We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start and end safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arusha Coffee Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arusha Coffee Lodge to your Saves list
Arusha Coffee Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great way to start and end safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night at this little gem but we would love to spend more time there. It is a small quaint hotel built in a coffee plantation. Monkeys are throughout the property as are coffee trees and banana plants. We enjoyed our time in Arusha and they held our property for us while on safari.

Room Tip: It appears that all of the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    127
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
63
170
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived here after a long flight from New York and were pleasantly greeted by the staff with ice coffee and a cold hand/face towel. Service for the 12 hours we were here was good, the bistro restaurant was OK and rooms were very nice. The area was a little buggier than we expected, actually more buggy than most of the places we went in Tanzania, so the mosquito nets around the king sized bed were helpful. Breakfast was good but nothing special.

All in all, a good place to stay and get a good nights sleep, but I think there are better locations for value in Arusha given this is approx $500/USD per night.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed at this place twice (2010 and 2012), both times for one night, both times at the start of my safari. It is highly recommended to start or end your Tanzania safari here as you need a break if you have driven over the Namanga border from Kenya, or on your return from the Serengeti. The lodge is located inside a coffee plantation at the edge of Arusha. There is plenty of birdlife here. Rooms are in well designed cottages built on a raised level, and have modern fittings. This place can get cold at night - rooms have a nice looking dummy fireplace with an electrical heating system. The rooms have large beds and cupboards,and a sitting area with sofas and a balcony as well. The ensuite facilities are top grade. The open air reception, dining area and bar form three sides of a small pond with fountain and looks very inviting when you enter the lodge. The buffet at breakfast and ala carte meals at other times serve a mix of cuisines for all tastes. Its a short drive from Tarangire and Manyara.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a long flight from the USA this was a lovely place to stay our first night before safari. The cottages were spacious, quiet and quaint with a nice deck for coffee in the morning. The food was very good. There is a pool , restaurant, gift shop and bar. Try to eat breakfast outside! Staff was very courteous and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Arusha Coffee Lodge over a long weekend during a business trip that had us in Dar es Salaam before and after. The Lodge is quite comfortable and very accommodating. The food is good. The staff is extremely helpful. The suite is well appointed and spacious with a comfortable bed, a nice reading area, a nice porch, and an amazing number of electrical outlets for all the things that need to be charged in today's travel kit. We found it very relaxing. We spent the days in Arusha National Park, which while not as famous as the Seringetti, is relatively close to Arusha and a breathtaking place in its own right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the beginning and 1 night at the end of our sky safari in May. We were upgraded to a plantation suite and had our own personal butler. The room and bathroom were simply stunning, as was the outlook onto the coffee plantation. The grounds are lovely and relaxing and great to sit out in for lunch.
All staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed all of our meals. In particular we had great service from Advent, our personal butler and Jordan who took us on a great tour of Arusha as well as all our transfers.
Our thanks to Alan and his team for a wonderful stay.
PS - the coffee pots in the suites can be bought at various curio shops in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Arriving after 23 hours of travel to find such a charming place was delightful. The staff was welcoming, efficient and soooooo friendly. They seemed to anticipate our every need.

We stayed in a wonderful suite. It was so relaxing, private and quiet. The bathroom was very creatively designed. See pictures.

Our dinner was disappointing. We felt the choices were very limited. The atmosphere set the mood for our safari. Breakfast was excellent with several options.

Abercrombie & Kent booked us here prior to starting our safari. Great choice in our opinion.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arusha Coffee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.