We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Planet Lodge to your Saves list
Planet Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arusha
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel and grounds are not bad. Location is not great. It's some distance away from Arusha town and hotel provide free transfer to it only ONCE a day, around 10am. We took a taxi from Arusha to hotel for 10000tsh which is around 7$.
Some staff at the reception are not very nice. They stay polite but trying to cheat to get extra money from you for phone calls, etc. One evening they told us taxi would coast 20$ to town (we didn't take it), next morning it was 10$ (she probably forgot).
The bills at the bar HAD to be checked (trying here as well).
The breakfast is everage, ok.
Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear nataliyaNason,

Thank you for sharing your experience. As you noted, we are not in the center of Arusha but rather about 7 Km out in the suburbs something that many clients find appealing. For our guest convenience, we provide a free shuttle service that takes clients into Arusha at 10am and back at 4pm. Outside those hours clients can call a taxi or have our reception staff arrange one for $8-10 one way depending on the drop off location.

You also noted a discrepancy in the taxi fare for going into Arusha. This was a simple misunderstanding. since you requested the service in the evening the Receptionist assumed that you wanted to get a taxi to town and back. That is a service we provide for $20 i.e. for a car to drop you off in town, wait and then bring you back. She did not forget the rate quoted the night prior when she told you a taxi would cost $10 in the morning. What happened is she offered a return service on the evening taxi and a one way rate for the morning taxi. Kindly note that all this information is available to guests via the information folders placed in every room.

With regards to the bar bills, we've checked into it and addressed the issue with the respective employees. For the phone charges, we've checked and the time billed corresponds to the time you talked on the phone (rounded up to a full minute). We are charged by the phone company per minute and not seconds so whether you talk for 15 seconds or 60 seconds, you will pay for a whole minute. Rest assured that you were charged correctly for the phone call and there was no cheating.

I am sorry your stay was just average. My wish is for clients to provide such feedback to us (Management) while here... Had you said something, we would have been able to clarify and/or address any problems on the spot. We will continue to train our employees so they can communicate taxi/phone/service charges better, bill clients accurately and therefore manage varying guest expectations better.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    77
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
84
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Planet Lodge for two nights. The staff are really nice and helpful. This place are really nice to stay at if u need to relax. If you want massage you can order this to your room. And they have a pool were you can relax while youre watching the beautiful mount Meru. The rooms are really nice and clean and the food is good. I will highly recommend this place and i will stay here next time i am in Arusha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a few days before and after our Kilimanjaro climb.
The rooms are very nice and offer good views of the surrounding garden. However, do not have your clothes washed here- Ours came back Creased, Unfolded, and the colors had not been separated as the dye ran into the whites.
We had specified delicate- but despite this some of our clothes had shrunk also.
Otherwise- we had a really enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Planet Lodge at the beginning and end of our safari with Good Earth. It’s very affordable with good amenities. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is very good. There are no safety deposit boxes in the rooms but we were able to leave our valuables in the safe at reception. We had some time on our hands so we really appreciated the free WIFI and 2 computers in the lobby. If you have time to hang out there is also a small pool at the back of the property. The staff and management are great – warm, welcoming and very helpful. We had such a good time with them that we couldn’t wait to get back and tell them all about our safari. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you are looking for value for money, you may wish to try this place out. That is if you don't need to be in the CBD or keep popping in and out and have no need for being out till late, this is a nice quiet place to stay.

The food was great and the rooms are spacious. The showers are temperamental, takes sometime to understand how it works.

The Owners who also manage the property are pleasant as the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you are planning to climb Mt. Meru or visit Arusha National Park this is a good value hotel with a nice pool, simple but clean rooms and decent food (breakfast included in room price). No Air Con and the water pressure leaves a bit to be desired, and its also tough to get the temperature right but with a little patience I found it worked in the end. The pool was nice, clean and quiet when we were there and there is a bar, although the service is a bit slow Euro/American standards but this seems typical of the area. Wouldn't plan a week there but a few days of relaxation at a reasonable price after Kili/before safari was nice.

Room Tip: All rooms the same as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before departing for a safari. Rooms are clean, of reasonable size and the establishment is relatively new. The walls between rooms are thin and one can hear conversations through the wall. Water temperature in the shower constantly changes so you have to continually adjust the temperature. The restaurant food in the hotel is good but short on choices. The kitchen is in a different building altogether so the wait staff must physically leave the dining room and walk about 30 yards to the kitchen to place and retrieve orders making service very slow.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same however the reception is in the front and the pool is in the back so requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.