We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, warm and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kigongoni Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kigongoni Lodge
Save
You added Kigongoni Lodge to your Saves list
P.O. Box 11952, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $15 on select meals
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, warm and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My parents and I spent a good amount of days at Kigongoni Lodge, probably more than most, which gave us a chance to experience the wonderful hospitality provided by the staff and the owner. The individual accommodations are private, peaceful, spacious and very comfortable. Your breakfast items are selected from list on a menu with a nice variety like cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs, meats, pancakes, and breads. The coffee is produced by the lodge and it's hot and delicious. Lunch and dinner are ordered from a very nice menu with lots of choices from sandwiches and salads to entrees of chicken, beef or vegetarian options. All meals that we had were very flavorful with artful presentations. We were looking for accommodations outside of Arusha where we could enjoy the quiet countryside before heading to Kilimanjaro. We found that and more at this lodge situated on a hillside full of beautiful plants, flowers, trees and some monkeys! We were entertained in the afternoon by a wonderful chorus of birds as we sat on the deck of our hut. The staff went above and beyond to help make our stay enjoyable and memorable. I'd like to give a big Thank You to all the staff at the lodge, and a special thanks to Maria, Jessica, Abu, Bisee and Sander. We would like to try climbing Kili again, and we will definitely stay at Kigongoni when we do!

Marianne, Mom and Dad from USA

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanderHammer, Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Marianne,
Thank you so much for your kinds words! We and the whole staff are happy, that you and your parents enjoyed your stay at Kigongoni Lodge. Karibuni Sana!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived from Sweden very late in the evening and got a warm and nice welcome. When wakening up next morning we had a very tasty breakfast from a friendly staff. The Lodge is situated just outside Arusha and was former a coffeeplantation (still in use, you drink their own coffee)
We enjoyed a day by the pool, flowers, green trees, birds, butterflies and the sight of Kilimanjaro made our day perfect.
The staff is extremely nice and service-minded, the food is excellent and you are given a choice of good wines to choose between.
The Lodge consists of a lot of small houses on a slope where it used to be coffeeplants, you have an excellent wiew of the mountains and the garden from every cottage. In every cottage you have a spacios room with a huge bed and a big bathroom.
We loved it and we will definately come back.

Room Tip: Perfekt som start på en safari!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Nederland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you're looking for accomodation after a long flight and on your way to visit the national parks, don't bother with this one. You're probably better of having a regular hotel in Arusha.

Our room wasn't really clean, with lizard droppings al over the bathroom. Breakfast was probably the worst we had in Tanzania. Staff was friendly though, and the room was spacious.

The area is pretty nice, but we didn't get a chance to enjoy it because we had to leave for our safari.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanderHammer, General Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time providing us with your valuable comments. We would like to aplogize for the inconvenience you may have experienced in our lodge.

After checking with our staff we find that you were changed to another room than you were originally located to. Normally the room always get a last inspection just before guests arrive. Unfortunately this was not done in your case. It is a pity you didn't mention the inconvenience to our receptionist, since we have 24hrs roomservice. And it could have been solved immediately. As you can see we get good comments on the cleanliness of our rooms. It is a high value to us.

Concerning breakfast: That morning we had a buffet (because of the big amount of guests) and everything was prepared and available. Please provide your concerns on this so we can work on that to prevent the same in the future.
We hereby kindly request you to advice us directly via e-mail on this.

Thanks for your friendly comments on location and our staff, well appreciated!

We look forward having you back again and are confident that on your next visit you will experience only the best comfort and highest level of services provided by our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I went to Kigongoni Lodge to relax during the Christmas days and over new years. The place is beautiful located on top of a hill so you have a very nice view to the country and even Kilimanjaro.
The people working at the lodge are extremely nice and you feel very welcome from the beginning.
The rooms are also perfect and often you wake up to the monkeys playing in the area.
For sure a place I will recommend to other people who are looking for a nice place in Arusha to relax and enjoy some peace in idyllic surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanderHammer, Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Kilimani_dude,
Thanks for your review! Great you enjoyed your stay at Kigongoni Lodge. Thanks for your nice words for our staff, it is highly appreciated. Whenever your in Arusha again, Karibuni!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukunda, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kigongoni Lodge with its cosy but spacious huts scattered around the hilltop has a gorgeous view on the Tanzanian fields, and most impressive: The Kilimanjaro. The huts are decorated in African style, but with Western comfort of shower and bathtub with warm water, kingsize beds and veranda places. The Swimmingpool with its sunbeds is refreshing and the upper bar with fireplace a good alternative for the evenings.
I always love to visit this place with its friendly owners and staff, they make you feel home!
Once you're there, don't forget to make a visit to the clinic for handicapped children down the hill, managed by the owners of Kigongoni. It will be the most memorative experience of your holiday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely rooms and huge baths. Lovely landscaping. Lots of steps. if you are challenged by these, find somewhere else. Food was very good. very clean. Quiet-- we saw nor heard any children. Views were outstanding. Lots of beautiful flowers

Room Tip: Never saw small children but the cabins are far apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Kigongoni Lodge for one night before starting our safari tour.
The room was clean and equipped . It' s a very big room, with another area for shower or bathtub ( you can choose), and on the back you have the WC area. The decoration is very nice , very "African style", and the view goes on the parck ( but there are human activities-maybe plantations- so it does not give the idea of pure nature). The staff could be more friendly, especially at the Hotel reception, but in overall it was a good staff. The food was also very good, very nice restaurant area, terrace and pool. I would recommend this place for a stop-over in Arusha and for someone looking for relax and a clean and comfortable place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kigongoni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigongoni Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 11952, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 11km outside Arusha and 40min drive from KIA. On an old coffee plantation, are 19 spacious cottages each with an own balcony/terrace and fireplace. Splendid views on Mnt Meru and Mnt Kilimanjaro. Perfect place to relax before/after a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. With an a la carte restaurant, diverse choice of wines, free WiFi, tranquil swimming pool, lush gardens and a lot of activities in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kigongoni Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kigongoni Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.