We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arusha Coffee Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Save
You added Arusha Coffee Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quite a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Arusha Coffee Lodge over a long weekend during a business trip that had us in Dar es Salaam before and after. The Lodge is quite comfortable and very accommodating. The food is good. The staff is extremely helpful. The suite is well appointed and spacious with a comfortable bed, a nice reading area, a nice porch, and an amazing number of electrical outlets for all the things that need to be charged in today's travel kit. We found it very relaxing. We spent the days in Arusha National Park, which while not as famous as the Seringetti, is relatively close to Arusha and a breathtaking place in its own right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    134
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
73
188
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the beginning and 1 night at the end of our sky safari in May. We were upgraded to a plantation suite and had our own personal butler. The room and bathroom were simply stunning, as was the outlook onto the coffee plantation. The grounds are lovely and relaxing and great to sit out in for lunch.
All staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed all of our meals. In particular we had great service from Advent, our personal butler and Jordan who took us on a great tour of Arusha as well as all our transfers.
Our thanks to Alan and his team for a wonderful stay.
PS - the coffee pots in the suites can be bought at various curio shops in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Arriving after 23 hours of travel to find such a charming place was delightful. The staff was welcoming, efficient and soooooo friendly. They seemed to anticipate our every need.

We stayed in a wonderful suite. It was so relaxing, private and quiet. The bathroom was very creatively designed. See pictures.

Our dinner was disappointing. We felt the choices were very limited. The atmosphere set the mood for our safari. Breakfast was excellent with several options.

Abercrombie & Kent booked us here prior to starting our safari. Great choice in our opinion.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a beautiful 1 night stay at the coffee lodge for our first night in Tanzania. When we arrived here we discovered that they had upgraded us from the standard room to a suite, which was amazing! However the suite only has a king bed,and travelling as mother and son, we booked and needed 2 beds, so what they did, is they let us keep the suite AND gave us the original standard cabin that we had booked, so both of us had our own cabin!
The standard cabin, had I not seen the suite, would have been wonderful, however having seen e suite, they are significantly better, with lots of little extras and beautiful modern furnishings, like an amber bench top in the bathroom with little coffee beans inside, and a beautiful big stand alone bath tub.
Service was wonderful, and the amazing smiles and big welcoming "Jambo!" That we have grown to love throughout other parts of Africa certainly didn't stop here. Food was not AMAZING but still really nice, and it was complimented by a really nice ambiance throughout the different dining areas. Definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the suite, it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The perfect place to meet and greet friends for a coffee and the menu whilst good can be a bit pricy however the food quality is very good.

The garden area provides some nice secluded tabled platforms with parasols and there is also a good childrens wooden jungle gym play area.

Go for coffee and lunch and chill out.

Room Tip: We did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I did not have the opportunity to stay here as the Lodge was fully booked. I met up with my travelling companions here for buffet lunch which had great spit roast meats. Most people sit outside under the huge parasols, which is very relaxing. Tea/coffee is free. At the end of my safari I had lunch here again and spent a pleasant afternoon by the pool waiting to be taken to the airport. They can provide free internet access at Reception if you want to check whether your flight is on time. My only concern was the armed guards who walked round inside the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

May I thank you for kind and generous comments regarding Arusha Coffee Lodge.

In regards to your comment about our armed security guards, each of the Elewana Collection of camps, lodges and boutique beach hotels takes the safety and security of its guests very seriously and of paramount importance. Therefore our operational standard for security is to have a 24-hour security at all of our properties.

May I also mention that as you possibly saw the 'armed' guard in the vicinity of the swimming pool (as mentioned in your review). You may or may not be aware that close to the pool area is a jewelry store belonging to the Tanzanite Experience, stocking a variety of Tanzanite gems, the iridescent blue precious stone indigenous to Tanzania. As part of their security requirements they also have an armed security guard.

I do hope your safari in Tanzania was both enjoyable and memorable and we hope that if you return you will be successful in sampling the pleasures of staying with us at Arusha Coffee Lodge.

Best regards

Jason Barry
Group Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we only stayed in the hotel for one night before heading to climb Kilimanjaro and abandon all luxuries.
the hotel is beautiful- cabin style with spacious rooms, mosquito nets and a huge bathroom.
The breakfast area is very relaxing with an outdoor garden restaurant. the indoor restaurant is also good. the staff are very helpful and accommodating too. i was told that this was the best hotel in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arusha Coffee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.