We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good base in arusha” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Le Jacaranda Hotel
Plot 104 Vijana Road | PO Box 11478, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a good base in arusha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

we stayed 3 nights while visiting various places around arusha. the hotel is located 10 minutes walking from the city centre, in a nice area (not too crowded, very green and reasonably safe). It gives good value for money, but the rooms size (which are all at the same price) vary considerably from big to really small, expecially those that are not in the main building.
the restaurant is good and always open, even if not particulary cheap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
21
68
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night before our safari. We arrived quiet late and left early so can't comment too much. The hotel was fine for the evening. The room was small and dated but it was clean and comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water. There wasn't a huge variety at breakfast but it had the basics. It's by no means luxury but it wasn't an expensive hotel. I would recommend it for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were only there for less than 12 hours (overnight stay prior to safari) and found the room clean and sufficient (we stayed in room D near the restaurant). Shower head was not attachable to the wall though and could not reach very high up (fine for a shorty like me, but not my partner). What was great was, due to our early morning departure (before breakfast were to commence), we requested if we could have something prepared that we could take with us. The receptionist brought to our room later that evening a packed breakfast of boiled eggs, a banana, juice box and a peanut butter sandwich (although extremely dry). Not exactly gourmet, but we were grateful to be given anything at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

March 2008 a nightmare! arrived at night from JRO with my sister - thought we were sharing a room. Knew it was not a 5 star hotel and figured to only sleep we didn't need luxury....well, two Maasai escorted us to the very back thru the garden a long dark way - had no idea where we were as pitch dark.....walked up a few steps to this barrack style building....and down a long narrow badly lit hallway - all of a sudden a smashing sound! the one lightbulb that lit the hallway exploded shortly after they turned on the switch! just above our heads and missed us by a few feet - then we were shown our rooms ( not together) filty mosquito net with lots of holes and when you touched it gross...., holes in the chewn screen on broken window...dreary bedspread/sheets - bathroom run down but
appeared clean at least....and we were alone after this long flight in a scary place and in East Africa! saving grace was we were so tired that we fell asleep.....breakfast was ok - just wanted to get away as fast as possible. I did notice the room behind front desk looked nice so not sure where they put us up that night? we changed booking for the return to another hotel.....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed here one night when our preferred choice (Outpost Lodge) was booked out. The place looks as though it has seen better days - the main building and gardens are quite substantial, and the rooms have nice furniture, but everything needs a bit of sprucing up. The bathroom in our room was the main problem - completely enclosed with no ventilation at all, it couldn't help but make the room smell mouldy. However, the room and bathroom were clean and the bed was comfortable, so it was an acceptable place to spend a night. It's set well back from the road and was quiet.
The main plus of Le Jacaranda is the restaurant, with an extensive Indian menu as well as local foods. This was a pleasant change after weeks of eating tourist fare and buffet food at safari lodges and on the mountains. Breakfast was also above average for this kind of place.
Internet access is available, but double the price charged elsewhere.
It's an OK place to stay, but only if Outpost Lodge is booked out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed at Le Jacaranda after flying into Kilimanjaro airport at 8:30 pm, getting to the hotel around 10pm. They were willing to hold their kitchen open for us if we needed (but we had eaten on the flight). The room had a good mosquito net and there was a hot water. It's about a 15minute walk into the downtown area. The hotel is off a side road and was quiet. Overall, for $55 a night, it was a little expensive if it was elsewhere in Tanzania, but an acceptable price for Arusha.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The gardens and the restaurant are quite nice. Friendly servers at the restaurant. The rooms are dreary, the bedding was bad, and the bathrooms were nasty. Hot water was non-existant one morning. Only stay here if you are into backpacker-type crash pads on the dirt cheap.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Plot 104 Vijana Road | PO Box 11478, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Home away from Home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Le Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Jacaranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.