We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Duluti Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our trip as a stop-over between airport and Lake Manyara. Hotel is set in nice grounds and staff are pleasant enough, however we did suffer a "mix up" over the cost of lunch, when we were charged a la carte price on a set menu because we chose to skip one course. The waitress could or would not understand when we tried to sort it out, so we ended up paying the extra as it was only a few pounds.
Rooms were nice and comfortable.
If I were to repeat the whole trip, I would skip this stop over and get straight to Lake Manyara.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    29
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
93
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here at the start of our North-Tanazania safari. While the hotel is in need of a makeover, the service was very good and the food was good too.

The rooms were well appointed and clean. Our room had a lovely view of the lake. But the highlight of this place are the absolutely lovely and well maintained grounds. The grounds are a great place to birdwatch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here one night between our Kilimanjaro climb and a short safari, then back for lunch and an afternoon rest after the safari while waiting for an evening flight.

Tanzania can be a bit challenging, and this was a welcome oasis.

The grounds, food and service would be considered excellent anywhere, more so here after coming off Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our safari. It was a lovely start to our holiday after our long journey from home. A very pretty setting, well tended colourful grounds. The rooms are very well appointed and we appreciated the extra touch of flowers laid attractively on our bed.
The staff were friendly and professional
All in all it was a great relaxing time before we ventured on our hectic animal spotting in the nearby area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Arusha is a hectic town and if you are looking for a quite place to stay for an Arusha stopover this is a great option. A gated property set on 30 acres of coffee plantation this is a lovely sanctuary. The helpful team will show you around the plantation and vegetable garden that provides fresh produce for the restaurant. It is also great to understand the coffee growing process followed by a freshly made cup. The pool looks inviting. The rooms are extremely comfortable with garden views and high quality bathroom with stylish fixtures.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was closet to the restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a lovely peaceful hotel to rest before the start of a safari. We took the option of a walk around Lake Duluti which is very worth the high cost ($35 each). The rooms are comfortable, the showers amazing, with each having a patio door leading to the gardens. There are many birds around. Food was plentiful with many of the meal buffet style BUT.... We could not understand why a certain waitress always wanted to serve us be it breakfast, lunch or dinner until we moved on to the next hotel and found that she was charging double for everything! Thought it was quite expensive! So double check your bills and you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We only got to stay one night at this hotel, but the property is outstanding!!! Each "cabin" has a massive king-size bed, a bathroom with a free-standing soaker-tub, separate shower, separate toilet. There is cable TV (didn't actually use it), in-room safe. The main building houses the dining room, bar, reception, offices, reading/library room, a series of paths wind through the property leading to the the "cabins". The staff was outstanding --- friendly, helpful. We had a dinner and a breakfast while there, both were excellent. Property is gated and several acres includes tended coffee that they harvest, roast and serve (you can also buy coffee beans from their own plants in the gift shop). There is an in-ground pool (we didn't use it, but looked nice). An excellent choice before or after heading out for safari or heading up Kili.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.