We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picasso

Picasso
Kijenge Supermarket | Simone Road, Arusha, Tanzania
(0)756448585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 82 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sushi, Pizza & Pasta, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Really great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have been going here since it first opened and loved it. When it changed management I must admit that I wrote it off thinking it would not be the same however I have had lunch there four times in the last three months and have been really impressed. It is not fine dining, but a casual restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating and a nice atmosphere. A good selection of meals, sandwiches and salads along with great cakes. The carrot cake is without a doubt the best I have had in Tanzania. Sometimes the service can be a bit hit and miss but if you ignore this you have a lovely place for lunch. I do know they are open at night but have not been there in the evenings so cannot comment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We visited Picasso on a Sunday when our favourite restaurant in Arusha (Blue Heron) was closed. And I really wish that Blue Heron hadn’t been closed, as our food at Picasso was terrible, as was the service.

We both ordered pizza because they have a wood- fire oven, however it turns out they only use the oven to “finish off” the pizza, not really to cook it. The pizza base was awful, I’m pretty sure it was a pre-packed one out of plastic in the freezer and the toppings equally bad. The price was not particularly cheap either so I would expect much, much better.

The service was SLOW and unhelpful. We had waiters wondering around aimlessly and avoiding eye contact as much as possible even though we were only one of three tables busy at the time. And the restaurant sits virtually in a carpark, not the nicest atmosphere.

Avoid if you can!

http://postcardsfromeastafrica.blogspot.com/2012/07/arusha-and-climbing-mount-kilimanjaro.html

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD GOOD Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

One of the better eateries in Arusha, good atmosphere and service.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Desserts, Expensive Meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The food was good, but the meals were just average. Nothing special, unless you are really craving American food. It is expensive considering the taste, but if you stick to desserts you will be satisfied.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Picasso is a great place for cakes and Sunday morning brunch. Cosy atmosphere near town. The wraps are delicious and very good burgers.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.