We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Momella Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Momella Lodge
Save
You added Momella Lodge to your Saves list
Arusha-Nationalpark, Arusha PO BOX 999, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautifull Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed one night in Momella Lodge and we loved it. We stayed in the cottages that are comfortable quiet and hot (we stayed here in early October and the night is cold).
The restaurant where we had a dinner we liked it a lot.
The strength is the scenery, the friendliness of the staff and tranquility in the garden there are giraffes!
Only small fault bathrooms are a bit spartan, but clean and comfortable.
Thanks to all the staff.
We traveled with Base Camp Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This lodge was the last of many on our recent safari. We specificaly asked to stay here as we wanted to see views of Kilimanajro and stand near where John Wayne and other made the film Hatari.
For those two reasons it was worthwhile.
The rooms were clean, the hot water was warm at best but we did expect it so were not really surprised.
The food was pretty simple and hot, the dining room did remind one of the 50's. In summary if you are not fussed about luxury and want something different, with great Kili views and giraffe here and there then you won't be disappointed.
It was close to the airport and the drive around the lakes and up part of the mountain were worth the effort.
I read the other reviews and did like the one from siskadh describing it as a creepy old place, It can give you that impression,but we liked the old ambience if you can call it that.
Some cash and serious upgrading would be most welcome.

Room Tip: Read the reviews before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drenthe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our first accommodation in Tanzania and were happy the rest turned out to be so much better. The place is very basic and the room was a bit dated and though clean very dusty. We had electricity in the evening but no light in the bedroom. We had no hot water although they had promised there would be during the evening.

We were very tired from our trip to get to Tanzania and slept through our alarms twice. Both times the staff came to wake us up, which was very nice.

The location too is of course very nice, being inside the Urusha national parks and we were lucky to see Mount Kilimanjaro the whole day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We paid 170$ per night for what must have been the most lousy hotel of our trip to Rwanda/Tanzania (and one of the most expensive as well) and one of the worst price/quality hotels we've ever been to in our life.
We stayed there 2 nights (before & after our Mt. Meru climb), and we were the only guests.
The pool hasn't been cleaned in over a decade, the waiter looked like he ran away from the Addams Family, there are goats maintaining the grass in front of the rooms, electricity runs only between 6pm & 10pm (too expensive to put the generator on all day), the rooms were nice in the 70s but have not been updated since, bathroom really crappy with cracks in the shower wall, at night there are torch lights shining (we thought the guy who herds the goats)...
Plus you have to pay 35$ per person in park fees to Arusha national park when you want to reach or leave the hotel (one time entry fee...)
After complaining to the manager he did gave us a discount and mentioned that they would start renovation works soon...

In short: don't go there!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

4 of us stayed in 2 "huts" in MOmella lodge in July 2012. It is a basic facility in a picturesque village with views of Kilimanjaro peeking out of the clouds occasionally. It looked like we were the ONLY family that was staying in the lodge for the 2 nights we were there! Their food is nothing to write home about. Us being vegetarians they had even narrower options!
But the staff were super nice and courteous and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This Lodge is unique and picturesque. With the scenic location, you can wake up in the morning (early, before sunrise) and see giraffes in the yard, or doze off in the afternoon to donkeys outside your room. The accommodations are little huts with thatched roofs. I stayed with a group of 16 students and 5 chaperones as we wrapped up our humanitarian trip by safariing at Momella and later on Ngorongoro Crater. Compared to our recent stay in a hospital in Kilema while we completed our volunteer work, this Lodge was a real treat.

Food: We loved it! I always went back for seconds -- especially at the one lunch we had during our stay. Bring nutella though, because they don't have any.

Rooms: the shower curtains don't do much to keep water in. Always use bottled water to brush your teeth. Bring flip flops for the bathroom.

Complaints: 1) Unless you are going on safari or planning to hike Mount Meru, or anything else OFF the Lodge, there isn't much to do during down time. Most of us students tanned by the pool or lazed in the chairs under the shelter by the lobby. We watched Hatari in the evening though, which was pretty cool considering Momella is the place where it was filmed.
2). Big problem that made me glad to leave: the bugs. Big spiders making their home at our front door, slugs attaching themselves to our doors, ants finding their way into our bed, spiders invading our floors, wasps meeting their doom in our bathroom... My advice: ALWAYS close your windows and doors when leaving the room. Tuck your mosquito nets into the mattress and spray the bed and nets with some OFF! My sleep quality would've been great had I not known there was a medium-sized black, long-legged spider quietly waiting below my mattress.

Other than that, the location is great, the service great, the food great, the overall place clean, but beware the bugs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were happy with our stay as it met our needs for a self organised trip up Mt Meru and the Manager (Moses) greatly assisted us with this. The lodge is only about 3 kms outside the park and the entrance from which climbs up Mt Meru commence. We could park our car whilst on Meru for $10 a night and the lodge assisted us in getting to and from the entrance for our climb. Moses was lively and informative and he made a big difference to our 2 night stay (1 night before going up and 1 night afterwards). When we were ready to leave he showed us the back route to the Arusha/Moshi road which meant that we didn't have to pay the fee for going through the park.

Having said that we really enjoyed our stay I must point out that not everything is perfect. We liked our hut as it was spacious, gave us privacy and is in very rural area with views of both Mt Meru and Mt Kilimanjaro (when visible) . However, it is rustic and for $115 a night is probably a bit over priced even when considering it is so close to Arusha NP. The sheets on the bed were too short and they therefore used 2 sheets on the top rather than 1. I agree with the previous reviewer that it can seem a bity spooky when you are the only ones staying there as the lodge isn't fenced off. Although they do have guards Moses did advise us to close our windows at night when we asked and luckily at 1600 meters it is cool enough to do so. There was plenty of hot water but it took several minutes for it to get through to our room. We also thought that the food wasn't that great and was a bit expensive. Luckily we opted for bed and breakfast, rather than the expensive full board in order to save money, and therefore only had a couple of dinners and breakfasts.

Mount Meru turned out be the highlight of our 1 month trip and we also liked Arusha National Park (can be seen in about 6 hours). Thanks Moses.

Room Tip: I thought that the huts looked better than the rondavels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Momella Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Momella Lodge

Address: Arusha-Nationalpark, Arusha PO BOX 999, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momella Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.