We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Full-Day Lake Manyara National Park Tour

Full-Day Lake Manyara National Park Tour
Arusha, Tanzania
+255 (27) 2548952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 69 activities in Arusha
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Game viewing was rather poor. hippo pool was full of zebra and no hippos, but we did see a family of elephant including very new baby which made up for it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    58
    48
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“OK but the lowlight of our trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went here after Tarangire and, by comparson, saw very little.
Our guide said that whilst we may see tree climbing lions (we didn't) they are rare now unlike 10 to 20 years ago when there were more and that is what the lake was famous for.
Saw some nice birds, different species of monkey, hippos, elephants and antelope plus a huge flock of pink falmingos but they so far away it was just a pink line on the horizon.
Being very green, unlike the Serengeti and Tarangire, was good to see and it did attract different animals BUT the dense vegetation meant that it was hard to spot things.
There are very few picnic spots so we had our lovely packed lunched surrounded by lots of vehicles and every table full of people - a very different experience to the game parks.
This was included because we also visited the Crater and it is OK but we would have been very disappointed had we not gone to Tarangire and the Serengeti in terms of a game viewing experience. Whilst we will retrun to Tanzania we would not visit Lake Manyara again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“worthwhile but not the greatest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

it was ok if you havent safari'd much. i would suggest going here BEFORE you visit the bigger parks so you wont be disappointed. it will be more enjoyable

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“great place to see the tree climbing lions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

its a relatively small park but lots to see and keep you busy. we had the luck of seeing the lions up a tree that was just amazing as i had never seen that before. great views and well worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEPEAN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lake Manyara National Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited Lake Manyara National park in Seprember 2012. It should take about 3 hr game run for a visit. It is better to visit the park in a safari jeep with a high tyres to see the animals better than from a car. If a vehicle is hired at the gate I think it will cost about 150$ per person depending upon the vehicle and number of people in group. Lake Manyara is famous for tree climbing lions and advertised heavily on this aspect. I saw no lions. As the habitat includes thick forested areas it is possible to see elephants really close in this park.Zebras, baboons, green vervet monkeys, wildebeasts, warthogs, impalas, giraffes were also observed. I was not able to visit the Hippo pool where hippos are very likely to be seen.

Wildlife viewing is never guranteed but Lake Manyara did give me a oppurtunity to take some photos of wild African elepphants really close. There is a p[ark entrance fee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full-Day Lake Manyara National Park Tour also viewed

 
Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha Region
 

Been to Full-Day Lake Manyara National Park Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full-Day Lake Manyara National Park Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Full-Day Lake Manyara National Park Tour to your Saves list