We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to start or end safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Duluti Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good place to start or end safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nice room in individual 'Boma' hut set in lovely grounds of old coffee plantation. Staff attentive and nice colonial style lounge for G&T etc. A good place to either recover from flight or after safari.

Room Tip: Get a room in the first or second set of Bomas as you are then nearer the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    26
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
84
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

After the grueling 19 flight to Kilimenjaro, we started out at the Serena mountain village. Great place to start. we only spent one night, however it was a mch needed acclmation night to get our clocks and bodies on Afican time. Rooms are very well maintained with nice furniture, writing desks, and the bed was huge and great. The bathrooms were very nice and large. Hotel staff were very helpful. The ground of the hotel are absolutley beatutiful. You drive from the village downa long road to the maingate and when you enter the entire scene turns into a tropical forest with a large lake and flowers everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We (four adults) stayed at the Mountain Village for one night upon arrival in Tanzania, and then used a day room the day we departed.

This is an old coffee plantation and it is laid out very well. All the rooms overlook the lake, and down below is an area where the hotel grows its own vegetables and has a park where you can go sit and relax. The main building is big and has a welcoming atmosphere. The lobby is great, and just off to the side is a nice souvenir shop. The front desk staff are very accommodating – and accepted delivery of souvenirs that we purchased on our way out of Arusha and then stored them for us until our return. The hotel also stores your extra luggage while out on safari. The lounge area certainly reminds you of what it probably was like as an upscale private residence. The same with the restaurant. There is a great sitting area outside the main building. A number of tables and chairs sit on the lawn overlooking the lake.

Upon arrival we ordered off the menu and the food was excellent. Eating in the restaurant though, we had good food – but it was only average at best. Service was great, yet the food just wasn’t what we had in the other Serena’s we stayed at.
The rooms are in pods of four and are vine covered on the outside. Inside they are quite big, including the bathrooms. The only rooms that I wouldn’t want are the four at the very end of the property. They are beside the perimeter fence – which on the other side is a not so nice local property.

This is a stopping off point for those going out on safari or those waiting to depart after a safari. For one day stays it is great. I don’t see it as a place to stay for long, but that certainly isn’t because of the staff or the property. The only reason I say this is because there wouldn’t be much to do. The hotel supplies complimentary bottled water in the rooms.

The staff at all the hotels we stayed at in Tanzania were all very friendly and helpful. Whatever you decide to do - remember to tip those who make your holiday special. A couple of bucks to your waiter, porter or guide are appreciated along with a few Asante’s (thank-you's).

We stayed in early August and the temperature was around 26 in the day and 12 at night.
We thoroughly enjoyed this a stopover hotel.

Room Tip: The pod of four rooms furthest away from the front desk are separated by a high fence from a local a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Beautiful gardens and grounds, comfortable rooms, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

20 miles from Kilimanjaro airport, and is a stepping off lodge to safaris in Tanzania. Hotel, rooms and grounds very neat & clean. Beefed up security after a break in a year ago. We all felt very comfortable here (Tauck ) uses this lodge. People were great & food very good. They will take you on several nature walks or canoe rides on there extensive grounds.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The main building is a stunning old African mansion. The rooms are individual stone cottages built to look like Maasi huts. They are well appointed.
The food was pretty good but not great - almost like a Caribbean all-inclusive in format. The Serena wine list if very weak though cheap which is surprising given the nature of their clientele which would be prepared to spend more for some better wines.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Excellent hotel to start your safari into Tanzania.
Rooms clean and all with spacious bathroom.
Complimentary guided walks to Lake Duliti. (ask the frontdesk)
Every evening set menu of very good quality.
Things to do in the area: Arusha Central Market ( crowded and you need a local guide for your own safety), the Baraa Primary School ( an iThemba project)

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.