We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ndutu Wildlands Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndutu Wildlands Camp
Save
You added Ndutu Wildlands Camp to your Saves list
Dodoma Road | Ngaramtoni ya chini, Arusha P.O Box 10116, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Chennai, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Experience Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at the Ndutu Wildlands camp for 7 nights between 4th and 10th February, 2012. I am a keen wildlife photographer and was looking for basic comfort, decent food and proximity to wilderness. My agent decided to put me up in this camp. I am over joyed. On all three accounts, I could not have asked for more. This tent is pretty close to all major areas of wildlife activities in Ndutu. I was happy to see a team of 12 wild life photographers from USA staying at the same time.

Tents were comfortable, food (vegetarian!) was excellent and the team of nine managing the tents were friendly. Philomin and Borukkai ( hope I got the spelling correct ) are the visible ones and others work behind the curtains!

Some suggestions:
1. Remember to take couple of face masks (? surgeon's mask). Entire Ndutu is dusty, thanks to dust storms and the speeding vehicles.
2. If you need to buy a prepaid sim card - go for airtel. Works in certain patches - definitely better than Vodafone.
3. Do not carry anything mad of oil. Ants love them!
4. For a fee laundry is possible.
5. If you have a GPS system, take the co-ordinates of the lodge.
Latitude: S 2d 58m 26.26s
Longitude: E 34d 56m 38.41s
6. This lodge is in the Ngorongora territory and close to the border of Serengeti. If you are traveling in a group and in more than one vehicle, tell your guide to take separate entry permits for each vehicle. To avoid more work, all vehicle numbers may be entered in one sheet of paper and this could turn out to be a pain!
7. It may be worthwhile taking an air transport insurance ( ask your travel agent )

You can view my images from the wild at www.natureimages.in

Cheers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you are planning a Wildlife Photo Safari in the wilderness, this is the place to stay. Simple, neat and clean tents without fences. No fancies yet had all the basics we needed clean comfortable bed, flush toilets and hot water showers in the tent. We spent a whole week there. ( Feb 4th-Feb 11th 2012 ). We heard animal sounds in the nights.
This camp is in the center of the game drives, this allowed us to spend a lot of time in the field. The staff were really nice. They looked after us very well. We were all vegetarians and they served delicious meals. A simple gesture but it was really nice, the whole staff ( 9 of them ) came to see us off on the last day.

Two points to be noted. It took our drivers a good 2 hours to find the place. So if you book please make sure your drivers know where it is.

Latitude: S 2d 58m 26.26s
Longitude: E 34d 56m 38.41s

Only the dining tent has a place to charge your battery. So you may want to take an extra power strip with you in case other people are already charging.

Link to some of the photo taken there.
http://sraja.smugmug.com/Keshav/Nature/Ndutu-2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed in ndutu wildlands camp two nights and loved it. The staff are so helpful and friendly; they could not have been nicer. The food was very good. A tent type accomodation may not suit everyone, but if you want to really experience the Serengeti wildness, this is a way to do it. We heard hooves running near our campsite and some lion roars one night, and found out the next morning that lions had been hunting zebras nearby. The tents are secure,clean and have electricity for lighting, water, and the toilet. Each tent has a sink, shower and toilet behind a partitioned area of the tent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ndutu Wildlands Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndutu Wildlands Camp

Address: Dodoma Road | Ngaramtoni ya chini, Arusha P.O Box 10116, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ndutu Wildlands Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.