We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Save
You added Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage to your Saves list
Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 62 Arusha B&B and Inns
amsterdam
1 review
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

During our 3 week holiday in Tanzania, we had an awesome stay at Onsea House for a couple of days. The atmosphere, hospitality, beautiful setting, excellent service are really unique.
From the moment we arrived at Onsea House, we felt like being home, due to Dirk and Axel who run this fantastic place.
Onsea House is definetely the place you have to visit when you are in Arusha...if it's not to stay, than at least to enjoy the excellent dinners of Axel!

  • Liked — The beautiful house, small setting with 4 rooms, nice pool, personnal 'home' feeling and excellent food
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    33
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
111
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Dirk and his cousin Axel run a great place in Arusha, Tanzania. My wife and I have stayed with them during our honeymoon and became great fans of the combination of Tanzanian hospitality and the great food Axel prepares. Absolutely a must when you are there. In september 2008 was host to my sister and her husband and to a good friend and his wife. Dirk has organised the rest of their holiday (safari, Zanzibar) as well. To their fullest staisfaction!

  • Liked — The great food!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We spent 2 nights at Onsea House and I would full heartedly recommend it to everyone. This intimate lodge was beautifully decorated, rooms were very comfortable and the food was amazing.

Every meal was fit for a king. The food was beyond exceptional- dining, it was an experience! Every night there was a 7 course meals – each course accompanied by a different wine. Axel (the head chef) is worthy of winning a Michelin star.

Our room was quite comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The lodge itself was well decorated with local artwork and carvings – most of which was for sale. Onsea is an oasis in Arusha with beautiful vistas towards the mountains. The local staff at Onsea was also very warm and friendly.

Onsea House is a fantastic start to your safari. You will not regret staying at Onsea House!

  • Liked — The food and the wine!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jckson Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

An oasis in Arusha! Set in the foothills of Arusha, this place not only provides great rooms and service but amazing food. Dirk and Axel are the best hosts ever. I can't say enough great things about this place!

  • Liked — quiet peaceful escape
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Onsea is a great place to stay, the accommodation is first class, very luxurious after a hard Safari.The food is excellent, Axel, you rock ! At Onsea you will get a real warm, family welcome. Beautiful surroundings, relaxing and chilled atmosphere. If you get a chance to stay at Onsea you should take it. You wont be disappointed.Thanks to Dirk & Axel for such a great stay.

  • Liked — Food, views,rooms,staff-all great
  • Disliked — nothing to not like about this place
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

My husband and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at Onsea, having spent 13 hours travelling there from Heathrow via Nairobi. We arrived exhausted and hungry. Within minutes, Axel had arranged breakfast on the terrace, with freshly squeezed juice, fresh bread, cheese and cooked meats. Nothing was too much trouble, it seemed. The pool on the lower terrace was very relaxing, though remember to take everything you need with you, as it's a bit of a trek back to the main house. Our room was perfectly clean, and well appointed. It was the end room off the main terrace, so inevitably there was some noise from other diners in the evening. Axel's cooking is a real treat - and unlike anything else we tasted in Africa. Onsea is a very pleasant place to stay (especially compared with other accommodation in the area) with stunning views towards the mountains. We spent a few happy hours walking in the local area, and met some very friendly people. Thanks to the Onsea family and Axel, this was a great and relaxing start to our African adventure.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

When we booked our Northern Tanzania Safari with Green Footprint Adventures, Arusha, they reserved for us three nights in Onsea House. It is situated outside of Arusha. Arriving late in the evening from Brussels/Schiphol we felt immediately at home. Attentive service, excellent food – even a complete dinner at our arrival at 10.30 pm – lovely garden, nice swimming pool and only 5 rooms.
I can confirm all other critics from other guests who stayed here before us: probably the best and most personal guesthouse in Arusha with his outstanding Belgian chef Axel.

  • Liked — Attentive service, excellent food and wine
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.