We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of luxury with some flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Meru Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Meru Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi - Moshi Road Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury with some flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We entered the Mount Meru Hotel after ten days on safari and living in tents. It was wonderful to have a cozy bed, great shower and flush toilet!

The hotel is modern and immaculately kept. Our room was clean and very comfortable with all modern conveniences, tv, plenty of sockets for charging electronics and a well appointed bathroom. However, the electricity did cut on and off quite frequently.

The service unfortunately gets failing marks. While the staff is very friendly they don't execute well. We ordered snacks to go and they got the orders all wrong. They didn't even have the right number of meals. How does that happen? Then from desk staff kept asking for a key back from a room that we didn't occupy. We kept telling them that we weren't in that room and had given the keys back for the rooms that we were in, but they kept asking like we hadn't already told them.

Even with its flaws, I would highly recommend the Mount Meru Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    139
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
70
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This busy tourist conference hotel should work. I went for supper from another hotel and first had problems ordering in Englsh from the cafe by the pool...no apparent difference between pizza and lasagne. I asked for the latter but staff had to check twice. Nearly two hrs later nothing had come. Despite numerous staff and few diners. . On asking for the third time it was magicked before us.. Stone cold and frozen in cente. What had they been doing for two hrs in an empty restaurant . I couldn't even bear to order anything else and left hungry....I had a great meal latter at the Palce hotel by the way..no fancy frills but good service and good food.
I would avoid recommending this tourist trap to anyone

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were only here for one night as part of our honeymoon. The hotel itself is beautiful and they made our night here extra special by decorating the room with rose petals and providing a bottle of champagne. Was a beautiful (but too short) stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

An exceptional hotel in Arusha where we started our Safari in Tanzania. The rooms had a feel of a very good 4 to 4.5* hotel in North America. All furniture, bedding are brand new, very modern and clean. We felt like nothing in our room was older than a year or two. The service was great as well. This was the most comfortable hotel in our 24 days in Kenya, Tanzania and South Aftrica.

We had dinner at the hotel - pizza and it was quite good with good wine.

I would strongly recommend this hotel (we stayed after a flight from Nairobi)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After an amazing three weeks independent safari in North Tanzania spent in basic tent, Mount Meru Hotel appeared as an oasis in the desert. I guess I've never been so happy to have a bath in my life. The hotel is very nice, staff's people are helpful and very welcoming. Suggest after a wild experience into savana. Free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here in February, 2012, just before starting our northern circuit safari. The hotel is quite new and offers a wonderful view of Mount Meru. Do ask them for a mountain facing room. After a 12 hour flight, we were thrilled to find a luxurious room with all modern amenities. The only peculiar thing is that the wall facing the toilet seat is made of glass and there are no blinds to cover it. So this can get a bit uncomfortable for those who want to enjoying their privacy on the pot!

We tried the Italian restaurant by the poolside and it was pretty decent. The hotel has a lovely lawn and you could ask them to serve you the breakfast in one of the little garden areas near the pool. We really wanted to do that but did not have time in the morning because we had to leave for our safari. The decor is really tasteful and everything was squeaky clean.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay and good value for money. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my time at this hotel, good rooms, very neat and modern look. Good architecture. Bed was crisp, clean enjoyed getting into bed for a good nights rest. Flat screen TV with lots of channels, even pay per view movies. There is a variety of restaurants with good atmosphere and good food. Breakfast was excellent. There is a good gym with working equipment, bonus as most hotels will advertise that they do have a gym but then the cardio machines do not work. The view from the gym is great, overlooking the golf course. Enjoyed the pool area, very modern looking pool. Staff was friendly and helpfull, really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Meru Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.