We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the walking tour with the ranger!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Full-Day Arusha National Park Tour with Lunch

Full-Day Arusha National Park Tour with Lunch
Arusha, Tanzania
+255 (27) 2548952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Arusha
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Deadwood, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Take the walking tour with the ranger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arusha National Park is only about an hour from the city of Arusha. The park sits on the slopes at the base of Mt. Meru. The park is known for its views, not for its wildlife, although we saw buffalo, waterbuck, baboons, beautiful colombus monkeys, zebra, giraffe and gazelle.

If you have limited time, then go to Ngorongoro Crater. It is rightly a world heritage site, and it is a garden of eden.

But if you have time, and if you go to Arusha National Park, then definitely pay the extra money for the walking tour with the ranger. It is so wonderful to get out of the safari vehicle and actually feel the ground, sniff the air, and hike through the terrain. Our ranger was Rahema and she knew EVERYTHING and was happy to share it. She was my favorite guide of all our safaris.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Extremely accessible place to see wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just minutes from the city, this small national park is teeming with animal and bird life. If you can't do a full-scale safari, the park offers varied terrain, lots of cape buffalo, giraffe and zebra, flamingoes, and the rare and beautiful colobus monkey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I realise this is supposed to be reviewing a "Full Day Arusha National Park Tour" but if you like to walk do yourself a favour, hire a guide and hike to the top of Mt Meru. It will take three days minimum (four is much better) but it is worth it - after starting at one or two o'clock in the morning, the final four or five hours of rock scrambling to the summit, by headlamp, will keep you honest. The views of Mt Meru and it's amazing crater as well as of Kilimanjaro will stay with you for a long time.
Why hang around with the khaki-clad masses when you can stand by yourself at 4500m and watch the sun come up over Kilimanjaro?!
Recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great way to fill in an extra day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I took this tour with Bobby Tours and was very pleased. The guide was right on time to pick us up and was very friendly. We saw: Giraffes, Buffalo, Water Buck, Colobus Monkeys, Baboons (including two albinos), Flamingos, and many others. Also a stop at the top of a huge crater. The scenery the entire was is beautiful and this was the best and coolest weather my entire time in Tanzania. The box lunch was more than enough.

The only problem was the park entrance fee: I did not have US $ (which they insisted on for foreigners) and out of the five credit/debit cards I had, only the last one worked!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Small Park Close to Arusha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arusha Natl Park is an easy day trip from Arusha. Lots of giraffes and pick flamingos. Had a good view of Mt Kilimanjaro.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full-Day Arusha National Park Tour with Lunch also viewed

 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Full-Day Arusha National Park Tour with Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full-Day Arusha National Park Tour with Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.