We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Serene, and Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Serene, and Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I would recommend this lodge to anyone going to Arusha. It's truly and oasis at the foothills of the mountains. The owners, Tim and Katya, are wonderful and kind people! They and their staff were so willing to help on everything! The lodge rooms (I stayed in #8 and #2) are comfortable and beautiful, all custom-made furniture. They have lovely horses on their property which I took for a ride around the mountain. It's clear this lodge has invested a lot into building good relationships with the community. Please do stay here if you ever get the chance.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but room #8 had better water pressure in the showers than room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This unique hotel is in a very special setting with an abundance of birds, vegetation, and even bush babies. Our room--more like our own home--#12 was very large and spacious. Take time to walk around and enjoy the area.
We stayed here our first night after arriving to JRO. Note that there are two entrances. One is a long drive on a VERY bumpy road. Maybe road is overstating the situation. The other entrance is paved and smooth.
The staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I just want to write and say how amazing the lodge was! Our rooms were
beautiful, the grounds and lodge were stunning. Watching the monkeys
every morning playing in the trees was the perfect start to my days!
Molly was extremely sweet and knowledgable-loved getting a tour of the
grounds and hearing about the history! Also Vincent and JB were the the
nicest most helpful waiters you could ever ask for-they were always
around checking in on us and making sure we were having a good time. The
food was delicious-I LOVED every soup we ate!!

Thank you all so much!! I will definitely be recommending this lodge to
friends and family who will visit the country!

Tell JB next time I visit I'm gonna want a rematch on our race! :)

Thank you,
Rachel Kendall

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Ngare Sero Lodge is outstanding place with great history, amazing people and unparallelled care to its surrounding environment. You will be touched by fantastic story of the Lodge and its people. Incredible location surrounded by rich forest with hundreds of birds, lake, trout farm, horses, best view on Kilimanjaro - all of that will make your experience unforgettable. We have been lucky to stay there several times and with every visit we become more and more convinced that there can;t be any alternative in Arusha. Perfectly suitable for the 1 night stay before or after safari or for a long retreat getaway. Small distance from town is nothing comparable to what you get there. Rooms are absolutely comfortable and have all you might need. Excellent service, organic delicious food is served by perfectly trained staff. Tiny little things in design of the property, attentively created by management, make huge difference and create very special cozy atmosphere. Apart from fantastic place, high quality food, spacious rooms there is number of activities including trekking, horse riding, boating, swimming, fishing, SPA, сricket, day trips to hot springs, Arusha National Park, Mount Meru. Owners of the Lodge are extremely dedicated eco-enthusiasts. They are managing number of impressive Eco projects supporting local communities. One can get a lot of interesting information about different projects run by Ngare Sero Lodge. This is very special and unique place. Ngare Sero team, we love you!
Katya and Vadim

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ngare Sero Lodge our first night in Tanzania, Africa at the start of our Safari with Mark Thornton Safaris. It is not a large resort - but very cozy. Our meal was delicious and the service fantastic. We didn't even see the grounds until the next morning and they were spectacular! This is a place I could easily come back to for a few days and really relax and unwind. We didn't have the chance to explore the town nearby but others in our tour group did and said everyone was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here two nights before Kili hike and one night after. A very relaxing place, nice garden, lake and the monkeys to be seen from the terrace. Spacious rooms, with African look to it.
Perfect restitution after the hike;Tranquility, relaxing, pool, cold beer. What more to ask for? Excellent food with flexible serving time, which is very convenient when arriving late from the airport.
We also made a visit to the local village that is recommended if you have some spare time and want to see the "real life."

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Sadly we only had a few hours to enjoy this gem of a hotel. Having come off Kilimanjaro at around 1pm, followed by lunch in Moshi, we only got to the hotel at about 4:30pm on Saturday afternoon and had to get up at 2:45am Sunday to catch our flight!

But what a lovely few hours! A lovely hot shower was savoured, being our first in 7 days and then cocktails on the veranda and onto their wifi to inform our families that we had made it! A lovely meal followed in their private dining room along with plenty of champers!

Only a few hours spent in their ridiculously comfy bed then it was up and to the airport, accompanied by a packed breakfast, a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.