We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy Safaris Ltd. - Private Day Tours

Roy Safaris Ltd. - Private Day Tours
2 Serengeti Road, Arusha, Tanzania
255 27 250 2115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 87 Activities in Arusha
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roy Safaris has been running personalised, tailor-made and small group tours to Tanzania for over two decades. We believe that our considerable experience and knowledge ensure we can offer you a unique, exciting and unforgettable African safari experience. Almost 70 per cent of our bookings comes from referrals or repeat business.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Going on safari to Tanzania is simply unforgettable, and Roy Safari helped make it that way.

We had an excellent and tireless guide, Thomas. He had eagle eyes for spotting animals in the distance. And, on a pre-dawn drive, he somehow spotted a leopard crouching roadside, and we stopped, waited for 2 hrs until the leopard pounced for the kill as day broke. Simply amazing.

It is a nerve-wracking experience to set up the trip. The advisors there are super-helpful and patient -- that isn't the hard part. The leap of faith is wiring *lots* of money to secure your place with a deposit or pay for the trip. But, in the end, it was very easy. Roy Safaris was trustworthy.

If there was one complaint, it was that a car part broke down during our drive, so we had to stop by a ranger "garage" for two hours for it to be fixed. But, to their credit, Roy had a Serena lodge pick us up, take us to their hotel, and provide free drinks and meal while we waited. They also flew in an extra part in case it broke down again. (which it did, but we were able to transfer cars without losing time) In short, don't ride the Nissan Pathfinder -- go with the Toyota.

We did Ngorongoro, Serengetti (northern to catch the migration), and Tarangire. We did this summer of 2012. Simply amazing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    6
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned from a safari in Tanzania (Northern circuit) and wanted to pass on our sincere thanks to Roy’s. What a wonderful experience. Roy’s were friendly, super-efficient and professional from start to finish and we cannot recommend them highly enough (although we will try to!).
Augustino worked with us to tailor-make a great itinerary according to our wishes and helped with all the arrangements including flights, transfers, excellent hotels and of course the safari itself. Nicholas was our wonderful (and very patient) guide – with a fantastic knowledge of the animals, awesome driving skills and a really great sense of humour. He taught us a lot and answered all our endless questions about the animals, Masaai culture and Tanzania in general. Aside from the amazing animals (of which we saw so many) we were completely blown away by the sheer beauty of this region.
We would urge anyone currently contemplating a safari - Do it – it’s an amazing life-enriching experience and you will find none better than Roy’s to make it happen with style.

Michelle & Stephen, Manchester (United), UK.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm writing to let you know how very pleased we are with our recent safari. Our trip was all that we anticipated and more. From the accommodations to the food to the itinerary, all was exceptional.

We want to particularly note how grateful we were to have worked with our guide, Charles. He was clearly knowledgable about the flora, the fauna and the geology of the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro Caldera. But most of all, he was passionate about them. His love of the animals and the ecological balance that exists among them and the land was palpable. That, coupled with his good humor and his patience made for a memorable trip.

We hope to return to Tanzania in the next few years. When we do, be assured that we will book another trip with Roy Safari. With any luck, Charles will still be on board.

Our sincere thanks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I can't imagine a better Tanzania tour company than Roy Safaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were extremely pleased with Roy Safari Tours. We spent 8days with our guide/driver, Habib, and he was excellent. He's been guiding for 18 years and he knows where every animal is in all the parks. We were blown away by the animals we saw. The Big Five, of course. 71 lions! 11 hippos. Many cape buffalo, 7 cheetahs, and elephants everywhere. He knew where to find them and he also knew birds, so that was an extra benefit as I also enjoy the birds, too. We were there during the time that most of the animals were having their babies, so that made it really special. Got lots of baby pictures! Roy Safaris handled every detail with superb expertise from planning to lodges to guiding and everything we needed to make our trip the best ever.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Best trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have traveled all over the world but this was simply an incredible experience. Before even arriving, Susan did an amazing job of helping us to create a custom trip that was just right for us. From the moment we got off the plane everything was planned just as described in the email correspondence and all of the accommodations were incredible. Our guide, Charles, was truly magnificent. He was incredibly knowledge, very patient and made our trip an unforgettable experience. Even the wonderful picnic lunches were eaten while watching lions. We also saw leopards, elephants, giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, over 50% of the rhinos in the area and numerous wildebeests, zebras and antelopes. Everything from the lodges and food to the culutres aspects and all the animals were amazing. If you are going on a safari then use Roy Safari.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy Safaris Ltd. - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Roy Safaris Ltd. - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy Safaris Ltd. - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.