We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Rooms & Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Planet Lodge to your Saves list
Planet Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arusha
Red Lodge, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Rooms & Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our company used Planet Lodge as our main accommodations to stay before and after our Kilimanjaro trek. The staff was extremely helpful & professional. We stored our luggage for the duration of the trek and everything was safe & secure when we arrived. We arrived late after our trek and were scheduled for a safari the next morning. The manager arranged to have our clothes washed and ready for us before we left! I only problem we had was the lack of water pressure in some of the rooms which made it challenging to clean up after an 8 day trek. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers staying in Arusha!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    76
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
84
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here before and after my Kilimanjaro climb (Good Earth Tours). Great service, clean, very nice rooms, and free wifi, which was huge for getting in touch w/ family back home. The internet signal was pretty strong, as well. I stayed in one of the rooms close to the street, so it wasn't as quiet on my side of the property, but the street noise kind of became "background" and wasn't a problem. I slept great and enjoyed the breakfast provided. Be sure to turn on the switch for hot water before taking a shower. :) If you are hiking the mountain, this place will seem ten times more luxurious when you return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am not a huge reviewer but I feel like this place deserved one. We were greeted with fresh juice and warm towels - so welcoming. The place was beautiful, peaceful and comfortable but my main review is of the customer service. From the time that we arrived to the time that we left the staff bent over backwards to accommodate any needs that we had. The manager of the Hotel himself even got on the phone with our safari company to clear up a major problem that we were having with our departure the following day. With the language barrier it was a true help. I rated this as excellent because of our experience at this hotel compared to the many others we stayed at during our African journey. There were a lot of unpleasant experiences so this was a welcomed change and relaxing leg of our trip. I thought it was an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed before and after our Kilimanjaro hike at the Planet Lodge. The separate rooms are nice and comfy. Pool is also fine. It is perfect if you want to unwind before or after a Safari. it is some 10min out of Arusha. Free shuttle was offered at 10am and 4pm otherwise 8USD. It is lacking a bit charme. Price/Value is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a very reasonably priced newer hotel in Arusha. It has separate cabins with walkways in between. They had a pool which we did not use. The restaurant was good. There are no other choices without a taxi ride. They said they would get us an early breakfast for an early departure, but they did not get going. There were only two or three rooms occupied besides ours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Planet Lodge was one of the better ones we stayed in during our trip. It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. Free internet service. Food was so-so. The beds were comfortable. It's not a fancy hotel, but it's comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My group and I were visiting the Nelson Mandela Institute down the road from Planet Lodge. The staff and facilities well-exceeded my expectations. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. It is pretty far from any shopping, and the road noise could be a little annoying, especially in the morning, but otherwise I definitely plan on staying here again upon my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.