We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely and Peaceful place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Duluti Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Lovely and Peaceful place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

A true gem, I only wish we had more time there. The old plantation house is beautiful, and be sure to make time to hike/ tour Lake Duluti.

Room Tip: Take a guided tour of Lake Duluti.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    29
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
93
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

While lacking the stunning views and amenities of it's cousins at Ngorongoro and Serengeti, Serena at Arusha offers a warm welcome to Tanzania upon landing in Tanzania.

Large gardens, a play area sorrounded by trees, access to a small lake, all add to the charm of this lodge. Arusha is a bustling town of a million, and this lodge is thankfully located at some distance.

We also used it as the base for a ttip to the Arusha National Park, which turned out to be much better than expected. Of all the parks we visited, this was the only one where we saw the Colobus Monkeys and the Crested Eagle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is the place where I believe many of the safari operators will put you for the firts night of your safari. It makes me think that the operators have some deal with this accomodation because there is absolutely no reason to stay there, as there is nothing around.

The place itself is quite nice with individual huts, nicely decorated and with private backyard. There are many flowers around so the ambience is nice. That being said, the place is 40km from Arusha and there is absolutely nithing around. So you are being dropped there for no reason and stuck for hours while you could have gotten by that time to your next destination where actual safari starts. I felt that being there was a total waste of money and waste of time.

We wanted go to the town and we were told that a driver will take us for $60, which really is outragous. You are forced to eat in a so so hotel restaurant, well because, there are not other options unless you want to pay $60 for a taxi.

Again, the place itself is not bad but if you are paying for a safari they put this as part of the safari and it really isn't. You waste a day on being stuck at this place, which I really did not appreciate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stopped here for lunch on our last day in Tanzania. The property and the lodge is so beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here before and after our safari, beautiful grounds and the staff really couldnt do enough for us! We have visited this lodge before and remembered some of the staff from our previous visit. Goodluck the duty manager was so sweet, I mentioned it was my mothers birthday and when returned from our safari he made sure we had rooms with brilliant views, fruit bowls and even got my mum a gift and a card. Thank you so much for making our short stay truly special, hope to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A peaceful oasis in the middle of Arusha, can't imagine a much better place to stay there. Very nice, clean, nice views, good views, but not the type of place that will amaze you. A good place to spend a night recovering from jet lag.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was a lovely place to mark the beginning of our honeymoon. We had a fantastic welcome on our arrival - staff were attentive and warm, typical of all the Tanzanians we met on our holiday. The main building, an old coffee plantation house, was impressive and beautifully kept - the gardens were lovingly tended and full of interesting plants and flowers.

The buffet lunch was really good and hugely welcome after the long trip. We broke through the tiredness barrier and went on the hotel's afternoon guided nature walk around nearby Lake Duluti seeing a variety of birds, insects and reptiles to get our safari holiday off to a great start - our guide was very knowledgeable and filled us in on local culture as well as wildlife during our walk.

Rooms were very comfortable with lovely garden and lake views - everything we needed was right there and we would have been happy to stay longer than the one night. Buffet dinner was sumptuous and the restaurant had a very nice atmosphere. The staff excelled themselves and also laid on an early breakfast for us before our dawn departure.

All in all, a lovely hotel where we felt safe and welcome throughout our stay - would definitely come back (soon we hope!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.