We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe to your Saves list
L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 1908 | Sekei, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a very short stay at this lodge but enjoyed the charming bungalows and friendly staff. This is not a luxury hotel but the beds were comfortable, the room large and comfortable and the bathroom had all that was needed for a nights stay after a long flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    79
    31
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
65
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in 3 differente room, and alll were perfect, not luxurious, but impeccable in there cleanlyness and Ambiance. The staff is friendly and reliable, still need some training, but very attentionned to our confort and our care. The lounge is a very nice place to relax and make some interresting encounter to learn about Safari, trek and what to do in the aera. Internet acces is fast and free which is a bonus. In all, it's a super place to stay and experience Arusha and the region. If your looking for super luxury , your in the wrong place, but if your looking for confort in a clean and confortable place with friendly staff, this place is for you. The price for the food(which is excellent by the way) and for the room are more than reasonnable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This lodge in suburb of Arusha is ideal for short rest after climbing to Mount Meru or Mount Kilimanjaro or relaxation after couple of days of Safari. We stayed in 3 different rooms/bungalows and in our opinion Bungalows in the front part of the garden are better than one near the kitchen.

Rooms/Bungalows are clean in properly furnished and stuff is nice.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms behind the kitchen. They are really noisy after the closure of kitchen as stuff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a residential area at the end of a small dirt road. If you want go down to central Arusha I would say a taxi is your best option (cheap and easy to find).

We stayed in L’Oasis before and after our Safari and our Kilimanjaro hike, a total of three nights spread out on three differnt occasions. I think this is the situation for the majority of the guest and as such, the hotel offers all you need to relax before and after your adventures. There is a small but nice kept pool along with two different restaurants serving up good food and cold beers (not always a given in Africa). We tried both restaurants and recommend the lounge one by the reception.
The rooms are simple, but clean and with hot water and facing a small garden.

Best –All you need is readily available

Good – Staff friendliness

Not so good – Nothing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a lovely little lodge with an excellent bar, restuarant and small pool. The owners and staff are good. We stayed in the large nicer rooms for the cheaper price as it was low season and these rooms were very nice (the rumours are the backpacker rooms across the street aren't so nice!). It's a bit far from town so it's a long walk or cab to Boma road etc, but if you want a nice little secluded place for a few days this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here with a friend on either side of our Kili trek, so one night before and one night after. We both enjoyed the place and it's unique atmosphere. We stayed in a bungalow which I found to be comfortable, clean, and unique. The bathroom was a little old, but functional.

There are two highlights of the place. The first is Henry, the Crown Crested Crane, who wanders around the property looking regal. The second highlight is the lounge, where we spend hours chatting with the guy who arranged our Kili trek for us. It's a great place to hang out and enjoy some local beer.

The place is a little far outside of Arusha proper, so during our two nights there we didn't really get to see the town at all. But we were on a tight schedule and didn't really have the time. But still, it would have been nice to be able to go out and wander around a bit, which we really didn't do.

Overall we were pleased with our stay here and were glad that we were put up here for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was by far the worst place we stayed in during our 3 week tour of East Africa. Rooms were very basic and not cleaned properly. The bathroom had a small selection of half used mini soaps!
The service in the restaurant was awful, we were assured that it was open, but there was nobody there when we arrived and we waited 15 minutes before going to reception to ask for somebody to serve us. When the waitress arrived, we found her very difficult to communicate with and not very well trained. After just about managing to take our order, she went off for 10 minutes and then came back to ask us if we would like the chef to cook our food now! When the food finally arrived it was really good though.
We found it very difficult to sleep due to the noise, from a nearby church. There was a man on a microphone screaming and shouting and working himself up into a right frenzy, this went on for about 3-4 hours.
When we asked for information about a Precisionair shuttle bus to Kilimanjaro airport, we were told that they only go twice per day at 6am and 6pm, which was no good for us. This was not true, they go before every flight. We were then told that they could arrange a taxi to the airport for $50, but you can actually get one for much cheaper if you haggle with a driver in Arusha. I don't know whether she was just making all this information up because she didn't know the answer, or if she was deliberately misleading us to try and sell us an expensive taxi ride.
The rooms are completely overpriced, we stayed in similar accommodation elsewhere that cost $15-30 per night, and I think this would be a fair price. $100 per night is a rip off for this place, don't stay here if you can avoid it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe

Address: PO Box 1908 | Sekei, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy place with a friendly staff. Lovely garden. Great food. Perfect before and after your safari or Kili climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oasis Lodge And Annexe Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.