We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Duluti Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
central coast nsw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great but not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had been staying in Arusha for a few days prior to my arrival here, The Safari company insisted that I had to be here day before the departure.

I have to say not my best experience. The hotel didn't answer its phone when my i rang trying to confirm booking and transfer arrangements. The staff at the hotel I was at had same problem. Only got the answer when a representative of the safari comapny who just happend to be collecting guests overheard and intervened. So I arrived not knowing what to expect.

Rooms are all designed as huts in the Masai stayle and there is a stroll between them and the main hotel buildings which does not create any difficulties. Well lit and wide paths and rooms have brolly just in case. No compaints there

Grounds are lovely and you can take a guided walk in the afternoons along the Lake. There are places to sit and take in the fresh air and refreshments available during the day.

The hotel also organises excursions to local markets( recomended, good fun and take the option to visit school ) and other places of interest.

Rooms are basic but clean and there is mosquito repellant provided .

The food was Ok but not great. There is no room service. Warning a glass of water at lunch cost me $9 USD. so don't take that option when offered as the cost is not disclosed at time and comes as a surprise at check out.

if you had just arrived after a long flight or transit this would be the place. As someone who already had a few days to recover from previous adventure this place just didn't cut it. Not recomended for solo travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    29
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
93
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a hotel for couples. The views and landscapes is unbelievable if I could post pictures I would. The food is great, the staff is great. They have reasonable laundry rates. I will be coming back to this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Beautiful couples get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night after two days of travelling, the receptionist was very friendly on arrival and offered some very fresh juice to drink. We were then taken to our room which was very spacious and had reasonably comfortable beds. If you do stay here for at least a day I would recommend booking a walk around the lake at reception. Our guide, Agnes, was very laid back and clearly knew what she was talking about and worked well with the warden to provide an interesting and informative experience. We were lucky enough to see monkeys, owls, Monitor Lizards, Cormorants, and even some passing Flamingoes. It was a great way to spend two hours before our safari started. Overall, a great way to spend a day before the safari started.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I found myself in this 'village hotel' with a lot of style one Saturday when I had enough time to kill before taking an evening flight out of KIA. I feel in love with the place the minute I walked into the compound.

I had a lovely buffet lunch savouring all the offerings. Relaxed and read in the sunny garden and even had afternoon tea 'Silver Service' complete with cookies and cake. There was something so restful about the place I wished I had slept there! I know I will.

Room Tip: Just spent an afternoon, but I imagine the rooms must be restful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in May before our week long safari. The staff were friendly and welcoming from our arrival until our departure.

The rooms weren't as impressive as some of the other Serenas that we stayed in during our safari, but the grounds were gorgeous.

We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a lovely place to catch our breath (and recover from 40 hours of air travel) a day and a half before setting out on a week's safari. The setting was very peaceful, with beautiful gardens, lots of trees and a nice room for accommodation. The main building was very interesting, including a great restaurant and excellent staff. The food was excellent too, especially the buffets for breakfast and dinner, & I can recommend the "Kilimanjaro" beer! The only tricky part was the bumpy drive off the highway to get 1.5kms to the Lodge entrance....but it was worth the slight discomfort! We warmly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a wonderful introduction to Tanzania! This lovely place was the start of my trip and it was so authentic, down to the mosquito netting! I was able to sit on the lawn at the back of my "hut" and sketch and draw. They have wonderful guides for hire, tipping only, who are knowledgeable, nice and interesting. One took us on a walk to Lake Diluti and another to see Mt. Kilimanjaro. Their laundry prices are very reasonable and the Maasi woman on the premises makes beautiful beaded jewelry and will negotiate. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.