We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip Kili, head to Onsea (I'm kidding!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Save
You added Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage to your Saves list
Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 62 Arusha B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Skip Kili, head to Onsea (I'm kidding!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Onsea House in the middle of a 2-week Africa trip that started with an eight-day climb of Mt. Kili, and afterwards we went on to a Serengeti safari. Onsea House was BY FAR the best lodging we stayed in and I include the all-famous Giraffe Manor in Nairobi which was a major disappointment next to Onsea.

We arrived dirty and tired from our climb,but were greeted with friendliness and helpfulness by all the staff and the owner. We had only about 12 hours to get some laundry cleaned and they did it!!

Food was fantastic and they gave us lots of snacks so I'm not sure what another reviewer was talking about on no small snacks in between meals. The chef is fantastic, the wine pairings with dinner were perfect. A nice massage in the room to feel better after our hike--that would be another small idea which would be to have a set massage room--massages on beds are awkward!

Views are lovely, it is an oasis....love love love.

Yes, we also had the complaint of the water pump not working when we first arrived dying for a shower after 8 days. And a little noise from the kitchen staff. But would not trade it for anything...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    33
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
111
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I travel about 40 weeks a year on business mainly in Western & Eastern Europe & have lived in 8 countries over the last 20 years - from this perspective Onsea House is A first rate place to stay - big comfortable bedrooms, (We had number 2 & 6 - different layout but same high standard. Staff were friendly & the owners really helpful. We ate their 3 times and were never disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't think you need a tip - the two rooms I had were both very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

After climbing Mt Kilimanjaro, my husband and I spent 2 nights at Onsea House recovering from the experience. Driving from the mountain through Arusha to this slice of heaven is such an exotic adventure and it left our imaginations running wild with what to possibly expect for our hotel accommodations. Although I had read many helpful reviews on TripAdvisor before choosing Onsea House, I was still not prepared for the charming, beautiful, perfect place that awaited us. The staff was all smiles upon our arrival, and they anticipated our every need from a hot shower, to the most deliciously prepared meal, lovely wine, superb coffee and very comfortable bed with high quality linens! I just can't imagine a more wonderful place to stay after spending 7 nights camping in extreme conditions on the mountain. Onsea House really is a slice of heaven on earth! Finally, after our safari, we went back through Arusha on our way to the airport. We had about 5 hours of "hang out" time before checking in for our night flight, so we went back to Onsea House where we had left some luggage. Although we had not reserved a "day room", the staff happily offered us a room to shower and rest at no charge, before we had one last delicious Chef Axel meal. Axel is the chef and co-manager of Onsea House and lovingly prepares every dinner to perfection! The only possible negative thing I can say is that wifi is spotty (but my goodness, it's Africa!)

Room Tip: We were in Room #1 which is very near the restaurant/lounge area and can be a tiny bit noisy if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed one night at Onsea after the long flights from North America and wished we had stayed two. We were in a new Machweo villa which is spacious and decorated in a kind of afro-euro chic. The staff was warm and welcoming. We were too tired to eat much at night upon arrival but enjoyed breakfast on the lovely patio with a view of Mt. Meru. And I truly believe theirs was the best coffee I tasted in Africa. Nice linens, great shower. Only quibble...we wished they had installed ceiling fans because we found the room a bit stuffy on the hot February night even with the windows open.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

An amazing oasis in a very dicey part of the world! French chef, fab meals, great bar, nice swimming pool, wifi, beautiful rooms, and the Nicest staff one could ask for! We stayed there 2 nites as we began our safari experience, and then one more night as we finished to come back to the U.S. it is a bit far from airport, but is an interesting drive which gives cultural understanding! We loved our Onsea experience. We went to Arusha national park while wevwere there, and it is a great safari beginning!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms! Both were great! The newer section is close to bar and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Amazing hotel set in the beautiful farming area of Arusha. A beautiful hotel which most definately caters for the traveler wanting the personal, boutique style feel. The owners are very welcoming and the food outstanding. One of the owners trained in a michellin star restaurant and the quality of the food/service reflects this. The rooms have an understated European elegance with attention to detail in furnishings to make the place feel like you are staying in a home from home. We started and finished our trip up Kilimanjaro in this hotel. Massages can be arranged for your return from the climb! The perfect place to have one last night of luxury and the best place to celebrate your successes!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I was torn on this hotel rating. it really is a 4.5. You can not go wrong with this place. The family involved in running it are very nice and helpful. The property is great. Food was superb. The pool could be a bit more inviting with some sun loungers set up with umbrellas all day. We visited the arusha coffee lodge which was very nice but I would choose Onsea anytime over that facility. This feels more like a luxury home. Great spot.

A few small issues. We had an amazing room, bathroom was well built, but no hot water in the shower first day. All i wanted was a nice long shower. Did not complain as we were too tired so can not say how quickly it would have been fixed. Also, kitchen was very noisey from the room we were in which is unfortunate since we were in the new luxury section. Lastly, lunch there were 2 options. After a long trip it would be nice to have some snack options, not just large meal options. Make sure you specify a large vehicle for transfer if there are more than 2 of you. Our first transfer was very cramped.

Book Onsea if you plan on being in Arusha. Quality, relaxing, beautiful spot, very reasonable price. Dinner was 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.