We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Korona House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Korona House to your Saves list
Korona House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arusha
1 review
“Wow Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I and my wife stayed at Korona House for our Honeymoon experience. The place is excellent in all ways; the tranquil home, nice food, beautiful accomodation and WOW staff. We were treated in special way regardless of nationality status; I mean resident clients. Thank you to the Owner and staff for such a wonderful experience; we will definately go back to Korona House sometime soon. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
40
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 7 persons for one night at Korona House after our safari and it was perfect for the purpose: a good nights sleep in a big bed with mosquito nets, clean rooms, showers with hot water, wifi and good food. The staff and the manager were super friendly and service minded and they really made you feel like you were at home. We paid 50 USD per double room, 30 USD for the triple room and 10 USD per person for a three course Tanzanian dinner. If you're looking for somewhere to stay for a night or two while travelling through Arusha, this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Korona House is a decent, quiet, and safe place to stay in Arusha pre- or post-safari, which is what I did. It is not located in the city center and walking is not advisable, but Arusha did not seem conducive to walking anyway. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed, with good bathrooms, decent WiFi, decent meals (free breakfast, of course), a good staff, eager to please, and the prices were very good. My whole stay and airport transfers were without a hitch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were amazed at the level of service here. very good decor, lots of thoughtful extras: from a good range of magazines, games to cotton buds and fly spray all provided free. This is far above the typical guest house standard in Tz where usually the running water doesn't and there is no hot water at all. At Korona, you get a good shower with hot and cold running water and adequate pressure. You don't have to run around to get wet! This is worth noting after 14 days elsewhere of taps that don't work and having to bathe from a bucket!
The restaurant made a real effort to appeal to western tastes even having both marmite and vegemite on offer!

Well done, Korona.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Korona House is located about 1 hr from Kilimanjaro Airport in a relatively new suburb of Arusha. We stayed here at the beginning and ends of our safari trips. The rooms were a bit small but certainly adequate for a good night's sleep - better to spend the time outdoors on the balcony watching the beautiful sunbirds feeding on the flowers. The staff were so nice and helpful. The food was delicious and served at the time requested - boxed lunches for our safari were generous and delicious. I will recommend Korona House to all my friends if they plan to visit Tanzania.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a "peek-a-boo" view of Mt. Meru
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very convinient place to stay before and after a safari, good value for money. Rooms are provided with mosquito net, they are very comfortable, clean and quiet, may be a bit small, but ok to stay a few nights. They also have a restaurant, food is good, but it takes quite a long time to be ready. Staff is helpful, some of them are not very fluent in English but they really make an effort. It is out of downtown but they pick you up at arrival for free, and usually safari tour operators also pick you up at the hotel, so this was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks to all at Korona House! I recently stayed there for three nights prior to climbing kili. I enjoyed my stay very much. Everyone was very friendly and courteous and went out of their way to advise and help me whenever I needed something. I enjoyed the homely feeling that you can never get in a standard hotel, not to mention a lot less expensive! The atmosphere was especially nice considering it was my first time in Tanzania. The rooms are clean and cozy, the food delicious. I plan to recommend Korona House to anyone I know who is travelling to Arusha!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Korona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona House

Address: Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Korona House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korona House offers High quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation for Residents and non Resident Travelers who are seeking a small property establishment with value for money, convenience, affordable budget and without compromising on quality and ambiance. Visiting for either a short sya or Long term stay,visiting for Safari, business, conference ,study, leisure or Visiting Friends in Arusha, Korona House - Bed & Breakfast should allow you a significant savings in money and time. A weekend gateway or an evening meeting with friends or family Dinner, Korona House would be convenient for you for the purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Korona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korona House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.