We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel to recover between safaris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Meru Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Meru Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi - Moshi Road Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel to recover between safaris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Mount Meru hotel for one night before our safari then another night at the end of the safari. Although the surrounding town isn't appealing the hotel itself is quite splendid and is surrounded by well maintained gardens and enormous lawns that would do justice to a wedding of any size.

Our twin room was comfortable but not spacious. The main issue was the shower which didn't have a curtain or door which meant the surrounding floor became quite wet and needed towels to soak up excess water. We were on the first floor which meant noise from ground floor music entertainment could be heard during the evening. Fortunately the noise didn't continue too late into the evening.

Our stay included a reasonable buffet dinner with outstanding soup, and an adequate buffet breakfast which was nothing special. Tasty pizzas which were also available poolside where they were cooked while we waited. Bar staff were very obliging and helped carry pizzas and drinks to our room.

Front desk experiences were quite annoying during each of our stays, regardless of which staff members were on duty. Although I waited patiently for my turn, I felt like a second class citizen because my assisting staff member would allow other guests to interrupt out of turn, would answer the phone immediately as a priority, and would constantly interact with other staff members for tasks that had nothing to do with me. Consequently I wasted a considerable amount of time at that desk because my dealings were treated with less importance than those of others around me. I learned that my fastest contact with the desk was best done by phone rather than in person. But even that system wasn't perfect because our important early morning wake up call lodged by phone through the desk came 10 minutes late the following morning.

George, the concierge, deserves a special mention for the great assistance he provided by checking our flight times with the airport then making several phone calls to track down our driver because we desperately needed to change our morning pick up time. Once again, George, Thank you ever so much.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from restaurants and might perhaps be more shielded from entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    139
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
70
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located in Arusha, near a golf course. The rooms are comfortable and clean. However, the service is quite poor. My checkin took one hour at 3 AM! They refuse to lend power adaptors. They charge 3% if you pay with a credit card.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We did not stay at this luxury hotel, but used the pool and restaurant whilst volunteering locally.
Thursday and Friday nights are happy hour where it's two for one on drinks and this makes it affordable.
We paid 15,000TSh to use the pool (I presume you could spend a day there for this)
The most expensive, but the best hotel pool we found in Arusha, it had a beautiful setting in the grounds with a great view of Meru. There was a pool bar too, but we didn't use this.
Towels are provided, but on both occasions I had to ask for them, and they were small and tatty - not what I'd expect for luxury, but maybe they save the decent ones for hotel guests....
The showers were fine, although I didn't manage to find a locker without housekeeping equipment or rubbish in!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall -- room was great! Typical high-end room with very nice bathroom (praise be to the porcelain toilet after a safari! LOL!). Pretty grounds. Nice place to repack, walk around, do a little shopping in the gift shop, clean up, etc.

But here's what weird -- and that's the food choice. The day room includes a "snack" in the coffee shop. It's called a "snack" because you can order anything from the "snack" menu -- which basically sandwiches and burgers. However, the timing and food don't quite go together for someone being picked up to go to the airport at 4:30 or so. We'd already had a large, lovely lunch when we arrived. So our guide suggested that we have our snack packed to take to the airport -- great idea!

However, most of the selections are hot sandwiches, accompanied by "chips" -- which I forgot meant French fries. Yes -- I ordered the food at 2:30 and it was ready by 4 -- no problem. But really, who wants to eat a hot sandwich and fries two hours later? I asked if I could get something like peanut butter and jelly (really), and they just looked at me like I was a lunatic! LOL!

The sandwich was OK, and of course the fries when into the trash. But it seems to me that a hotel catering to people who are flying out that evening would figure out a decent sandwich combination for their "box" snacks. Or at least, when they box it, put in bagged chips, not fries, or coleslaw (which they had omitted at my request). Or put in a banana. Anything that will easily keep for a couple of hours. That's really my only suggestion!

Room Tip: DEFINTELY order your food well in advance. We had received that advice from our tour company, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went for a business meeting in Arusha and spent the night here.Check in swift,ambience great,meals with variety and rooms comfy.The hotel is not far from the CBD on the way to the Mount Kilimanjaro Int Airport.The downside: service can sometimes be a bit clumsy;I ordered ciggarretes room service while checking in and when cigarettes were brought(after an hour) I was told I had to be transferred to another smoking room on a different floor.Something that could easily have been done at check in time as that was also the time I ordered cigarrettes.All in all the hotel was great.

Room Tip: choose the rear rooms facing golf course.nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

An oasis of comfort in the middle of a 26 day safari across 2 countries. Great quality rooms, exceptionally good staff. I needed a doctor for a migraine and they arranged a doctors visits to my room. Great restaurant, pool is a lovely way to spend a day of relaxation - every service you could want and staff pleasant and helpful. Loved my all too brief stay here. Recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: I wasn't there long enough to use spa or fitness so can't comment. Ask for a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

As far as a place to stay before flying back home, this was okay. They took our food order to be served at 5pm, since we were leaving to drive back to the airport at 5.45. By 5.15, still no food. So left the room to join my party. Same thing the part I was with, said to me, still no food. Even though the outside of this place looks good in the area, maybe think twice to be getting any type of service from this hotel

Room Tip: Any room had good views. Grounds were in good condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Meru Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.