We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christina House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Christina House to your Saves list
Christina House
Chama, Kwapole near Tengeru along Arusha-Moshi road | about 3km to Nelson Mandela Institute of Science and Technology, Arusha +255, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 62 Arusha B&B and Inns
kerala india
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Christina House on our first night in Tanzania before departing for our safari the following day to Tarangire National Park.

This truly is an outstanding bed and breakfast. Service is excellent, Our room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed, and wonderful bathroom. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean; and meals were great, so delicious and mostly African. Christina herself was so helpfully and charming. I cannot wait to go back to Christina House
If you want to feel a truly African experience do not hesitate to go there.The environment is very good with a lot of vegetation and you cannot miss to see Mt Meru.
I will be back again and again

Room Tip: its along arusha moshi road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We think a lot of Christina and Christina House. We were a wedding party of 17, en route to Zanzibar and planned a safari pre-wedding. Christina not only accommodated us before and after our safari but she also organised the whole safari with a local company (Ascent Tours).
She was our point of contact and made our lives easy when on the trip.
Her place is simple but amazing. The place is clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable and mosquito nets were good. The bathrooms were simple but clean and well presented. The showers are of the electric style often seen on the continent so are a little dependent on the local electricity supply but worked well if you know how to use them!
They have a central balcony area which makes a nice meeting/relaxing area and the garden is looked after and attractive. The security was good. Transfers and transport into town were easy and fairly priced.
She provided us with internet access although we provided the computer.
We ate meals in house and these were very good. Volume of food was impressive and the local flavours were abundant. Breakfast was included.
Christina was very helpful and her communication was great. We started talking to her almost 12 months in advance. Through email and phone calls, we established that everything was in place for a well planned trip. We paid in advance (almost 100%) and we were more than happy to do this even with the large sums involved. (Please be aware that Christina House's bank account is in Arusha, Tanzania but the bank address is in Kenya and this confused the Americans even though it is all legitimate and worked correctly.)
The one downside to the place is the road noise which we noticed more one night than the other. Trucks and other vehicles use the road nearby all night and the occasional horn was not ideal. Earplugs would therefore be recommended for a good nights sleep.
We felt that this place would be more quiet than in central Arusha or Moshi (even with the slight road noise) and would go back to Christina House every time. A lot of effort was made for us and we appreciated everything

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are so glad we found Christina house, we were made so welcome - from the first greeting by Christina at the airport to the final farewell. This was our first visit to Africa and when our luggage did not arrive with us, Christina was very helpful, taking us to Arusha to track it down. We were very happy with our room, it was clean and the mosquito net was large and very effective. We also were able to see Mount Meru from our window. There was some traffic noise from the road but we soon stopped noticing it.
The food was excellent, it was tasty and plentiful and gave us the opportunity to try real Tanzanian flavours! It was always served with a smile and during our stay we enjoyed getting to know some of the lovely ladies who are part of Christina's team.
We went on a three day safari, arranged in advance by Christina, and it exceeded all expectations. She was also keen to find out how we wanted to spend our time on our other days and offer any help she could, including arranging local excursions. We would happily recommend Christina house as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at Christina House at the beginning and end of my camping safari. I had actually asked Basecamp, my safari operator, to put me there after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and am very glad I did. As others have mentioned, the house is locally owned (Christina is the owner). Rooms with ensuite bathrooms and hot showers are spotless. Mosquito nets are provided (though I didn't actually see any mosquitoes, but that might have been the season). Christina and her staff are incredibly helpful and attentive. Another major plus is the food. I wanted to make sure I got the chance to try some local food while in Tanzania (safari food tends to be westernized), and Christina House hit the spot. Dinner consists of freshly prepared local dishes that are absolutely delicious. If you do stay here, don't bother trying to find a restaurant in town, I'm pretty certain it wouldn't be able to beat Christina's food anyway :).
In short, I would definitely recommend staying here for an amazing local experience, which to my mind is a lot better than staying at a bigger more commercialized place. As a side note, some people have mentioned that the house is next to a major road. While that is true, please don't imagine the "major road" to be 5th Ave, New York. There is traffic, yes, but it is far from crazy and it seriously dies down after dark, so overall it is a non-issue and most importantly is not going to interfere with a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

On the plus side the welcome is very warm and the food plentiful and tasty. The room was clean and the bathroom had all that one might expect in terms of towels, toiletries etc

However, on the negative side:
The lodge is a long way from town on a noisy main road, the room we stayed in was very small and the net barely reached all the way round the bed without us re-arranging the meagre furniture. The shower gave out a dribble of tepid water and the toilet leaked.

All in all this place has it charms and in time could be a good place to stay but currently better accommodation can be found in Arusha for the money. Most reviews here only give one side which seems quite biased, it's important that both sides are represented.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights here - before and after safari. The lodge is very basic. The room is very small - you cannot stay in the room except for sleeping. The people were really nice at least and they try and make you feel welcome. One of the girls even offered us to cook with her - that was nice of her. The issue is that you cannot do anything during the evening except for staying in the terrace eating the home made food the girls prepare for you and have a drink or some wine. By 9 you'll definitely be asleep - at least the bed was comfortable. Without sounding too negative and disrespectful to Christina I think that I have the duty to point out to the average traveler that when going to developing countries like Tanzania you either go to high standard accommodation that makes up for the eventuality of not knowing what to do/go during the evenings or otherwise be prepared of  long hours of staring. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

When I arrived here I looked t the buildings next to Christina house and was afraid that was where I was staying but when I went through the beautiful gates and saw the building surrounded by palm trees I was pleasantly surprised. Me and my mom's room was great with a large very comfortable bed, beautiful wood work and a very nice shower compared to where we had been before. The room was small but had plenty of room for us. Christina drove us from the airport, talked to us before dinner and was very welcoming without always being with us. The dinner was good, chicken with a great sauce and very good tea. All of the place was beautiful with lots of plants and we couldn't get over how beautiful the woodwork and decorations were. I saw a salamander and some spiders but none inside the rooms like many other places. I really enjoyed this place and I don't know why anyone wouldn't.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina House

Address: Chama, Kwapole near Tengeru along Arusha-Moshi road | about 3km to Nelson Mandela Institute of Science and Technology, Arusha +255, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christina house is the Mini African styled lodge which serves normally local food, other cuisines are served on request. Christina House is in the northern circuit of Tanzania in Arusha which is the tourist town. Christina House arrange safaris to the national parks and mountain climbing Mt Kilimanjaro and Meru. At Christina House we have the program of cultural tourism where by we make sure our costumers experience the difference and we keep them within the community. Staying at Christina House you will be helping the women and children because 10 percent of the income goes to the non-profit organization (women hope of Tanzania). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Christina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christina House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.