We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Arusha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Korona House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Korona House to your Saves list
Korona House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Arusha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and have everything that you need. The food was very nice and Armani and Yusef were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in many places in Tanzania but this was the best value for money and we stayed for two nights - one before our safari and one after. The restaurant is in a room at the bottom of the garden and there is a lovely area to sit outside either for eating or drinking. There is a very nice small supermarket right across the road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
40
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at korona house for about 5 nights while in arusha organising our safari. Amani is possibly the nicest man in Tanzania. And Joseph made sure we were perfectly taken care of. The house is charming, clean, food delicious but above all the customer service by Amani and Joseph was second to none.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Korona House (KH) was a lucky find after scouting around for 'decent accommodation'. It was way above my expectations - clean, homely and away from the hustle and bustle, KH makes you feel at home. They are friendly, responsive and professional. Worth a visit and affordable, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Korona House is a brilliant guest house to stay when in Arusha. It is about 8km south of town in semi-rural Njiro district, an 8km TZS500 'duladula' trip into the CBD. Accommodation is spotlessly clean, a pleasant dining room, and beautiful food, often with something a little different, with African flavour for breakfast.
Amani is the most obliging manager, with no request being too difficult. Amani grins from ear to ear when he meets our requests, and this is often. Amani, can you organise a taxi? Of course. Amani what is the WiFi password? Amani, can we have breakfast at 6.30am? Perfect. Amani, can you arrange dinner for 12 of our extended group? Of course, what do you think of this menu? And we ate a beautiful 3 course meal. Joseph, Amani's assistant, is always available to help.
Korona was a great place to stay for the week we enjoyed in Arusha.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Korona House! I can not recommend this place highly enough! The rooms are of a good standard and kept very clean, it's away from the crazyness of the town so nice & quiet, the food is fantastic but what set's this place apart from just about anywhere i've stayed is the service by the staff! Armani the manager & Joseph were amazing in how they both looked after you while making you feel so at home! & it's not expensive!
If your heading to Arusha and looking for somewhere to stay go to Korona House!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Korona House for 9 nights whilst in Arusha for a wedding. The location of the hotel was perfect for us being close to family and also an easy bus ride into town. The service was outstanding with Amani and Joseph taking care of us and the other 9 family and friends staying there. The rooms were neat and clean, hot water was consistent and breakfast was good.

The highlight of the stay was our bizarre request to purchase a goat as a gift for the wedding. We left this very late and at 9pm the night before approached Amani about this. He said it would be difficult at this late hour but he'll try his best. An hour later he had a goat purchase lined up for us and the goat arrived at 9am the next morning. That's the kind of service they offer.

The rooms are great value and a great place to relax after safari or climbing Meru or Kili. Will definitely be back to stay when we visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The best place to escape the hectic, loud and craziness of Arusha is Korona House. It's only a few kms outside the city and to be honest you really want to stay outside the city. Arusha doesn't have much to offer for sightseeing and things to do. Let's be honest we're all there to head out on safari or to climb Kilimanjaro which Arusha is the stepping stone for. I traveled with a friend of mine and our best experience in Arusha was Korona House. The accommodations are great! Very Clean which is a must for us! The home cooked Tanzania meals were fantastic as well. It's a fantastic spot to relax, read or just watch the locals go by from the second floor balcony. It's a lovely quiet place. But what makes Korona house feel very homey is the staff. especially Amani. I've never met someone so friendly, kind and nice! He went out of his way to make sure we were happy and enjoying ourselves. He's very knowledgeable and speaks wonderful English as well French. He always offered suggestions and things he'd recommend seeing or doing. He took a general interests in our trip and where we had been and what we had seen. He really wanted to make sure we had wonderful memories of Tanzania and Arusha. He drove us into town and picked us up after a day of shopping at the Masai markets and wondering around as well took us to the airport. It was sad to say goodbye. If you're looking for a hotel/guesthouse with excellent value. clean, good food and a friendly staff or experience I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Korona House to anyone! Thanks Amani and staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Korona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona House

Address: Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Korona House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korona House offers High quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation for Residents and non Resident Travelers who are seeking a small property establishment with value for money, convenience, affordable budget and without compromising on quality and ambiance. Visiting for either a short sya or Long term stay,visiting for Safari, business, conference ,study, leisure or Visiting Friends in Arusha, Korona House - Bed & Breakfast should allow you a significant savings in money and time. A weekend gateway or an evening meeting with friends or family Dinner, Korona House would be convenient for you for the purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Korona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korona House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.