We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary to your Saves list
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newquay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were lucky to be allocated room 1 overlooking the lake, and waking upto zebra, waterbuck and a curious ostrich at the window. There was only 1 other guest (although a large group of Germans arrived the next day). Accomodation was lovely and clean- the lodge is an older property which adds character. Electricity 24hours and good hot shower. The grounds and gardens are delightful and green haven after the grasslands in the dry season. We were served meals on the lawn and a chimenea lit by our table for dinner. Food was good for Tanzania- delicious steak with peppercorn sauce. The breakfast was best we had during our stay- a large welcome plate of fresh fruit, folowed by English breakfast ingredients of choice- and croissants, breads, jams etc which we couldn't manage.
Staff were extremely helpful- and cannot agree with other comments regarding hanging around for tips. There is a communal tip box at Reception (as found throughout Tanzania) and individual tipping we witnessed here, and throughout our stay was at the instigation of guests, not staff (one lodge requested guests NOT to tip individually, as communal tips enable those staff 'behind the scenes' who contribute to your stay to be rewarded too.) We went on the free walk around Usa River village with Frank. A great 2 hours which gave us good insight into everyday life in the local community. We wish we had stayed at this lodge when we arrived, as we could have given the educational materials we brought to the orphanage/school in the village, which is doing great work with local children.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 overlook lake, and 3 and 4 also good- these all have lovely seating area with large fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently stayed two nights here before starting our Northern Serengeti Safari. The first morning we were excited to see animals in the sanctuary. The room and bathroom were clean.
The dining area chairs are greasy and dirty. I was afraid to sit with my new safari outfit. The dinner and breakfast food are not bad. The drinks are very expensive due to the 1200 shilling to $1 exchange rate that the lodge used to calculate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for one night after arriving from a long flight mid afternoon. We stayed in a room at the back of the lodge (sorry cannot remmember the number). It was clean, and spacious with a large en suite shower room, the bed was also large and comfortable.
The front of the lodge looks over a small game reserve, the animals are obviously used to people and came right up to the haha to be photographed. We spent a very pleasant afternoon watching them from the comfort of the chairs dotted arround the lawn. There are also porcupine and a crocodile caged in the grounds to the right of the reserve which we happened upon by chance. Monkeys roam freely in the trees. There is also a little wood carvers 'shop' on site - well worth a visit, you can barter a good deal on ebony wood carvings!
The food was good (we had both lunch and a candle lit evening meal, and breakfast there). The staff were friendly, attentive and courtious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The arriving was good but the room was very small, the bed was too short . The breakfast was good and the lodge surrounding was exellent.
Personel was yachting every moment on tips. But staying here for one night is oké.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Mount meru was our first lodge in Tanzania and we loved it! There are animals at the lodge which made it even more perfect as a first night! They do a guided walk around the town too which is brilliant. We loved Frank!! All the staff in the lodge were really friendly and provide excellent customer service!
The food was ok. The rooms were mostly clean but our bathroom could have been cleaner!
Overall we really liked mount meru and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We called in here on our last afternoon in Arusha for a drink on the lawn looking out at the animals (zebra, eland..) and watching the coleus monkeys in the trees. It is a lovely setting and we were in a good mood. We also did some regal therapy in their shop. So the fact that the waiter got the price wrong and came and asked for more money was OK, but when the gate keeper asked for money and would not let us out, it seemed a bit much! The manager sorted it out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff are very welcoming and there is always complimentary tea and coffee available for the guests. It was entertaining to eat our barbecue dinner outside by candlelight around a campfire, with extra braziers put to warm us up. The gardens are pleasant with animals always around and do go on the afternoon walk with Frankie around the area as you then see how the local people live.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Address: Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary is located within 33 acres of mature, well manicured gardens bounded on one side by the tranquil waters of the Usa River and on the other by the private Sanctuary where our wildlife and birdlife reside. This wildlife and birdlife provide many of our guests with their first exciting game viewing experience. The Mount Meru Game Sanctuary was established in 1960 and over the course of the last half a century and more has received rescued animals from the wild. Normally either injured or orphaned, the sanctuary's first priority is always to rehabilitate these animals and to return them to their natural habitat. In cases where this is not possible, they are released into the sanctuary grounds where, joined by an enormous variety of birdlife, they are able to enjoy the unique freedom offered by our very safe environment. By choosing to stay with us, our guests play a very important role in helping these animals since the activities of the sanctuary are financed entirely by the lodge. Mount Meru Game Lodge is extremely fortunate to receive daily visits from troops of Black & White Colobus Monkeys. The lodge has a total of 15 double or twin en-suite bedrooms and 2 suites. The design and character of the rooms are as individualistic as the Lodge itself. The 'Mount Kilimanjaro' and 'Mount Meru' suites are located in their own private garden overlooking the game sanctuary. Each has an open plan lounge and bedroom area as well as a private garden gazebo where you can sit, relax and soak up the unique atmosphere of the Lodge. Each suite also has its own fireplace which can be used on chilly evenings and the Mount Meru Suite has an adjoining room making it ideal for families with children. The main building of the lodge consists of a reception area, lounge and bar. The lounge, with its enormous picture windows and comfortable furniture, provides for relaxation in intimate surroundings. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection of spirits, beers and minerals which are complemented by a carefully selected collection of wines. To the front of the main building is a terrace which is shaded by enormous old Mango trees and which enjoys magnificent views over mature, carefully tended gardens to the Sanctuary beyond. In the grounds of the lodge can be found an 'outdoor dining room' which consists of a garden, a covered patio and a small open plan kitchen where meals are prepared. The garden with its camp fire allows our guests to dine under the African star-lit sky whilst listening to the exotic night sounds. FREE WiFi is available to all visitors in the Lodges' public areas. Throughout its long history, the lodge & sanctuary have been a popular stop over for many VIP's and Government visitors. Various Presidents of African countries, celebrities, entrepreneurs and members of European Royal families have stayed with us. The management and staff of Intimate Places therefore look forward to welcoming you to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary in a time-honoured tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary Hotel Arusha
Mount Meru Game Lodge And Sanctuary
Mount Meru Game Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.