We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for long term stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraka Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baraka Lodge
Save
You added Baraka Lodge to your Saves list
House No. 3, Block C | Njiro, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic for long term stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a great little oasis in Tanzania. I stayed for 4 weeks on business and found it to be very comfortable with high quality facilities. I especially enjoyed the outside kitchen (which I used as a pleasant outdoor office when there weren't other guests) and the reliably hot water in the shower (something one must not take for granted in Tanzania).

Frederica and Geoff were fantastic hosts and Franco, the handyman and security guard, was friendly a huge help on many occasions when coming or going at odd hours or just needing help with anything in general.

The only downside is that the location can be a bit of a challenge if you'e unfamiliar with the area or do not have your own transportation. But Frederica or Geoff will be more than happy to help you arrange transport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Owner at Baraka Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
You are welcome anytime Lee; we enjoyed having you at Baraka Lodge and we appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great place to stay and great hosts to have. I was there with my friends and it was unforgettable experience. Frederika and Geff made us feel like home and were very helpful. Baraka Lodge is a great choice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Frederica & Geoff were great hosts. Very understanding and helpful when plans came undone (a missed connection meant a rescheduled bus transfer from Nairobi) and we only had one night there before our safari. As our first stop in Africa the home cooked meal and comfy room was very welcome after travelling from Australia.
From collection at the bus stop to our leaving on our safari our stay was a great introduction to Tanzanian hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nicely finished rooms, comfortable beds, and a nice outdoor area to relax and enjoy dinner. You can ask Frederica to cook for you, or you can opt to do your own cooking - a full kitchen is provided with everything you need which was enough for 8 of us, and you can shop for your own food nearby at The Village Supermarket (Njiro Complex) which stocks a lot of imported goods from the UK and good quality meat. When we stayed we were a group of 8 (2 in each room) and did our own cooking. Geoff even got out the barbecue for us which was a nice reminder of Australian back-yard life. Geoff was more than happy to pick us up and drop us off to the nearby entertainment complex- it can save a bit of trouble trying to navigate the unnamed roads.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. There is a switch outside each room with a red light which powers the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a great find this place was. It is run by an Australian man and his Tanzanian born wife who treated us like family (with us being Australian! - but I'm sure they'd treat everyone the same.)
We spent two nights here, before and after climbing Mt Kilimanjaro. The place is quite new, so rooms are nice and clean. There are four rooms set into a Masaai boma style building, so you will never be crowded. We were the only ones staying there at the time.
Breakfast of juice, cereal, toast and eggs is served in the open dining area. Tea and coffee is available at any time. This is also a lovely area to relax and read. There is also a coffee machine for "real" coffee!
On request, you can have home cooked food, so Frederica cooked us a lovely meal on our first night. We were also able to buy wine and beer, all very reasonably priced. Frederica also did our laundry at a reasonable price.
Cost is only $US20 per person sharing or $US25 single including breakfast. Such great value.
It is a bit of a bumpy drive but worth it (it has the worst roads in the best suburb of Arusha!). Our tour guide didn't mind dropping us off and picking us up from there.
Thanks Geoff and Frederica.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baraka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraka Lodge

Address: House No. 3, Block C | Njiro, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baraka Lodge is a small bed and breakfast lodge with 4 en-suite rooms and a kitchen/dining room located in our secure home compound in a suburb of Arusha. Your hosts (Australian and Tanzanian) guarantee a warm welcome and personal service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraka Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.