We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arusha Coffee Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arusha Coffee Lodge to your Saves list
Arusha Coffee Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived into Kilimanjaro Airport after dark and were met by our friendly transfer service at the beginning of our Elewana Air Safari. Check in was quick and efficient and we were taken to our enormous suite by our "butler". The Plantation suites are very large and private, spread out in the beautiful grounds with a nice deck. The bathrooms with separate bathtub and shower are huge, modern and extremely clean. The next morning we woke to see monkeys in the grounds. Welcome to Tanzania !! Breakfast was perfect (table service) as too was lunch (buffet). Although our stay was short the staff made us so welcome and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Although a fair walk from reception the rooms furthest away are quiet, private and with lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    127
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
64
171
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Original buildings of a real coffee plantation that still grows coffee beans. The lodge is surrounded by beautiful tropical jungle vegetation, huge trees, and coffee plants covered with coffee beans. The lodge consists of beautiful bungalows set amongst the tropical trees and vegetation. The interior of each bungalow is absolutely beautiful. There is a very nice restaurant at the lodge where you can eat all your meals inside or outside on tables set amongst the vegetation, and the food and service is excellent. The lodge staff are very friendly professional, and accommodating.

Room Tip: Every room is in a perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Staff and ownership were awesome. We stayed on our way to safari and upon return. The cabin was beautiful and relaxing among the beautiful landscape of the lodge. We enjoyed the food and fresh coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We loved the Arusha Coffee Lodge. The service was incredible and grounds were beautiful. Each bungalow is spacious and quiet with a very luxurious touch. The dining is exquisite! We also loved seeing baboons, monkeys and many bird species while touring the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This property is the perfect place to start and or end your expierence. For Our Family this was the end of our African Safari! The suites and the Homemade Cookies were Fabulous!!!
The service from All The Staff was Over The Top! Example: our son accidently forgot a shirt as we were leaving they came to bring us the shirt! They are very thorough and their customer service, excellent!
Lets not forget how delicious the coffee is hence Coffee Plantation! The property is Beautiful, Thank you for offering our family such wonderful memories of Arusha.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent way to start and end a safari. Comfortable accommodations and good food. Would definitely recommend it.
Staff efficient and eager to please but not necessarily outgoing and often uncomfortable with English.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for just one night. We flew into Arusha late at night and were driven to this hotel. Even though it was pretty late (10:30 or 11pm), the staff were there to greet us right away with ice coffee, hot hand towels, and bell boys for our luggage. The rooms are spacious, cozy, clean, and very comfortable. Very well decorated as well. Fan on the ceiling in case of a hot night, mosquito netting, beautiful bathroom, very comfortable bed. The only meal we had here was breakfast because we got on late and had to leave early, but we were seated looking out onto the pool by reception. So picturesque, very nice way to start the morning, good food as well, and nice staff. The plantation itself is incredible, coffee plants everywhere, and the coffee is very good. It's a great transition between the comfort of home and the exoticism that you will find on safari. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arusha Coffee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.