We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arusha Tourist Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arusha Tourist Inn to your Saves list
Arusha Tourist Inn
P.O. Box 1530, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 62 Arusha B&B and Inns
Tanga, Tanzania
1 review
“Nice place, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Took some friends there and they were comfortable. Good service, friendly staff and clean rooms. Good starting and finishing point for a safari or climb. A good value for your money. It doesn't have a garden area, but if you are just passing through, you don't notice it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I booked a safari in Tanzania with one of the local operators. We needed a total of 3 nights in Arusha - on the day of our arrival, on the day of finishing the safari, and one more, because we decided to do a walking safari in Arusha Park. The safari operator recommended Arusha Tourist Inn and we agreed. We didn't book the hotel directly, it was done through the tour operator. We paid only $30 per night per person B&B (maybe the operator had some discount when booking through them, not sure about the prices when booking directly), which was really quite cheap, and the hotel turned out to be of a suprisingly high standard. We've seen in our time some hotels that claimed a 4-star standard, which were significantly worse.

The room was squicky clean. The bathroom was really nice and in excellent condition - everything worked, which is not always the case in Africa :) A large sink, a nice toilet and a shower cabin, everything looking nice and clean.

Our double bed was large and comfortable, the bedding fresh and looking brand new. The mosquito net was well designed, it covered the whole bed without making it a tent ;) Watch out for holes in it though, we happened to find one, but it was easy to work around with the rest of the net. Every day a sealed bottle of water was supplied (we use it when brushing our teeth in Africa), together with clean towels, standard hotel soap and shampoo (we brought are own so we didn't use it, but it's always reassuring to know it's there just in case). There was a mosquito net frame installed in the window, so we could keep the window open without worrying about insects. A number of power sockets were in the walls, for us it was really nice, since we always carry a lot of equipment that needs regular recharging. Despite some hot weather it was always cool in the room, event though there was no air conditioning.

The hotel has a nice restaurant that serves different types of food - African, continental, Indian. There's also a bar with a choice of drinks. Nothing very fancy, but for this kind of money it was nice and clean.
Also, in the same building, just at the exit onto Sokoine Road (one of Arusha's main roads), there is a very good Indian restaurant - reasonably priced with a very high quality of food. If you like true Indian food, you should deifinitely go there :)

The hotel has 5 floors, and it has a nice modern lift. The staff is helpful with the luggage and everything else.

When looking for minuses, I only can think of a few:
- sometimes there was no power at all; it wasn't the hotel's fault, after all, it's Tanzania :) They have their own generator, but they use it only after sunset. So, if a power outage happens during the day, no can do - any recharging must wait until evening.
- there was a free wifi connection. But it didn't work on all the floors. Somehow it was working only between 2nd and 3rd floor, and only for about 10 minutes at one go. After that it would stop working and a reconnect was required, and it could take some minutes after the system would let you in again.
- the hotel is situated almost in the very center of town; which means that you will hear the traffic sounds till late hours.

For us, those flaws weren't a problem at all.

Summarizing - very good value for money, high standard, clean. Definitely worth staying in if you need a reasonably priced, high standard overnight in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our safari tour company (Bobby's Tours) arranged for us two nights accommodation pre and post our 7day safari trip. It's not very busy tbh but that was ok for us.

We found all areas very clean and decent. Reception staff were pleasant and friendly too.

We paid $60 per night bed and breakfast (2 pax) and we were happy with that. I see that some bargained (from other reviews on TA) and as it wasn't busy you might have some luck there, but we were ok for what we paid for the room.

I would stay again and recommend to friends for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Basic accomodation used prior to catching a bus back to Nairobi the next day. Room was clean and tidy and bathroom had hot water which was great. Power went off 3 times and generator took about 20 minutes to kick in which is not so much fun when you are eating dinner and packing for the return flight the next day! The staff are customer focussed but this is a very basic hotel. Not sure I would have been as comfortable if I had of been by myself, although having see a few other places on the way to the bus stop it was better than others so best to do your homework in Arusha. They say they have WIFI but it only worked for about 2 mins! Food was very basic and hit and miss - dinner very average and breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: The higher the better for security reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

guys, this was one of my favorites. The hotel is clean with nice foods. You know I will always like any place with good foods and drinks.
if only the "daladala " noise at dawn could reduce, its a paradise on earth!

Room Tip: dont 1999, 1996 usd currency. They reject it. I experienced the same in Kenya too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after climbing Kili.
For the price of $40USD for 2 people I think it's great place to rest, but you need to negotiate the price, especially when Hotel is empty.

Room was clean, no safe though.
Food in restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner.
I liked location, it was close to shopping center and local market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago before we started our safari. The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean, the staff is very friendly and always keen to help their guests. Definitely would recommend this place if you are going to Arusha. It is very good value for the price and will make you feel confortable. The manager, David, was very kind and efficient throughout all our stay. We checked several places in Arusha before we checked in with David and could not find such a nice place in the same range of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arusha Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Tourist Inn

Address: P.O. Box 1530, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arusha Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Tourist Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arusha Tourist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.