We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Duluti Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty lodging in Arusha
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A great start to our safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in May before our week long safari. The staff were friendly and welcoming from our arrival until our departure.

The rooms weren't as impressive as some of the other Serenas that we stayed in during our safari, but the grounds were gorgeous.

We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    20
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
60
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a lovely place to catch our breath (and recover from 40 hours of air travel) a day and a half before setting out on a week's safari. The setting was very peaceful, with beautiful gardens, lots of trees and a nice room for accommodation. The main building was very interesting, including a great restaurant and excellent staff. The food was excellent too, especially the buffets for breakfast and dinner, & I can recommend the "Kilimanjaro" beer! The only tricky part was the bumpy drive off the highway to get 1.5kms to the Lodge entrance....but it was worth the slight discomfort! We warmly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a wonderful introduction to Tanzania! This lovely place was the start of my trip and it was so authentic, down to the mosquito netting! I was able to sit on the lawn at the back of my "hut" and sketch and draw. They have wonderful guides for hire, tipping only, who are knowledgeable, nice and interesting. One took us on a walk to Lake Diluti and another to see Mt. Kilimanjaro. Their laundry prices are very reasonable and the Maasi woman on the premises makes beautiful beaded jewelry and will negotiate. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived at Serena Mountain Village one day before our tour began, and I'm so glad we did. The grounds were beautiful, and it was a perfect place to just relax and recover from our two days of travel. My husband and I had never been on safari before, so taking a day to just really appreciate our surroundings and the adventures we were about to embark on was a great way to start our honeymoon. We arrived at night, maybe about 11 PM, and were surprised to see the bar filled with friendly chatty travelers, and a full staff greeting us to help with our checkin. The staff was so welcoming, and we couldn't walk anywhere without hearing a friendly "jambo" from someone. The bar area is inviting, and a nice place to spend the evenings, sharing travel stories with other guests. Honestly, there isn't too much to do on the grounds during the day aside from exploring or taking one of the walking tours organized by the lodge, but I preferred that. I thought just sitting outside looking at an amazing night sky was a perfect start to our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

An overnight stay at a very picturesque resort located in an isolated place, that allows you to miss nothing! The rooms are spartan, but clean and provide all the basic necessities to make your stay reasonably comfortable. The view from the cottages of Lake Duluti is stupendous and takes you into another world. The hotel itself is novel in its architecture and blends seamlessly with the natural surroundings. The service, as in all Serena Hotels in Tanzania, should not be compared with the Best of Asian Hotels, as the latter represent a culture, rather than a trait.
A fine place to relax and invigorate your inner self with nature all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Arusha Mountain Lodge is a nice place to relax after a long flight. The lodge is in a quiet location a short drive away from the local village and 40 minutes away from the airport. It has well kept gardens which are well flourished and quiet - a lovely place to have a drink. Wine is expensive here - although that was common across Tanzania. Payment can be made in USD or TSH.

The rooms over look Lake Diluti - this is not within the grounds of the hotel and is not recommended for walking around without a guard.

As part of our package breakfast, lunch and dinner was included. The meals are several courses and each course has 2 or 3 options. All the meals were nice. The hotel must have been quite empty when we stayed as our breakfast was served to our table rather than as a buffet.

At breakfast we were joined by monkeys who were watching us eat from outside the windows.

The hotel also runs a complimentary walk around the coffee plantation across the road and to Kilimanjaro view point.

The hotel is within a short drive of Arusha if you wanted to visit the town. There is a Masai market and cultural heritage centre which were both recommended, but we also didn't want to start our safari with lots of additional items.

The hotel was very clean and all the services mentioned in welaj's review below are very detailed and very accurate.

Room Tip: Each villa is one of 6 which surround a specific type of tree. All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A great place to stay for a first night safari away from the hustle of Arusha. The Lodge is located about half a mile down a bumpy track off the main road, 60km from Kilimanjaro airport. The entrance gate always has guards on duty. On arrival you are greeted with a glass of fruit juice to drink whilst filling in a registration form. Your luggage is of course taken to your room, walking along a path lined with banana trees and poinsettia. There was a lot of croaking of cicadas and wonderful stars above. My room was in a group of 6 facing at the front onto a small garden. The room had a pointed thatched roof and inside the bedroom area was circular. The furniture was all wooden and the soft furnishings rich orange African fabrics. The headboard was beautifully carved with wild animals. The twin beds had a ceiling fan above and a mosquito net drawn round them. There were two bottles of water. There was also a television with poor reception, a phone, safe and umbrella. There were blankets on the beds which was quite surprising as it was quite hot and humid. The large bathroom had a huge walk in shower. Supplies included cotton buds, q tips, tissues, hairdryer, face clothes, can of mosquito spray, hand/body lotion, mosquito wipes, bath gel rather than shower gel, soap, shampoo and a shower hat. There was loads of hot water. A door out of the bedroom opened onto a grassy path bordered with light and dark purple bougainvillea, a tulip tree, yellow flowered cassia trees, frangipani tree and more thatched huts. Lake Diluti was down in the lush green valley below. The noise of the insects at night was quite incredible. Free tea and coffee is available in the bar in the main building which is was rather like an English country lodge. It is supposed to be like the colonial coffee farm which once stood on the site. Breakfast is laid out on a long table in the centre of the restaurant. Items on offer included cereals, a jug of yoghurt, pastries, hams, melon and mango and an assortment of fruit juices - melon, mango and apple juice. Coffee was brought to the table and you could order an English cooked breakfast and toast. There is a lawn outside with tables and chairs where you can sit an enjoy the still air. The lodge also has a small shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.