We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where luxury, style, hospitality & nature comes together.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Save
You added Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage to your Saves list
Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 62 Arusha B&B and Inns
Gent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place where luxury, style, hospitality & nature comes together.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights with my camera crew and after work we passed our freetime in the magnificent accomodation of the lodge. Every day we were surprised by the food and the atmosphere, the terrace with the good music, the pool, and 1000 stars who are glittering over the valley and the excellent staff who do everything to please you. See you soon, Patrick Tacq, director.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    33
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
111
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at Machweo-Onsea Resort for 2 nights before and 1 night after climbing mount kilimanjaro and it was just the most perfect stay. A wonderful boutique resort. Great layout, lots of trees, quaint individual huts with an outside living area and a spacious, well ventilated room and bathroom, stone floors, very comfortable bed and lovely artsy decor. And most importantly, very very clean. Excellent service, very prompt, warm and they know their job. Also, excellent security system.
We got there at 4 am and were greeted by the staff with smiles and yummy pineapple juice. We were taken to our room right away. The next day we saw the restaurant area, an amazing view of mount mero and the local area, lots of singing chirping birds and a lovely decor. very busy too. The breakfast was complimentary and included lots of seasonal fruits, home made spreads and to order eggs/ fresh toast/ pancakes etc. Delicious coffee, juice. In all, a most amazing breakfast! The other meals were also outstanding. The chef, Axel Janssens, makes incredibly creative food with local ingredients. You wouldn't wanna eat anywhere else. We ate at mount mero hotel one time and it was awful compared with onsea. The dinner is 65$ per person, but it is totally worth it. Especially considering that bfast is complimentary and lunch 15$, it seems fair. All meals are outstanding and would give the best NYC restaurants a run for their money.
Greit, a delightful and warm belgian lady, manages the resort and goes out of her way to ensure all guests are taken care of. She arranged a local trip for us, saw to our meals and all our requests. Made our trip highly memorable. She is always around and accessible. We left our stuff including valuables with her during the trek and did not have to worry at all.
We took a massage post-climb (George) and was also amazing!
We highly recommend Machweo-Onsea and will def stay there when we visit arusha next. It is a gem and a steal!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are looking to spend your last night in Arusha before flying home, this is THE place.. A real Garden of Eden with lovely landscape and beautiful birds that are a wonder to watch and listen to.
The owners and staff are extremely friendly and accomodating... Giving us a wonderful lasting impression of Tanzania.
The rooms are spotless with just about every amenity.. Hair dryer, wifi in main areas, shower gel, lotion, shampoo, in room coffee with generous selection of teas/coffees, swimming pool, outdoor shower, sauna... The dining is fabulous as well.
If you want to be near the main area, book a room there.. There is a private villa across the street with 2 rooms available .. If you want extreme peace and quiet and private pool shared only with the other room, it is simply breathtaking. Note that the bed is a full size.. So if you are 2 people of size, the bed may feel too small. You might be better off booking a room with twin beds or check to see if they have queen or king beds.
Security is round the clock .. Both sides are gated.. Absolutely no worries there at all.
Check out time is 10 am.. If your flight is later in the evening, consider adding a "day room" to your booking. Totally worth it.

One word sums up our experience there regarding the property, management, and staff: FLAWLESS

Room Tip: For the ultimate peace and quiet, request of the rooms in the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Three of us rose to the challenge of climbing Kilimanjaro, which left us in dire need of relaxation. This was perfectly satisfied by two days at Onsea House. It was a slice of heaven after the climb, with incredibly friendly management and staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. The spa and pool complex soothed our aching bodies and the food, created by the talented chef Axel, was simply to die for. We had the full board option and each meal was exquisitely crafted to bring out stunning flavours. The rooms were decorated with fabulous pieces of art and were very comfortable and well appointed.
For anyone looking to relax for a few days, Onsea House is the perfect paradise. For us it was the perfect end to the most challenging climb of our lives.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was close to the pool and restaurant with a fabulous deck area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We ended our Safari here- what a treat
the property is beautiful the prices at the spa reasonable I had a massage mani & pedi by George, wonderful guy
the Dinner was great with fabulous wines I wish I had spent another night there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here after climbing Kilimanjaro- we stayed at Machweo which is the spa hotel adjoining Onsea house and owned by the same people. it was simply superb, lovely rooms, fabulous food and a lovely pool area. So sad to leave!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We started and ended our safari trip here, and we could not think of a better bookend. From the moment we arrived the staff were warm and attentive without being intrusive; the cottages beautifully appointed; and the food by far and away the best we ate in Tanzania - which is already at a high standard.

Each cottage is uniquely situated to ensure privacy, and the views from each are spectacular - particularly at sunset, where you can enjoy your sundowner of choice from either the poolside or your own cottage.

We all found it hard to imagine anyone having a bad stay here - my only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.