We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at top end price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moivaro Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moivaro Lodge to your Saves list
Moivaro Lodge
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Arusha 00000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
London UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel at top end price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel has great grounds and truly wonderful to relax. However, it is way overpriced for the quality and standard. I also noted they quote one price and proceed to attempt to charge another. The sole focus appears to be on money and how much and how quick they can extract it from you with little regard for anything else. The food is limited in choice and as average as the rooms for standard and quality. If you can get this hotel at half the rack rate price it's worth doing, at full price... Move on and shop around, you could do much better for your dollar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    88
    45
    22
    8
See reviews for
41
78
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We only spent a night here but it marked itself in its contrast to the wonderful places and cheerful staff we found in just about every Tanzania venue. The front desk receptionist was surly, sour and acted as if our arrival was an imposition. Hardly a word. The dining wait staff was nice enough, and the manager came by to say hello, but most attention, perhaps rightfully, was on two large tour groups staying there at the same time. The pool and outdoor area is nice, with a great view of Mt. Meru, and the premises are quiet. Whether it was the plain decor, unhappy front desk staff or lack of personal attention, we would not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night after we'd finished a week of volunteering and before our safari started. The lodge does have a memorable view of Mount Meru and the cottages are comfortable enough. However, there were at least five tour groups there when we were -- groups coming back from climbing Kilimanjaro or beginning their trip or large groups of tourists starting safaris. The dining area is outdoors (nice) but very narrow, so our table for two felt squeezed between all these groups of people being boisterous and chummy. The front desk personnel was borderline rude. There's a computer with internet access and a pool surrounded by a grassy area but no one was swimming. The bed was comfortable, but the shower was old and somewhat grimy. This isn't a bad place, but it was far inferior to Rivertrees in Arusha, where we stayed when we first arrived in Tanzania. You won't hate this place, but its unlikely to go down as your favorite property of your trip either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I brought a group of 20 people to Moivaro this month and we enjoyed it a great deal. It was not outstanding, but it was much better than some of the other places we have used over the years.

The property itself is really nice; lots of space, nice pool and a great fire pit.

The food is pretty good; actually, it is really good.

The service is, well, average at best. It has the feel of a place with absentee management...

But overall, we would use Moivaro again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Moivaro as part of a larger group. On arrival, we were warmly greeted with a cooling drink, and swiftly allocated our lodges. These are scattered in the grounds of the hotel, which are beautiful, lush and well-maintained. There is a swimming pool with loungers, and also a fire-pit with comfy chairs which was wonderful to sit by in the evening. The lodges are quite rustic- the beds were made up with white sheets with rose petals scattered on them, which was a smashing touch. Facilities are basic though- there is no hanging space or lock on the toilet door. The shower and sink area are in need of some refurbishment, and on the second morning I had no electricity supply. I also got locked in my lodge- the key would not open the door from inside, and I had to text a friend to come and help me get out! As the chain was also broken, this meant that I had no security whilst sleeping, and as a lone female this was a bit of a concern. The bed was very comfortable, and there was no noise from outside apart from the wonderful sounds of wildlife.The food was excellent, but we all agreed that the staff had difficulty in understanding what we had ordered, as some of us either got the wrong dish or the food did not arrive at all. The location is amazing, but I would not return if visiting the country again in the future. As this was my first visit to Tanzania I do not know if this is comparable to similar types of hotel- I can only comment on my own experience whilst there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Moivaro Coffee Plantation is situated just outside of Arusha, about 45 minutes from Kilimanjaro airport. The lodge is set on a working coffee plantation and has a lovely ‘country’ feel, even though it is just minutes from Arusha. The staff members are friendly and the gardens are well-maintained and lush. Although not overly luxurious, the accommodation is clean and neat and extremely comfortable, all within easy access of the pool and main dining room. The food was really great even though the menu was pretty basic, and the service was excellent!

Johnny, our waiter even brought us tea and coffee as we relaxed by the pool on our first afternoon…Each cottage has two adjoining rooms, all linked together with neatly trimmed pathways amidst the lovely garden setting. There was also a super swimming pool, complete with shady umbrellas and loungers, which is exactly what the doctor ordered to recover from our very early morning flight. The breakfast was available from 7am and was an array of yoghurt, fresh fruit and the normal continental fare, as well as offering the makings of a very nice full English type breakfast for those who wanted it. For dinner, we had the option of a set ‘3 course’ menu with various choices for starter, main and dessert.

- Debby Oscroft (Jenman Safaris Marketing Rep)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel itself is isolated from any external noise, the hiways are quite far, peace and quiet come with the territory. The rooms are basically cottages scattered on a very large tract of land. There is plenty of space between each which is nice for privacy. The rooms are large, clean and well kept. The shower has plenty of hot water, good because hot water is something that is sometimes amiss in Africa.
The lodge is 7km from town so it is difficult to get there except by taxi. Other than lounge near or in the pool and a short easy walking trail around the property there is not much else to do. We wandered around village and climbed a near by hill, much to the dismay of the hotel staff as I do not think they thought they would ever see us again if we left their property. We did not run into one lion or elephant and returned only a little worse for wear.
Meals are quite expensive and they have you as a captive audience so you have to pay the going rate. Dinner was included with our room and was a 4 course meal. I personally do not like these large meals because I cannot possibly eat the volume of food provided and a good amount goes to waste. The food tasted good it is just the volume is too great.
All in all it is a good place to spend a night in transit but I would not go there for a week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moivaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moivaro Lodge

Address: Arusha 00000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moivaro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moivaro Coffee Plantation Lodge & Estate, the lodge where you will stay in a charming atmosphere and enjoy every comfort you need. Moivaro Lodge is situated right in the heart of beautiful, natural scenery and yet is only 7 km from the town of Arusha: an ideal spot to enjoy the impressive flora and fauna of East Africa. At Moivaro Lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique, friendly and peaceful manner, helping you to prepare for your safaris and cosseting you on your return in the evening. Our spacious thatched brick cottages are set in a lovely tropical garden, with private verandas ensuring every visitor all the privacy needed. Relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Mount Meru from the comfortable veranda, go for a stroll around the Moivaro property, or laze at the pool nestling in the midst of tropical trees and coffee plants. As a daily activity we arrange the Moivaro Village Walk. A unique opportunity to see everyday life in Tanzania and make closer contact with the local people. You can visit a local banana brewery and sample its beer; or hear the story of a local eccentric, and marvel at the tree house he fashioned for himself. A walk is typically 2 hours long and can involve a climb up Oldonyo Maas Hill for those looking for a more demanding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moivaro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps Hotel Arusha
Moivaro Lodges And Tented Camps

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moivaro Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.