We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gosheni Adventures

Gosheni Adventures
Arusha, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We did two safaris with Gosheni. First one was in Arusha National park, which included good service and nice people around us. Peter, the executive was very good at taking care of us and being there to wish us a good trip and also when picking us up at the end of the safari.

The second time we did a three-day trek on Mt. Meru which also included Arusha National park. Again Peter did extraordinary and also served as our own guide during the busride when we were arriving in the park.

All in all a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gosheni camping adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our 7 night - 8 day camping safari will be a cherished memory for life. Our journey included Lake Manyara, Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater and Tanagire National Park. Peter (the manager) worked with me for weeks in advance, making and adjusting our itinerary to make the most of the time we had. I was really grateful for his flexibility while I nailed down our final travel dates. Adding to our adventure were Zadok (driver/guide) and Dionis (chef extraordinaire). Zadok's long experience in the tourism industry makes him very knowledgeable about the animals and birds we encountered. And he excelled at tracking down prides of lion, cheetahs, leopards and the like. Dionis was amazing at delivering freshly prepared, delicious 3 or 4 course meals - breakfast lunch and dinner - with very few cooking utensils and space. Both men were accommodating - wanting to make this trip the best experience for us that they could - and they were also personable and fun.
Our trip was kept fairly flexible (within certain limits of course) which gave us the option to plan our days around specific animals and their movements. It was a wonderful adventure packed 8 days.
A few tips for those planning camping safaris:
- Gosheni provided us with 2-person canvass tents, camp cots (separated by a small folding table), mattresses and sheets which made for a very comfortable camping experience.
- if the number in your group does not warrant having an accompanying service vehicle (ours did not) try to plan two nights minimum in each location. Otherwise mornings and evenings could be spent striking camp and setting up camp, and you could miss the best times of day to see game (dawn and dusk).
- game drives en route from one location to another can often not be avoided if you want to make the most of your time, but since we had no service vehicle, with four of us (plus driver/guide and chef) we found it crowded with all of our gear.
- avoid camping in the Zi-on camp site just outside Tanagire National Park. The location is fine, but the washrooms were extremely grotty, and remained grotty even after Zadok asked management to have them cleaned.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gosheni the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I recommend gosheni for safari in tanzania, Peter was always replying fast and very flexible on safari. The price was very good and the lodges we stayed in were simply awesome. Food was excellent in each lodge. Our driver, Zadock knew everything we asked about the animals and was always making sure we were having a great time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Christmas safari delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I travelled to Arusha, TZ with two friends to start a 4-day (3 nights) safari ending on Christmas day (itinerary was: 1 day Tarangire, 2 days Ngorongoro with walking tour the second day, and 1 day Lake Manyara).

Right from the start of the booking process, Peter (Gosheni's manager) was extremely helpful and available, answering all questions and doubts. He came over to our hotel the day before the safari to provide some information and answer any last-minute questions.

The guide was very knowledgeable and easygoing, made everyone feel very comfortable right from the start. The drives in the parks were great (the car is extremely comfortable), and everything was provided for to the smallest detail (e.g. we bought water and snacks in advance but never resorted to them; the car has plugs to charge your phone/camera).

The cook was incredibly skilled, professional and thoughtful - guests from other tour operators were always looking at our table with a hint of envy in their eyes.

The camping arrangement was beyond expectations, very comfortable (beds were also provided!), with blankets, soap and toilet roll provided.

I would strongly recommend both the safari circuit and the company (I would - and will - definitely book with them again!)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gosheni Adventures for an unforgettable safari experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our trip to Tanzania has become one of the best experiences ever in our lives, thanks to Gosheni Adventures. Serengeti, Ngorongoro are just beautiful places and could only be better with a very knowledgeable guide, a talented cook, very well organized camping equipment and a comfortable car. Peter has delivered everything and beyond, and made it a memorable time for us.
Only after my return I can assess how important following are, while deciding a safari company, and thanks to the other reviews here about Gosheni Adventures, we were able to make the best decision, so I'll try to note it all:
- The guide: This is the critical thing when you are making your decision, and it is really hard to know beforehand. We met with our guide Ole in Arusha, a day before our safari began. He is savvy in several other languages, beside English, and full of knowledge of the natural life. He was able to brief us with any animal we saw, gave many details. He rarely followed the main tracks, and usually taken side roads in order to be able to find hard to spot animals. He was quite flexible in his program, and listened to our expectations (waking up time etc.)
- The cook: We never realized the importance until we figured out we would depend on the food prepared by this person for 6 days. Karibu, our chef, was very talented, and showed big care as to what we wanted to eat, and served very delicious food throughout our stay. The logistics of serving a different dish (3 courses each nite) seemed pretty complicated, but he was professional enough to give us fresh food everyday. (also wine was served, if you fancy these type of details)
- The camping equipment: As you'd share the camping area with other safari groups, it is easy to assess the level of service you get, and I should say, in any sense, Peter's organization of all stuff was superior. We did not sleep within sleeping bags, as we had proper raised camping beds, fresh clean linens.. You'd value these stuff a lot if you are first-time camper as we were.
- The car: This is just as critical as the other stuff. We travelled on a very good condition 4x4, and had no technical trouble at any moment of our trip.

Aside from those, while we were planning, we had many questions, where Peter was able to resolve all with rapid responses. He is quite professional, as he made quite a few checks if everything is on track, throughout our safari. He was able to arrange us a daily trip to Kilimanjaro easily, when we got back from Safari, in a day's notice.

I'd strongly recommend Gosheni Adventures, if you are looking for a trustable company, and an amazing safari experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gosheni Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Gosheni Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gosheni Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.