We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karama Lodge & Spa
Save
You added Karama Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road), Arusha 1573, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Dar es Salaam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed there with my client in May 2012. Staff members are very friendly and the food is perfect. I will be going to Karama lodge every now and then.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    86
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
70
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A group of us (5) recently stayed at Karama Lodge for 3 nights upon arrival to Tanzania and between our Kili Trek and our Safaris. The grounds are very nice - all the trees and flowers are labeled. Several Vevert Monkeys scamper around. The pool looked very nice but it was too cold to swim. The rooms are cozy and charming and all have a great balcony off the front. The food was good. The noise at night is pretty loud - dogs, roosters, traffic. There isn't much water pressure in the showers and they are only heated for a small window of time in the morning and the evening. However when we returned from our Kili Trek they were happy to stoke up the fires for the water even though it wasn't the prescribed time of day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for pre and post safari and my feelings are torn on this unique place and I will try and explain why. The landscape is stunning with many trees and flowers etc makes for a very great first impression. The rooms/bungalows were nice all things considered but do be aware of a few things 1.) The lighting in the room is not great by any means and there was no electrical outlet in the bathroom 2.) As many reviews stated, Arusha folk know how to party....and they do....all night. There is crazy loud music almost all night and don't be surprised if you wake to barking dogs, roosters, monkeys or baby's crying bloody murder (that is if the music doesn't keep you up). If you are a light sleeper, bring some ear wear as you WILL need it 3.) The showers are not top notch and are actually a bit sketchy BUT there is hot water to enjoy 4.) There are NO doors in the bungalows blocking the shower or the toilet as there is only a mere curtain so if you are traveling with immediate family, things might get a little odd 5.) There is no complimentary shampoo/conditioner bottles so pack accordingly. I think that about covers the concerns to the rooms. The beds were comfortable and clean overall and the bungalows give their guests a great view of Arusha. Be sure keep your eyes peeled for monkeys hoovering above in the trees while in your bungalow, too. The restaurant is at best, par--nothing real fancy but it did the trick and our tummies got filled and we didn't get sick so I say mission accomplished. The staff was friendly overall and the Karama Lounge does offer internet for a small fee (they also have a computer to use if needed). Overall, I have to say it has some neat charm to it and served its purpose. It's a nice place for a stop but not someplace I would stay for my whole trip. Hope this helps any future travelers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

First impressions matter. As the first point of call in a new continent we really had not much of an idea as what to expect from a lodge in Africa. Karama suprised us pleasantly. The rooms are large, airy & come equipped with a balcony with a nice sit out mostly looking into the pool. We were told that the lodge has a spa but didnot have time to try it out. The staff was attentive & tried to cater to our needs. Even the cat at the breakfast table is friendly though quite a bit overweight. So if you are someone who likes animals( & you better being in Africa) then you would quite easily sink into the charm of the place.
The only reason of according it an average rating is the fact that the room alloted to us at first was not in working condition, the lights didnot work. Though they changed us to another one, considering the layout it is quite an ardourous climb specially when you're tired after a long flight with your luggage. Moreover they donot provide shampoo as a part of your toiletries & expect you to buy one full bottle at their overpriced souvenier shop. Being located in the city & not the bush/jungle, this was not done as per us.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on stilts for a better view & easier to reach from the gate. Your vehicle c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Karama, esp. the restaurant is great and staff are all excellent. Yes it's a bit noisy at night, but not that bad. Cabins were authentic and rustic, beds were huge and very comfortable.....great selections of wine and cold beer too. It's close to Arusha but just far enough out for peace and quiet as well. Lovely grounds and swimming pool, although it was too cold for us to swim in May, we could see that the pool area in summer would be fantastic.

Room Tip: there is a tip box in the office which is distributed to all staff, saves tipping everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Karama Lodgde. The facilities in the lodge were very nice. The bathroom was good, the bed was nice and everything was clean.

The staff is also really friendly and the food is amazing. We had great food all the time!

The only downside is the noise of the dogs at night. We brought earplugs so that helped but otherwise you can have some problems sleeping. I don't blame the lodge for this because they cannot do anything about that. Apart from that a really nice place!

Room Tip: We had room 16 and 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent a night at the Karama Lodge before going to Ngorongoro. When we arrived at the hotel around 8 pm, we could hear very loud music. We asked the staff whether this was going to last long and they said there was a bar/disco in the village below the hotel and it would depend on the mood of the customers. Well, I guess they were in the mood since the music played all night with maximum volume. It felt like the loudspeakers were on our balcony ! Almost impossible to sleep even with earplugs. The staff did not really seem to care when we mentionned it in the morning. The restaurant was not clean. Overall, a horrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road), Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karama Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.