner and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the Ilboru before and after our Kilimanjaro trek. As our driver turned off the main road into town and up what looked like a dodgy back street we wondered whether we would ever be seen again...have faith, about 2ks along this road a veritable oasis emerges.
The food, facilities, hygiene and prices for what you get and need are excellent.
Those who criticise the lack of high pressure endless hot water seem to forget that they are in a place where many have to collect water from a pump and that it is a scarce resource. It is by design and necessity that the hot water supply is limited (though two 10 minutes showers is hardly roughing it!)
The manager has immense pride in his establishment and goes out of his way to assist travellers. My wallet was lost/stolen in the grounds (fell from my pocket and not handed it) and he was mortified- allowed us to make calls and withdraw money using my partners cards commission free and also provided a written letter for our insurance company explaining the pointlessness of getting a police report.
Our only criticism is with one or two of the female front office staff who (in contrast with all the other staff) at times rivalled Basil Fawlty in their arrogance and annoyance at being asked for assistance and had difficulty at times in not showing outright contempt for the guests.
It is not a 1st world equivalent 5 star hotel but taking into account where it is and what you get it certainly is 5 star in our opinion and we would happily stay again in the (unlikely) event we ever return to Arusha- Kili is something you should do...but just once

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be created equal - and are about the size of a small apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed at Ilboru Safari Lodge for 2 nights, one before and one after our safari. It's out of the city center and the approach road is pretty rough. The rooms were clean, and the bedding was decent. The bathrooms were functional and clean, but very basic. We used our own shampoo. The boys had fun in the pool and the rope swing. We felt safe and secure. They allowed us to store our extra luggage in a closet during the duration of our safari. We enjoyed the breakfast and the one dinner we had there. We found the service to be very attentive. The grounds and landscaping were beautiful. As others have mentioned, this is not a Marriott or a Hilton, and you shouldn't expect such. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilboru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ilboru Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilboru Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.